We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Rooms Villadorata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Rooms Villadorata to your Saves list
Seven Rooms Villadorata
Cavour,53, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 Noto B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Seven Rooms was an unexpected delight. We had the most beautiful room with an enormous and lovely bathroom. The rooms are designed with great style and the decor is somewhat contemporary with old architectural details–a pairing that works beautifully. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bed linens and towels were very high quality. The cool gray color of the room was a soothing contrast to the heat of the day and it was very pleasant to just spend time in our lovely room. The front desk staff was wonderful and they provided great service. When we had trouble finding the hotel with our GPS, the person at the front desk offered to walk with us to our car and drive back with us to the hotel. The staff also provided very specific and reliable directions to Ragusa and Modica and recommended good restaurants. Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the beautiful, baroque town of Noto and the Southern Sicilian countryside. The common areas of Seven Rooms are also beautiful and there is a refrigerator with complimentary water and soft drinks as well as a small outdoor terrace. The only negative was the perfume scent in the room and common areas but housekeeping removed the perfume sticks from our room once they saw that we had put the perfume outside on the balcony. (I would recommend removing all perfume from the common areas too.) The rooms are located in the Nicolaci Palace and it was a privilege to spend time in the gorgeous palazzo. I would highly recommend Seven Rooms as a base not only for exploring the Baroque cities but also for sightseeing in Syracuse and the South East portion of the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed there for 7 days recently. Apparently got the best room in the house. We were told (and as per the website), that this was a "special" B & B, with outstanding and precious decor, and the latest in audio-visual technology. WELL…I don't consider JUTE as precious material decor, the DVD did not work, the TV was old technology (couldn't understand a word due to sound distortion)…not even a phone in the room. But the worst…NO A/C, when the temperature outside was 25C in the shade. If you like STIFLING, this is the place for you.
Otherwise, the location is great and the staff is very kind and helpful. And don;pt forget to bring your own hair conditioner.
Breakfast OK but basic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SevenRooms, Proprietario at Seven Rooms Villadorata, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Google Translation
1) A/C non è efficiente se la temperatura è di 16 gradi la sera e 24 di giorno al sole
2) Tecnologie audiovisive in una dimora storica? TV a LED/LCD acquistati nel 2011 di ultima generazione
3) DVD sostituito dopo 10 minuti dalla segnalazione
4) Cosa aspettarsi da ospiti che puliscono la macchina a noleggio tutte le mattine con l’asciugamano bianco in dotazione per la toilette personale?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This small personal hotel is in a palatial setting, the rooms are stunning, with trompe l'oiel ceilings giving a C17th feel with carefully chosen, modern and contemporary accessories for bang up to date luxury. Christina and her staff were attentive, friendly and helpful in an unobtrusive way. Breakfast is taken upstairs in the owner Christina's apartment which has a huge balcony with stunning views of the city, or inside en-famille if the weather is less accommodating. Parking is secure and on-site and there are more restaurants and cafés on the doorstep than you can shake a cannoli at! Extras like unlimited water and nespresso coffee available to make yourself from the small tidy refreshments bar was welcome. Quite simply one of the best hotels we have ever chosen to stay in.

Room Tip: We booked early so we're able to reserve Austro which is huge and has a fantastic balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is one of the best...if not the best BB we have stayed in and my husband and I travel quite a lot. It was immaculate in every aspect and the host, Christina, is super helpful. There is parking in a court yard of the hotel - make sure to ask for directions. You have to stop traffic on a one way street to ring the bell and have the big wooden gates open to the courtyard and then pull your car in. It's not a big deal but it's useful to know what's going on. Christina is super helpful with dining suggestions and excursions. She gave us an umbrella, towels and coolers for the beach to use during our stay.
Breakfast is good and on a beautiful terrace upstairs. The location is CENTRAL - there is nothing I could fault. Lovely robes and toiletries in the bathrooms. Christina is not a professional interior decorator - but she should be.....it's really a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I would splurge on one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying at this hotel was an absolute pleasure. This hotel is in the center of town, and an easy stroll to the main streets in Noto, a beautiful baroque city of Sicily. The hotel is easily accessible by road with a private courtyard for parking (quite rare in Italy we found!). Cristina has decorated the hotel in the most luxurious furnishings (I wanted to take everything home!!) and uses the scents of Dr Vranjes to fill the rooms with unique scents. It is a unique experience to stay in this hotel and one we will never forget. We had a very comfortable, peaceful sleep and enjoyed the breakfast on the rooftop terrace with a view of Noto.

