We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Dammuso, family Baglieri.....is mother better than son?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Dammuso

Ristorante Dammuso
Via Rocco Pirri 10 /12, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
+39 0931 835786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Noto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Il Dammuso, family Baglieri.....is mother better than son?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First of all for clarity this is now clearly (?newly signed) as ristorante Il Damusso. We went here for lunch two days ago and for a traditional meal is almost certainly one of the best we have had in Sicily. The ricotta stuffed ravioli with Ragu di miale was stunningly good in an authentic homely way, and hugely filling. The Tonno in crostata di pistachio was the best of the three I had in different restaurants in Noto. Perfectly pink in the middle, a crisp well seasoned slightly salty crust served with a well balanced and tasty caponata was superb.

So two questions why is this rated no 5 in Noto when the first is not a restaurant but a pasticherria (bakers/cake shop...I.e.you won't get a full meal here) and the other preceding four are agriturismo well outside of the city...answer it's really no 1 in Noto.

Two...is mother better than son in the title refers to the 'competition' between mum here at il Damusso and her son's at restaurant Il Crocifisso (in Noto Alto' some 74 steepish steps up hill where Mrs Pearls and I ate just this last evening and which I will review also)...the answer is mum (Il Damusso) hands down....the service is better, the atmosphere more warm and friendly, the wine recommended with enthusiasm (rather than a "we don't have that or that so let me recommend a more expensive and less tasty one..." at Il Crocifisso), the arched ceiling beautiful, the mixed Sicilian and tourist clientele reassuring and probably telltale, but ultimately the food fantastically moreish and tasty, authentically presented and just so satisfying. Enough said I think!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    171
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Passionate owner, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After having lunch there and watching other people's plates go by it left us hungering for lots of things on the menu and wanting to come back to try the rest of the dishes. Our food was delicious, cooked perfectly and it was great to have a choice away from the 'standard' dishes for the area (which are all great, it's just great to have a change sometimes).
The owner was hugely welcoming and helpful and passionate about good food and the local wines. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must when in Noto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A splendid meal, good atmosphere, excellent service, very good value.. What more could one wish for at a restaurant. Certainly worth dining here when in Noto. We shall certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking for the very freshest food with a unique style - this is your place. We went back a couple of times during our two week stay in that area of Sicily. What also stands out is the service - the owner is very personable and will come over and understand exactly what it is you want. The fish is also very fresh - we ran into the owner one afternoon, and he told us he woke up at 6am that morning to go get the fresh fish from the coast. We also loved the Vino Frizzante - have a glass, you'll be hooked. One of my all time favorite restaurants - enjoy! You'll want to learn how to cook all the dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great popular restaurant in the heart of Noto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Whatever the restaurant may be called - Baglieri or Il Dammuso - it is probably the strong local place in Noto. A big room and big tables give you some space and it is spotlessly clean and tidy. The owner is a warm and friendly guy and the staff are helpful and efficient. The star is the food though. The local menus don't offer huge variation but the execution here was beyond local competitors. The rustic antipasti plate was delicious and my secondi platti of pork with red wine sauce was tremendous. Juicy crisp pork loin with crisp edge and a wicked rich dark tangy sauce. Superb. The local Zisola red washed this down perfectly. A great evening out.

Basically a meal and wine in Noto for two costs 70 Euro and this for me was the best place. Crocifisso was great too, but this just shades it for me. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Dammuso also viewed

Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 
Noto, Province of Syracuse
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ristorante Dammuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Dammuso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.