We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional family run restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole

Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole
vico salonia 30 angolo piazza XVI maggio, Noto, Sicily, Italy
0931837772
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 102 restaurants in Noto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Traditional family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restaurant is located in the centre of Noto, just next to the theatre. The entrance looks a bit strange and the place of course was empty at around 6 o’clock when I made the reservation for later that night. When we got back the restaurant was full. Lots of Italian families where having there dinner there and we were lucky to be part of that happening.
The restaurant is family run where Il Patrone is accompanied and being helped by his daughters, The food is authentic Sicilian and one can really enjoy the well prepared dishes. No matter what you decide to have for dinner; everything is super. Il patrone is very busy with his guests and he really wants them to relax and enjoy their evening out. You can ask him for advice; no problem. He will tell you what you can take best however, be aware not to order to many things because the portions are big; real big. The taste is fantastic and the ambiance is nice and cozy. I now can imagine very well why Italian families like to go out for dinner with friends or just the whole family; if this is the way they use to eat, it really is magnificent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    154
    163
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here in mid November. We ordered a cheese platter to share to start with which had a number of Sicilian cheese, two of which were fried.

We followed this with a ravioli and a veal escalope sharing a salad.

We finished with a coffee and a Sicilian dessert wine accompanied by a small taste of sweetened ricotta with pistachio and chocolate.

The food was simple, delicious and came with excellent service. A very friendly restaurant serving well cooked food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Noto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the best restaurant we visited in Sicily.
Extremely friendly serivce & the food was exceptional. We had steak with balsamic sauce.
There is good atmosphere. Booking essential.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food with great family-style service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A native of Noto suggested we have lunch here as a great place to not be amongst a bunch of tourists and to eat real good food. He was right! The restaurant is in the center of town and the owner and his wife were charming from the start. When I told them I needed to eat gluten free and asked if they had gluten free pasta, they explained that they had run out of it. Ten minutes later, their son (I think) came running in with gluten free pasta! The tomato, eggplant and parmesan appetizer was mouth-watering and my gluten free pasta with mint and shellfish was outstanding. So was the mascarpone dessert. The prices were real reasonable and the portions generous. We had a great experience. Our daughter was with us (2 years old) and they were very children-friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles-sur-Tech, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Noto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fantastic atmosphere and service in this family run restaurant and delicious home cooked food .Antipasti of the house and fritto misto not to be missed .All our pasta dishes were fresh and inventive and the meat and fish for mains without fault .Portions are generous , service good and atmosphere typically Sicilian i.e lively and friendly .It is best to reserve as this restaurant not large and always full .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Fontana d'Ercole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.