We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great service super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Monastero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castel Monastero to your Saves list
Castel Monastero
Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent, great service super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here - it was very good indeed. Whilst I did not particularly enjoy the Gordon Ramsey restaurant my wife had the most wonderful venison dish. My preference was the Cantina restaurant which was great. We had a very enjoyable stay and its proximity to Sienna was a plus mark. The staff were fantastic and most welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Christopher ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Warm regards

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    54
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
192
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I got my package through luxury link and pre paid in advance.
I was not credited upon check out and am still battling with them for a refund.
My room had lights out and poor lighting which was never taken care of after numerous requests
They had a large obnoxious group while we were there and we could not enjoy some of the amenities.
Save your money........there are other charming places to stay in Tuscany

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Orapik,
firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide. Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you that we are indeed a hotel with a high standard of service.
Please kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you have the service you expect from our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I were looking to spend a few days in Tuscany away from the big cities. Our travel agent, Kathi Sheridan found us this great hotel (Leading Hotels Group). It used to be a monastery and thus is a combination of many buildings. It also houses a large spa and a pool. However, we like touring the small towns and mountain top villages so we just stayed here for its location. Once again we were upgraded(triple) to a huge suite near the restaurant. The view was not good but then again, our room was spectacular; clearly the largest on our trip. Their restaurant, La Canta was good but pricey. The morning buffet breakfast was included and was quite good with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. The service at the hotel was superior and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager was always nearby and looking to help out or answer questions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Scott92 ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I just got back from a 3 night stay at Castel Monastero -- booked via Luxury Link. The property really is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, the amenities fantastic and the staff is incredibly friendly. Francessca greeted us daily each morning with a huge smile at breakfast. The hotel has an excellent breakfast spread -- and you can even order delicious omelets from the kitchen. Valentina was another staff member who stood out as incredibly nice and helpful! This is a great place if you want to chill out and just relax. Good spa (although pricey.) ... a couple of nice restaurants. If you plan on leaving the resort, you'd best rent a car as taxis are very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. thetravelingguy,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were given a lavish large penthouse, which we ordered in any case, it was lovely. The views were stunning out our side window, tuscan country side. The people at the front desk were not very nice and the welcome was a bit lacking. The La Canta restaurant was average and so was the service, we did not feel there was sufficient attention given to service and mistakes were made. The manager is a true gentleman, he checks on everyone and is kind and courteous and so is the lovely lady that runs the spa, both were my favourite people there as well as two waitresses, that remembered details such as which beverage we prefered. The pool's were all nice as was the spa. We were trapped in the lift it broke and we had to be rescued at one point, the woman that run's the spa was so worried and attentive and so was the manager, they compensated us, all was okay in any case and I really valued their care. We asked about day trips, not having rented a car and were told there was none by front desk, the next day we tried again, getting a more senior person, who in front of the front desk staff, gave us brochure's and we picked a day trip with limosine chauffer, laterv that day we got a mercedes minivan instead, we did complain but proceded. It was a lovely trip we went to a vinyard a restaurant, Sienna, a Monastery and other sites and our guide was a gentleman. The gordan ramsey rstaurant was lovely and the breakfasts were lovely to. The wasp's go at your food though, I am allergic, so was constantly in a state of fear. The wasp's are everywhere so watch out! Mixed review, some good bits some bad bits, but mostly they need to get new front desk staff, they act as if they are superior to you, when obviously they are not. Politeness and helpfulness go a long way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. lilmisskaty ,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to get away from all the noise from a city, this is the place to go.
Staff are very nice and helpful, rooms are spacious and well equipped.

The best part is the SPA and the restaurants, dinner at LA CANTINA are very good and with very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for some activities during your stay, reception staff can suggest different options based on your preferences. I went horse riding to a Polo club nearby, which was quite enjoyable.

I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway, although there were several couples with kids.

The hotel is not that easy to find, I do suggest a sat nav if you're getting there by car (which is the best option)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Koush Ann,
we are glad that your stay here at Castel Monastero, has met your expectations from all points of view, from the rooms to the spa, enjoying even the dishes in our restaurants.
While waiting to be able to give you more pleasant moments of relaxation, we would like to thank you for the sincere and valuable comments left on Trip Advisor. An affectionate greeting and see you soon.

