We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatifully restored Masseria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Corte del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Corte del Sole to your Saves list
Hotel La Corte del Sole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C.da Bucachemi / Eloro, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Noto
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beatifully restored Masseria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the best and relaxing "re-charging" holidays in a long time. Entirely last minute "on spec". What joy! Wonderful location, relaxing views over golden countryside, watching the sheep herded across the farmland and close to 3 excellent beaches. The first beach, Elovo, is a 20 minute walk across the farmland and we tended to walk there around 4pm - and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Cooler to walk back!. The next beach, Marianelli is "interesting". The third - some 45 minutes to walk - is the famous Calamosche Bay. The hotel has been painstakingly restored and is very clam and quiet. Many guests are "passing through" and stay only one or two nights. Thus during the day we had the hotel much to ourselves - including the pool. We did not hire a car and arranged a lift to and from the airport with the hotel and so spent a lazy week compared to most guests. We were the only English couple and muddled along in Italian, & French [some guests speaking excellent English]. The other guests were very pleasant - especially the young children. We loved being able to walk for miles and miles and miles. The hotel organised an excellent walk around the Venticari reserve with Eloisa and can arrange trips to Noto, Syracuse, Marzamemi, Taoramina, Etna etc plus energetic activities such as diving etc. Even in July some good bird life: flamingos, hawks, moustached warbler. A highlight was watching a tiny, just hatched, turtle scramble into the sea!. The whole experience brought back happy memories of my own, and my children's idyllic long childhood summers. Staff fantastic - helpful, friendly and very, very happy. Food excellent - I had fish every night and too many tempting Sicilian pastries - even at breakfast. Booked this hotel for 7 nights very last minute to escape the cold wet "summer" of England, based on Trip Advisor reviews. We shall return - at a different time of year to see different birds and also hopefully to venture beyond the Venticari Reserve. I fear, however, we get seduced again into chillin' out too much... Thank you for such a lovely "unplanned" holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms vary. We had a courtyard room which was small but quiet. Some overlook the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    92
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
67
153
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Münster
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location: Very peaceful with a broad beautiful view over a nature reserve all the way to the sea. Godd access to Noto (well worth a visit) and the freeway for further excursions. A car is a must though out in the country.

Rooms: Tasteful and well appointed. Quiet air conditioning. Superior rooms with great views.

Breakfast: In a charming location. Good selection, excellent service.

Service: Very friendly, personal, competent.

I would say the only great place for many miles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just had 5 wonderful days and nights here. We chose a room on the first floor with views of the pool, the golden fields and onwards to the sea. Breakfast outside a magnificent old Olive Press room, exceptionally renovated, lots of choice and delicious fresh Italian cofee. We chose to walk to the beach across the farmlands. The beach is sandy, clean, shallow
Water. We visited lots of interesting places in the day and ate outside in the courtyard in the evening. Lots of choice, wonderful fresh Sicilian food, loved the anti-pasta. All the staff were friendly, many spoke ok english, and were polite and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel. We found it from the Sicilian Experience we site, we had done their weeks grand tour which was also excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A lovingly redone masseria with splendid views overlooking hilly farmland (especially from the swimming pool). A lovely beach in the wonderful Vendicari nature reserve is a comfortable walk away. There is an enormous herb garden out front as one enters that provides herbs for the fine dinners of typical Sicilian specialties and the chef's innovations. A 15-euro cab ride away from Noto and very comfortable central point for exploring the region if you have a car. The staff is simpatico and helpful. The Internet connection is dial-up and therefore very slow if you need to make arrangements, etc., but that is a tiny quibble. We plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, comfortable rooms and a very friendly and helpfull staff. The surroundings are beautifull. A good place to stay for a number of days and use it as a starting point to discover the south east part of Sicily.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place (structure, rooms, common areas), great food, great service. Of course you need the car to go there, but as you can have a great dinner on site, you can visit the beautiful surrounding area (Siracusa, Noto, Modica, Ragusa...) during the day and relax in the evening. Maybe a bit pricey, but still worth the money. It was recommended to us and we certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

stunning hotel with friendly and helpfull staff ( they gave us precious tips )
nice rooms not very big but comfortable and very very clean
excellent restaurant with an endless carte du vin
amazing views from our room facing the swimming pool
will back again with my family
thanks
nina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Corte del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Corte del Sole

Address: C.da Bucachemi / Eloro, 96017 Noto, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Noto
#1 Green Hotel in Noto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Noto
#3 Family Hotel in Noto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Corte del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of a hill, La Corte del Sole offers its guests a wonderful view over the Vendicari Nature Reserve, one of the most beautiful Sicilian reserves. Thanks to the skillful restoration of a typical nineteenth-century ancient Sicilian manor, La Corte del Sole has been realized looking after every single detail, using only noble materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Corte del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Corte Del Sole Noto, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Corte del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.