We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Liberty

Ristorante Il Liberty
Via Cavour, 40, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
+39 0931 573226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 119 Restaurants in Noto
Price range: $24 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You will be surprised from its position, the Liberty Restaurant, perched as it is on the side of the Church of Montevergine whose two towers are kindly shade to the small veranda. Chef Joseph Angelino inventive and skilled craftsmanship, qualities which he cultivated from an early age before studying and then sharing important experiences working with teachers Andrea Galli and Andrea Provenzani.   Today revisits the classical canons of the Sicilian tradition thanks to brilliant innovative ideas, seasonal raw materials and a culinary philosophy that provides only the inner workings of the restaurant. Its menu do not miss anything, from seasonal recipes, always pleasantly surprising dishes available throughout the year: the appetizer Layered Ragusano with julienne vegetables in sweet and sour, the fantastic risotto with almond milk sauce and quail reduction Nero d'Avola, the amazing Sicilian Eggplant parmesan crusted cheese and crunchy vegetables, and among the desserts, the delicious creamy chocolate fudge sauce with tobacco and jelly frappato.
London
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This turned out to be the opnly decent restaurant in Noto that catered for veggies.
We turned up at 7, and they hadn't quite opened, but let us read the menu.
When we arrived at 8.15 to eat, we secured a table on the tiny terrace which was a romantic setting. The owner come out with citronella leaves to combat the mozzies.
Although they had run out of one of the vegetarian dishes, they offered to make a simple pasta instead - unfortunately this was a little disappointing on flavour. The one remaining dish on the menu was good though. The bread was lovely and finally this was a restaurant that served it with good olive oil. The wine list was interesting and the waiter spoke good English so could make a recommendation from our shortlist. The only problem we encountered was that I ordered desert and coffee, and the coffee never materialised.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    138
    49
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good meal could improve on value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a very good meal at this restaurant. The service was good, the good was fresh and the seafood was high quality. One area of small improvement, their pasta courses could be a little bigger for the price. Overall a good dining experience but could do better on value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Eulalia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hidden away in a little alley off Via Cavour - one street up from the main Corso Vittorio Emanuele - this small restaurant is a real find. After a hot morning exploring Noto and finding the other restaurants listed on Tripadvisor either closed or unattractive, we decided to give this one a chance as a last resort. Seated under shade on the tiny terrace, we were treated to one of the best meals we had in two weeks in Sicily. Plates of delicious local cheeses with the restaurant's homemade 'jams' (chutneys), were followed by sublime pasta dishes - linguine with clams and cherry tomatoes, ravioli filled with aubergines and ricotta - and excellent risotto with ragout of quail. All beautifully presented, light and full of flavour. The wine recommended by the friendly waiter (speaking very good English) was perfect. Finally, we could not resist the desserts which were all first-rate, with the chocolate fondant with tobacco (!) sauce the clear winner. Euros 35 a head including two bottles of wine - very good value and we would certainly return. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Fare with a flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Wonderful food deserving of a few stars - local influenced with a twist - very helpful staff fabulous wine and their Cheese and Home made Jam to die for. If I had found it earlier I would have gone every night

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good plfood and nice athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went to this restaurant on r3ecommendation (like always) of Trip Advisor, and we were please to see different dishes cooked in the sicilian way. Food was excellent and well priced.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Liberty also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ristorante Il Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.