We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White marble cliff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scala dei Turchi

Scala dei Turchi
Realmonte, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Realmonte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“White marble cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have been to many beaches from the cold waters of Massachusetts to the beautiful Caribbean islands but this beach tops them all. A white marble cliff with steps that were molded naturally over the years with sandy coves with red sand and clear blue waters. It's best to walk from Lido Rossello towards the cliff to experience the experience. It's amazing walking along the coast, sometimes a little rocky but don't give up it's worth the sacrifice. The view from atop the cliff is unforgettable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    326
    79
    37
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is the most beautyful beach in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was surprised when i saw this white coast, i never seen before something so special. Me and my wife took a walk along the beach of Lido Rossello and went to the Scala dei Turchi. Lot people where there......bading and taking sun. This was the best day of my holiday to europe. My wife would like to buy an house in Lido Rossello, (the beach of Scala dei Turchi).........she says is a special place and the children were so happy. I am only disappointed about people who waste gabbage and don't respect the environement

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A real beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Situated about a 20 drive from Agrigento is this bay
The water is so clear you can see the bottom and fish are a plenty
Check it out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great day out. Watch the Sun go down on the white rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went last year. Me and the Mrs (Both under 30) and two kids 7 and 5 at the the time. The beach is decent but nothing super but it was surprisingly quiet for Summer holiday time. Parking was free on the main road.

The white cliffs were amazing. We spend 90 minutes up there and watched the sun go down. I would recommend coming for half a day and watching the sun go down on the white cliffs (You can get really high up) If you are driving down (we did 120 miles to get here) it would be worthwhile seeing valley of the temples in the mornig and spending 4 - 6 hours here

I loved sicily and the people. Great holiday, great people and great prices!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing views, great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

And very unique experience. Unlike many natural spots, you are able to literally walk all over these. Well worth it, although the climb up and down from the beach is a little heavy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala dei Turchi also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
Province of Catania, Sicily
 

Been to Scala dei Turchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala dei Turchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.