We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Beautiful Farmhouse / Memorable Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti
Save
You added Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti to your Saves list
Via Martiri di Monteaperti | Loc. Monteapertaccio, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved it! Beautiful Farmhouse / Memorable Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

After spending the night at the Farmhouse’s sister property – Castello delle Quattro Torra – and dining in the Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti Restaurant the evening before - - we moved to stay for two nights in the Farmhouse “apartment.” What a treat! Owners Nicola & Andrea live at this beautiful farmhouse; Andrea’s brother is the chef in the restaurant; and mother “Nonna Ciana” teaches a cooking class with family friend Catarina. It’s a warm and friendly environment. Our dining experience at the restaurant was AMAZING! Multi-course meal freshly made from locally sourced ingredients (fresh pecorino from the farm next door; pasta in duck sauce; pappa al pomodoro) and served with the Castello's own wine. The restaurant was filled with local families and children – what a delightful and delicious experience! Staying in the farmhouse apartment was great! Large kitchen/dining/seating area; large bedroom with bathroom and closet space. Windows look out over the farmhouse grounds. Wine in the fridge. Breakfast each morning in the restaurant with Nonna Ciana’s delicious cappuccino. Our last night we signed up for the cooking class and dinner with Nonna Ciana and Caterina. What a blast! We and three other couples made pasta; gnocchi; bruschetta; scalopine - - drank wine, laughed, shared family photos and stories - - all in the family’s large farmhouse kitchen. It was an unforgettable experience that we will always treasure!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great food! Traditional Tuscan cousin, we went there twice in a week and both time had a very good experience. Andrea, the chef, introduced himself and explained us what he was going to prepared for us. We enjoyed particularly the "cinta senese", the "pappa al pomodoro" and the local local "crudo" ham. Good value for money, €30 per person all included. We would definitely go back!
CP

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conshohocken
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This new restaurant was absolutely wonderful. There is no menu , Andrea prepares the same meal for everybody. The price is very reasonable € 30/ person
All the wine you would like is included. We strongly recommend this off the beaten path place to anybody staying in the Siena area

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks in Italy and this was the best meal we had during out trip. I would highly recommend it. Nicola and his family only use this freshest organic ingredients and prepare an amazing feast. The meats and cheeses are from neighboring farms and everything is top notch. Loved it! Thanks!

Room Tip: We only ate at the restaurant -- we stayed at the owners B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Direttore at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for the beautiful review!
I hope we will see in a very near future.
Kindest regards from all the Farmhouse "Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti"!!!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in the Castello Quattro Quarro, a related B&B about 5minutes from Le Pietre Vive. We loved the Castle and signed up for the cooking classes with Nonna based on the Trip Advisor reviews. We are so glad we did!! The the cooking school with Nicola's mother-in-law, Nonna is a MUST-DO. The cooking class is held at Nonna's house where she also has a restaurant about 5 minutes from the Castello B&B. There is a darling English translator, Caterina, who helps out. After you make homemade pasta and other dishes in Nonna's huge, homey, kitchen, you all sit down to eat with her. Nonna is funny and warm and adorable. This was one of the highlights of our trip! Go cook with Nonna, you will love it. We did not eat at the restaurant, but I wish we did. it looked very nice and I am sure the food is delicious based on our cooking school experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Direttore at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
When I read "...it was one of the highlights of our trip!..." Nonna Ciana eyes became bright and brilliant.
Thank you again for your review.
ARRIVEDERCI PRESTO!!

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed six nights in the apartment at the farmhouse. It is such an amazing and peaceful place. After we picked up our rental car at Hertz in Siena, we had an amazing drive through the country side before finally arriving at the idyllic farmhouse at the end of a gravel road. The place was everything we hoped for.
It is comfortable and equipped with a kitchen so it is possible to cook yourself. However, it also possible to have a wonderful meal cooked up and served in the apartment. Alternatively you can also have an incredible 4-course dinner at the restaurant downstairs. Most ingredients come from their own land and they also make their own wine! The grandmother (Luciana) is an incredible cook and very warm & friendly. She prepared breakfast for us every morning and it was always a pleasure to converse with her, although she only speaks basic English.

The apartment has a Sky TV box so it possible to catch up English-speaking series, news and movies. A (rental) car is an absolute necessity and we were happy that we took our own GPS with us. The farm was used as a base for day-trips to Florence, Pisa, Pienza and so on.
In May it does get a bit chilly at night so bring along your slippers and sweaters...
For us this was the highlight of our trip and we think this is the best way to truly experience Tuscany, its people, food and the amazing landscape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickMontaperti, Direttore at Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and your beautiful review. I am pleased you have been well in my farmhouse and at the restaurant.
I do hope to meet you in a very near future.
Kindest regards.

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night in late April 2012 before staying 3 nights at Castello Quattro Torra. Five weeks into a six week holiday, we arrived exhausted after an interesting train trip from Rome (very hot, overcrowded service due to the previous train being cancelled), and I'd be honest to say I was a little concerned about our one night stay here because I couldn't find a lot of information or pictures about this place. We weren't even out of the car and we were in love with this place. Our family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 8 were instantly taken by this place - the place was large, beautiful and rustic and included two doorways where I had to duck or I'd hit my head (I'm not even 6ft tall!). In fact our kids didn't want to leave the next day! Our kids had lots of room to run around and enjoyed playing with the young family of the owners (even though there was a language barrier, it didn't seem to matter at all). We had a meal cooked up for us on the first night which was so nice that we drove back a few nights later to their restuarant here at La Pietre Vive di Montaperti. The actual apartment was great for a family of 4 being spacious, the beds were comfortable and it had some nice quaint outlooks. The family that runs both of these places couldn't do enough to help us, and the fact that that they run their own restaurant with the best food we had in Italy was icing on the cake. I would definately recommend a stay here - just make sure you book into the restaurant for a meal!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti

Address: Via Martiri di Monteaperti | Loc. Monteapertaccio, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo a gestione familiare a 10 km da Siena.The area is also marked as "Parco Termale dell' Acqua Borra,because only a few hundred meters from the farm there is a small hot spring called Acqua Borra, with curative properties.The farmhouse has been renovated with care and passion by the owners and today, while deliberately keeping intact the original structure of the building it is fully restored and equipped with completely new and advanced plants, with only a wood heater (boiler inverse flame emission 0)in winter, and solar panels for hot water in summer. In the Farm they produce, together with old varieties of wheat, extra virgin olive oil and Chianti wine,In the garden is planted with different varieties of tomatoes, peppers, hot peppers, eggplants, courgettes, lettuce, cabbages, cucumbers, pumpkins, strawberries, melons and watermelons. The products, depending on seasonal availability are used for food preparation along with herbs from the Farm: basil, parsley, rosemary, sage, oregano, tarragon, mint, bay leaves and juniper. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Pietre Vive Di Montaperti Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pietre Vive di Montaperti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.