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We don't normally write reviews but we felt compelled to do so for this property. We chose this property for our honeymoon. This is our feedback:

The story:

On arrival we were given a room that faced the road and parking lot outside the complex. The room itself was large and nice but the location was simply a non-starter, it felt like the old garage but converted. We booked the place through a travel agency and specifically asked them to inform the hotel this was for a special occasion. We pre-paid about CAN$550 per night and for that price, we were not impressed. After some long discussions, the front desk manager (very nice and charming) tried to accommodate us by showing us three options in which 2 were upgrades. After 24 hours of travel non-stop and being exhausted, we opted to pay an extra CAN$225 dollars a night, the non upgrade room was simply not what we were looking for - very average. After prompting, the manager did include the spa amenities as part of the upgrade (access fee are over CAN$100 a day) but since we weren't in Tuscany for the spa we barely used it (but it is a amazing spa).

On the same night, after finally getting the room, we ordered a dish through room service. They added a CAN$30 dollar fee for bringing a plate of pasta to our room. The cost of the fee was more than our meal (excluding bottle of wine). Being active travelers, this is the only place that we ever stayed with this fee. On top of it, they won't give you an iron and force you to use their services which range from 10 dollars and up per item. (we later learn this is a rule in Italy, but there should be other arrangements possible - traveling your cloths always need ironing, we calculated to iron all the cloths we wanted to wear during the 7 day stay at this hotel would be around CAN$500).

The next day we ordered a taxi to go to a town. We ordered it at noon. We asked it be there at 1:30 PM. We arrived at reception on time and there was no taxi. After some research and waiting in lobby, they informed us that the taxi could take a while as it came all the way from Siena. Since the trip is only 20 minutes we didn't expect this and should have been informed. We waited until 2:45 PM for the taxi.

The housekeeping is average. The toilets here are very "powerful" and "splash" a lot - toilet water gets out when you flush it (we don't mean just a bit, we mean a lot). We noticed that the marks left by this on the floor were not cleaned from one day to the next. They did not refill shampoo and other items each day. The shower rarely produced warm enough water (weirdly enough the bath had hot water). Given how much we were paying per night, this was quite surprising. However, we came home to all of our cloths folded on the bench. Interesting choice of priorities.

We stayed here 7 nights and each day it was the same breakfast. For a place that tries to look like a five star hotel, it really isn't. It was standard breakfast. There were no options for making items such as omlettes etc. However, the morning staff (Fressanca) and most restaurant staff are very nice and charming.

The food at the restaurants is good. You should know that the Gordon Ramsey restaurant does not have many Italian options. We were not impressed with the service at the Tuscan restaurant by the restaurant manager. The hotel and restaurant accommodates celebrities and the elite. We didn't realize that when we booked. Even though we both are doing well in our careers, if you are not perceived as the elite, they make you feel it. For example, we made a reservation at this restaurant. When we arrived there were two seats available. One was the worst seat in the place and the other was in a quiet nice place. Since it was meant to be romantic evening we asked for the quiet spot. We were seated there initially. After five minutes, the restaurant manger came running over to tell us the worst seat was for us. The seat we were in was for someone else. We felt embarrassed amongst other guests to be escorted to the other seat. We observed that the seat we were removed from was vacant for over an hour. Eventually a couple arrived who got a lot of attention-we figure someone important to them. They tried to make it up by giving us some sparkling wine but by then the damage was done. We weren't important and neither was our celebration. The hotel did nothing to make us feel special. They just made a lot of money off of us.

In our view. this is a great place for people who have significant monetary resources looking for a good location, good food but average service. We noticed that the hotel staff respond to the comments of reviewers on this site. However, if you look at the common feedback by travelers, very little has changed. In summary, we will not be recommending this place to our friends. This place is far from a five star but has enormous potential if it changes its rules, policies and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enzo V, Direttore at Castel Monastero, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

firstly, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and for your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay at Castel Monastero. The feedbacks we receive are very important to us and help us ensure that we continuously deliver the excellent standards which we are renowned for.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion the hotel did not meet your expectations and that it not live up to the usual excellent standards we consistently strive to provide. Please rest assured that I have personally investigated the matter and proper action has been taken in order to correct the letdown of service as well as avoid any further recurrence.

I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting our property in the future, giving us the opportunity to recover and show you that we are indeed a hotel with a high standard of service.

Please kindly contact me directly and I will be pleased to ensure that you have the service you expect from our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Enzo Volpintesta
Hotel Manager
Castel Monastero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Monastero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.