This is not the traditional "5 star" hotel experience but something much more special and memorable. Make sure to explore the beaches nearby. If you're up for a amazing dining experience visit La Gazza Ladra, a 1 Michelin star restaurant in Modica nearby. Also try the gelati at Cafe Sicily on the main street in Noto. It is seriously the best gelati in Italy... the saffron and lemon flavor and pear sorbet flavors are highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Borea but I'm sure all seven rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

At some point every traveller will (hopefully) find the "perfect" hotel for him or herself. As of early September that hotel for me is the Seven Rooms Villadorata in the beautiful Boroque era UNESCO listed town of Noto.

The hotel is within a late 17th century palazzo sharing a large courtyard with the Palazzo Niccolaci. The entrance is on the ground floor, the seven rooms on the piano nobile - one floor up from ground level (but due to topography, basically setting you about three stories up). The charming host/owner/manager lives on the top floor and opens her terrace each morning to serve breakfast. The terrace offers sweeping views over Noto and is a great place to have a breakfast buffet and plan your day.

Our room was simply beautiful. Exquisitely furnished (very Architectural Digest), but keep simple by the powdery palette of warm greys and white linens and curtains. The room was large, high ceilings, french-doors onto a small balcony (with cafe table and chairs). I don't remember the number, but the windows were on the west and offered a wonderful glare-free view of Noto upon waking and allowed for warm streams of sunlight to flood the room in the afternoon. At night the view was even better as the historic buildings are lit at night and makes Noto look wonderfully theatrical. Not a banal building in site to spoil the view.

The bathroom is enormous, as big as many hotel rooms in their entirety. Beautiful traditional tiles to balance the contemporary chic. Fantastic big shower, no tub suprisingly, especially given that the same fantastic view is available in the bathroom, but I didn't miss a tub.

Linens are exceptionally nice. Pillows absolutely perfect for me.

Suitcases and clothes have their own walk in closet, which is great as your things won't spoil the room. Satellite-fed TV discretely placed in the armoire. No mini-bar, down the hall is a small room with complimentary water, soft-drinks, and Nespresso machine. No corporate branding anywhere. No nickle-and-diming. Just a genuinely impressive and luxurious stay. I can't recommend it enough.

This is the only hotel I've ever been in (and I've been in many 5-star throughout Europe), where I would go back simply to stay in the hotel. It's that good to me.

Any drawbacks? Only one really. Access is a little bit too complex, but they are due mostly to the fact that other people live in the building and there is a set of large portal doors to the street from the courtyard (access to the hotel is only via the courtyard). Guest are given three keys: portal, building, and room. They are easy enough to use. The only thing that concerned me is that the lock to the door of the room is 'domestic/residential', almost like a cabinet lock, not convincing in its security, and somewhat tempermental - but this didn't take away from my experience. I'd much rather have that than some flimsy plastic swipe-card.

This is a top-notch hotel by any standard. For comparison, this room would be $700/night in London and almost $1000/night in Paris. It's trading on a global stardard, excelling at that, and therfore offers exceptional value. As a bonus, you have the beautiful town of Noto to explore.

I can't recommend it enough and it was a sincere pleasure to find such a wonderful hotel. If the management are peeking in - thank you again, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: West-facing "grey" decorated room is fantastic and offers beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This boutique hotel is truly unique and worth the visit. In a remodeled historic palace in the center of the most beautiful Baroque city of Sicily, it is run by the most accommodating of hosts. Make sure to get a luxury room as it is well worth the experience - that is if you like living as a noble for a few days - and while you're at it, make it your base for visiting the other Baroque cites in the area - as well as the beaches beaches close by (we toured in the mornings and spent the afternoons at the beach). We loved the 4 day experience! Rick Jay, Paris, France

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Rooms Villadorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Rooms Villadorata

Address: Cavour,53, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories of princes, of seventeenth century palaces, stories of walls and sea in a land at the extremity of Sicily that seems at the edge of the World. Here lies the magic of this Ancient House, belonging since centuries to the Family of Villadorata, a name as poetic as a sunset.Here time is measured in centuries, Churches and Buildings had always been fascinating and evocative elements of this landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Rooms Villadorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Rooms Villadorata Noto, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Rooms Villadorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.