We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda di Tommaso

La Locanda di Tommaso
Piazza Guglielmo Marconi, 9/10, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
0577355411
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Whitehouse, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The owners were a young couple and you could tell they enjoyed making our dining experience delightful. The menu was somewhat limited but excellent.. One of the owners spoke a little English and provided us with a menu in English. We ate there several times and really enjoyed it. We were there in early March.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    31
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant and the lovely couple twice during our holiday in July 2012. Each time, the lady of the house was concerned about her guest and the husband, Tommaso, Chef, was cooking excellent dishes. The wine card is appropriate. Excellent restaurant in this little town!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The bread is homemade and delicous. The pasta is homemade and delicous. The desserts are homemade and delicous.

This is a wonderful restaurant (albeit not traditional Tuscan) with wonderful food and to top it off the young couple who own this great restaurant are charming. Tommaso comes out from the kitchen to see if the food is to your taste and his wonderful wife Mayla is adorable. We have only been back for a week and we've had lunch there twice. Open for lunch and dinner every day but Sunday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Once again ... special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Tommaso has yet again exceeded expectations ... new menu, softened ambiance and a more intimate dining experience. Great new glass-enclosed wine cellar and delightful Italian music enhance the dining experience. The food is perfect ... local, hand-made and creative while keeping to the traditions of an authentic Tuscan kitchen, allowing one to savor each flavor in a dish. I enjoyed the Soppressata which was served with a bit of homemade horseradish sauce, and then a tagliatelle with truffles and three month aged duck proscuitto. Heaven!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing food in this small village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here once a week during out two month stay in Italy. We loved the staff and food worthy of a Michelin Star. Wonderful wine list, best breads in Italy(the cheese biscuits are to die for) and all food and deserts are top notch and beautifully presented. We were usually a party of six so I think we tasted everything on the menu in our 8 visits. We can't wait to return again and thank the staff for making us feel welcome on our visits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda di Tommaso also viewed

Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Vagliagli, Castelnuovo Berardenga
 
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Locanda di Tommaso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda di Tommaso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.