We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad for Americans” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club Helios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Club Helios to your Saves list
Hotel Club Helios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lido, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Noto
Catania, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad for Americans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are an American do not stay here. Trust me. I even live in Sicily. The only thing going for this place is the beach and the beach staff. The food is very limited and the customer service is very bad. It is like the service of cafeteria style. Food places close from 1 to 4. That is the nap time here. It is very expensive for what you get. The town of Noto is located 5 miles away. There is not much to do here either. It caters to Italians. Not Americans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    93
    63
    27
    23
See reviews for
122
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is generally clean, although some particulars like balconies.
Nice private beach and relaxing swimming pool too. It's close to Noto (easily reachable in 15 minutes by car) and other points so ideal for day-trips.
Service fast and kind, a good value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at the Helios Club hotel May 7-12, 2012 with my wife and a 2,5 yo daugher and we can recommend it to anyone. A great quite place to stay some 7 km from Noto. Only the sea and 600 yo vineyards nearby. Only 0km food supplies. Works perfect if you have smth to drive (like we did) as there are quite many things to see within a 100 km radius. The famous barocco jewel Noto is about 7 km away, Syracuse with its wild (by the local standards, of course) morning street food market is under 30 km, the Etna volcano is about a 2 hr drive. Great value if you dont like crowds, but enjoy the authentic as fresh as it only can be Italian cuisine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for three days if you like suntanning its ok but you are way out nowhere you need a cab from noto to get there the beach is amazing just gorgeous but you need a taxi to get you there everytime you want to go somewhere so its very expensive not may restaurants either the hotel is very nice good place for sunlovers we wenmt in oct 24 2011 weather was great

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

we stayed in this hotel in may for 1 week with friends and a child. we were staying mostly in the daytime in the hotel, taking sun and after were traveling by car to cities in Sicily.
the hotel is surely old and need restoration somewhere, but the view from terrace and swimming pool is so amazing )))) we got nice treatment from the stuff even they did not spoke very good english.
the food was always great ( wine, risotto, fish, pasta)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

If you want to stay a place where large buses pull up and empty their load into the lobby this place is for you. We had bad directions on how to get to the beach. Nothing is open around here in May. The new day manager was scary and no help at all. The boss in charge was very gracious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed with my mother for 1 week. yes, hotel is quite old and seems like some areas need restoration, but its perfectly fits the price! the room was simple, but spacey and spectacular view from our balcony!
The service was good, even the stuff did not spoke English very good, they served us breakfast once after we were late and restaurant was already close! there was always a nice italian cusine served at the restaurant (risotto with artichokes, pasta with swordfish, shrimps, wine, dolce). the beach was not ready yet, but we were taking sun all week at the swimming pool and we loved it the most!!! there is 1 million dollar view on the sea, quietness and magnificent colours!
there were lots of poo from swallows, that were flying around the hotel, but just the present of them was so special.
there was still some work going on in the hotel, but we were mostly traveling after lunch to other cities of Sicily. the hotel area is very quiet, there is only beach and lots of summer villas.
I would totally recommend this place for travelers with low budget, especially families and for those who want to travel in Sicily by car, you can easily see different places each day and return to the hotel .
(Siracusa - 30min, Ragusa Ibla - 1 hour, Taormina - 1,30min, Marzamemmi, Vendiceri, Noto)


tips / nice fish restaurant near by the hotel - Scirocco, our recommends!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Club Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Helios

Address: Viale Lido, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Helios 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the south¬eastern coast of Sicily just 6 Km. away fromthe famous baroque town of Noto, easily reached by a shuttle service, the Hotel Club Helios looks out over a crystal¬clear sea with a fine sandy beach. Site an a cliff of Mediterranean maquis, the complex consists of a central body containing 143 rooms, restaurants, bar, bazaar, disco, theatre, congress centre and a spacious terrace overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Club Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Club Helios Noto, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Club Helios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.