We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tuscan experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta di Monaciano

Save Saved
You added Tenuta di Monaciano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tenuta di Monaciano
Ponte a Bozzone, 53010 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing Tuscan experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

I was looking for a place to stay during the Palio last July and came upon Monaciano. (The Palio horse race was amazing.) Not only did Monaciano turn out to be a better deal than staying in Siena, it was an amazing experience in itself. (Under 10 minute drive to the heart of Siena) I had planned on staying for 4 days and ended up spending my entire vacation there. The scenery is quite stunning you find yourself saying ‘can this really be real.’ Nice walks in the morning around the estate and afternoons by the pool, what a life. The main villa itself is probably the best kept secret about this estate. (If I understood correctly it is about a century and a half old.) The gardens of the villa include a number of fountains, an aviary, a garden with a couple hundred lemon trees, and outdoor playhouse (they evidently have small productions in the summer months). I have since sent a number of friends and relatives. Check out the last minute specials (where I found the best rate.) Their wine is also top notch.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2004

We wanted to spend some time visiting Tuscany but we were afraid to have our children bored. So we rent an appartment in Monaciano and it was fantastic. Very close to Siena but otside the city lithing, Monaciano is a central point to start many one-day trip-around and in the afternoon children were happy to end the day in the pool in front of the house while preparing dinner outside in the garden under the stars shining.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2003

Excellent location, amazing views. We stayed at Poggio, 2 families with 4 and 5 children. the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. It was somehow too hot untill late in the evening but we had been there at the very big heat of August 2003 and it should not be a problem in a regular summer. The pool is very nice and big enough to have a lot of fun. apartment no. 1, where the bedrooms are on the ground floor is not recomended for lack of privacy. The farm produces also Kosher Chianti, for those who care. The service was exceptional as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2003

The house was big, confortable and clean right in front of the pool.the view was superb, vineyard and olive tree as you wold expect in chintishire.Very close (10') to Siena, and not far from Florence (1 h), Moreriggioni, S. Giminiano ad other touristic places in Tuscany.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova - Italy
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2002

Just 10' drive from Siena you'll find the beauty and tranquillity of the Chianti countryside together with the romantic atmosphere of the Villa of Monaciano’s nineteenth-century ground and the fascination of the estate’s historic cellars.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta di Monaciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Monaciano

Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Monaciano Hotel
Tenuta Di Monaciano Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena
Address: Ponte a Bozzone, 53010 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient farmhouses of Monaciano are situated in Tuscany on a sequence of hilltops with a commanding view of the Chianti countryside and Siena towers. Five farmhouses have been restored into farm holiday accommodations to welcome guests in every season. Monaciano has 21 apartments with 35 bedrooms for a total of 75 beds. The proprietor's villa and a romantic garden are available for weddings and events. Large groups and families are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Tenuta di Monaciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta di Monaciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.