We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Monastero

Save Saved
You added Castel Monastero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castel Monastero
Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange County, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is not often that one has an opportunity to visit a place as magical as Castel Monastero. This last week, for our 29th wedding anniversary, my husband and I traveled from the US to Italy. Our first stop was Castel Monastero, a tranquil, nurturing oasis reminiscent of Napa Valley, a region of the US we know and love.

I would like to thank the staff who took such tremendous care of us:

Anna and Dada, who made sure we arrived safely, arranged a wine tasting, and provided explicit directions to all the places we wanted to visit.

Francesca, who greeted us with cappuccinos every morning, and took the time to learn our tastes and preferences. She never stopped smiling.

The Cantina staff who taught us about the nuances of Tuscan food and provided service that rivals the finest restaurants.

The cleaning staff who hung up our clothes after we had failed to do that ourselves, and the man who parked our car (and found my lost earring).

We recommend Castel Monastero to anyone who visits this special part of the world. It truly is a magical place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    48
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
174
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms are spacious, the grounds are stunning and the pool is beautiful. We loved the breakfast buffet and the fancy restaurant. The casual restaurant in the old wine cellar is very cosy with great food as well and a friendly staff. The staff everywhere were great as well. We had two young children and everyone was very accommodating. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Castel Monastero at the end of October with our 4 children. The rooms were adjoining and shared a common entrance so was ideal for us. The arrival was a little delayed by dad's trust of the GPS directions (beware the exact address entered resulted in a random choice 20km away!). The staff throughout our stay were excellent and helped arrange restaurant bookings and horse riding for the girls. If I had any criticism it would be that the inclusive wine tasting meal required a little more prompting than suggested by the title to sample the wine. In all my wife and I tried two wines and apart from the first glass we needed to ask. The meal itself was good but the following evenning we had a truly excellent meal at La Bottega del 30. Also the breakfast was a little disappointing in both the selection and simple issues like keeping the juice or milk replenished at the self service buffet. To finish on an up note the spa was first rate and our overall impression was of a very family friendly run establishment. We would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Harriett at the excellent Bailey Robinson travel company recommended this hotel. We were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff (as all the staff were). Our room was on the first floor near the Spa. The room was excellent and well furnished. Noise from guests in the room above was sometimes a problem (recommend a top floor room). Facilities at the hotel were excellent. Breakfast excellent (hot food not kept hot though). We tried the Cantina restaurant for dinner-excellent. The Gordon Ramsey restaurant where breakfast was served was not as atmospheric. Plenty to do around the hotel and plenty of little restaurants in surrounding villages.
All in all a 4.5 star hotel with 5 star staff.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room (as long as you do not mind steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The setting and rooms are impressive, blending modern and traditional elements. The junior suite is large, with a sizable bathroom. The mattresses are very hard but we had a good night's sleep enjoying absolute silence and darkness (wood panels completely cover the windows).

Breakfast served in the room was nicely organized and set down. The bathroom was not cleaned to our standard, as hair was found on the wall of the shower (obviously not mine. . )

Staff may need some additional training as we were often called on the room telephone while we had the "do not disturb" sign on (for example to ask if we needed turn-down service). Additionally, staff at the reception are not fluent in English but friendly nonetheless.

Our friends in the Royal Suite (Room #3) woke up in the middle of the night with water dripping on their face - - it was an unusually rainy month and the ceiling was dripping. Be mindful that this is an 11th century monastery, albeit renovated. Staff were somewhat helpful but no compensation or room change was offered.

Dinner at the Gordon Ramsay restaurant was delicious, complete with a heavenly chocolate and white truffle-infused souffle. The Cantina restaurant also offers delicious bistecca fiorentina (T-bone) and a good choice of wines.

Good location, about 20 minutes from Sienna.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 3 (royal suite) on rainy months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I booked this resort accomdation as part of a package deal via the Secret Escapes company and the deal included flights, car hire and breakfast. The flights took us to Pisa and we had a drive of a few hours plus before reaching this place, the overall initial impression is impressive and we found the team on duty were extremely helpful and were given the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.
The rooms are divided into separate areas and, on our arrival, we were iformed that we had been upgraded from a de-luxe room to a superior accomodation. The room was extremely well appointed, although it did lack the usual tea and coffee making provisions and equipment, the mini bar was interesting but rather over - priced. We booked to eat in The Cantina - this was said to offer "peasant food" (not at prices reflecting that status may I add) and we found the Head Waiter very informative and chose the special of T - Bone steak with beans (?) and potatoes. The food was superb in it's preoaration but we would have enjoyed a salad rather than the rather bland beans.
The starters were tasty but also expensive and the best aspect of the whole meal was the wine, Coffee was well made and tasted superb. We dined in this restaurant a second time but tailored our budget a little and, rather disappointinglym, the service suffered - we felt this was as a direct result of the choice to spend less on the food (pity).
The actual resort is stunning and hosts a health spa - we were not interested in this although we could have accessed the pool and basic facilities had we taken the right clothing. The grounds of monastery were impressive and the general ambience is lovely.
The last evening we spent in the resort we dined in "Contrada" this is a restaurant bearing the legend "Gordon Ramsey" and the food was delicious. The Head Chef and reception staff deserve praise here as the restaurant was fully booked and they made room for us as a last minute addition - the Head Chef was superb and asked to speak with us following our meal. The only criticism I have of the food is that porttions were somewhat on the small side and very expensive - although we were offered lots of home baked,. artisan breads with olive oil, an amuse bouche and a complimentary dessert platter.

The overall impression I have of this resort is postive and, once again it has to be said, that the service and the team were incredible. The only drawback was the expensive prices for both food and wine, and - although produce was superb and locally sourced (always a good thing) the prices were very steep. It is well worth exploring the local town as there are several interesting restaurants and bars that well worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Upon our arrival we were met by quite unfriendly and sleepy receptionist. Although the hotel wasn't full our room was located outside of the complex, the entrance to it right off the street. The room lacked insulation from noise - every time someone of the neighbors decided to use the shower or God forbid! - the toilet, we had to listen to all the not that pleasant noises... As we have heard that the famous Gordon Ramsey has been in charge for the menu in the restaurant we were expecting something really good and classy. Total disappointment - in every fast food restaurant in the big cities you can eat similar food, even more tastier. I really doubt whether Gordon Ramsey has any idea that his name is used in such matter! In my eyes this restaurant has ruined all his reputation. The food wasn't just average - it was really bad! The fresh baby chicken my husband ordered wasn't fresh at all and had a funky smell despite the rosemary decoration.
The following morning unpleasant surprises continued. As our car has been driven away previous night in order not to block the entrance we asked the bell boy to drive it back so we could load the luggage. In about half an hour later the the frustrated guy came without even looking into our direction. The receptionist explained that he couldn't start the engine. It was just a normal rental car - nothing special, but the guy haven't driven a car with automatic gears so far... May be human resource manager should be more picky when hiring staff.. The hotel is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. My honest opinion is that it doesn't deserve it! And I will definitely never consider coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castel Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Monastero

Address: Loc. Monastero d'Ombrone, 19, 53019 Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While painters are born, travellers are made and no land has aroused the curiosity, the enthusiasm and the culture of entire generations more than Tuscany. Certainly, not all of them have had the luck to begin their journey in the enchantment of Castel Monastero. In fact a few kilometres from our village, along roads of pure delight, can be found masterpieces of art and of the highest culinary tradition.Every day, a discovery. Every day a different itinerary passing through unspoiled scenery. Every day, on your return, a massage and a candle-lit dinner. And together, over a romantic meal for two or with your friends, you will recall the frescoes of Piero della Francesca and the perfect walls of Monteriggioni, the Renaissance utopia of Pienza and the gastronomic glory of Castellina in Chianti. And again, to surprise you, there’ll be a sunset over Pitigliano and a stroll around the Etruscan necropolises of Sovana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Castel Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Monastero Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Castel Monastero Italy/Castelnuovo Berardenga, Province Of Siena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Monastero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.