We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace to your Saves list
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Imera SS 113 km 204.3, 90010 Campofelice di Roccella, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We had booked to stay in the Garden beach Hotel but on arrival were told we had been upgraded to The Athenee Palace. We had 2 large 2nd floor sea view rooms - brilliant views, clean & comfortable. The maids kept them spotless. The air conditioning was on all day with no restrictions.
We were 'all inclusive' and ate mainly in the dinning room but at lunch reserved the pool restaurant for pizzas - delicious! We found the food varied, typical Italian style with salads, pastas, fish & meat - different every day. The deserts were not to our tastes but the fruit & ice cream went down well.
We cannot fault the hotel.
The entertainment team were fab, especially Michal. We took part in aqua gym, volleyball, football & ping pong. The evening entertainment was varied & amusing at times.
Drinks were readily available & little queuing. The mini bar was restocked alternate days.
We went on 3 trips over 2 weeks - Walking around Cefalu, Stromboli & Taormina/Etna. All well worth the money & great days out.
The hotel is remote but we knew that prior to going - a very relaxing holiday catering for all ages.
Best thing - not too many Brits, lots of Italians - so must be good if they go there too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    103
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
150
69
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prievidza, Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

On this holiday, I enjoyed a lot of fun and I have many wonderful memories.
I mention a wonderful animation team, which amused me. Especially animators: Monica Mališová Guido Macaluso and working in the Info Point, Pigula Michal, whom I once again learned to play ping pong, Miriama Bath, which taught me a beautiful dance to Zumba. Of course I must mention the great Dj Alex Panarello. At the disco I was never bored. Plus Tereza Tomašovičová, Romana Čiliaková and Lucia Bacigálová. I don't forget on the experience survived with these people.
But one thing bothered me. Sketches of the evening program were guided mostly in Italian language, so most people do not understand what they were. I have a suggestion to help. Either invent a few scenes,, where they don't say or speak multilingual +english language.
Everything else was perfect. Thanks for a great summer <3 Grazie ^_^

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

i was a bit worried about visiting the athenee palace because up to the time we went [8th june] the last postings had been in november 2011 and they were not particularly good.
but from the moment we got there it was a really very good experience, the hotel and staff were excellent the food wonderful and the setting beautiful.
we went on trips to palermo, cefalu, wine tasting and dinner in the mountains i particularly recommend the last one which had some breathtaking views. i had already booked next years holiday to cuba and if i hadn,t we would have returned to the athenee.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are excellent but try to avoid being directly over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear davetimelai!
Thank you very much for your compliments. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace and that you were satisfied with our services, food, staff and location of the hotel. We hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of tour group. Hotel is huge with huge numbers of holiday makers to match! The website gives the impression that tea/coffee facilities are in every room...the reality is only if you are all inclusive. The air-con with temperatures in the 30s was only on from 7pm to midnight (managing directors orders). You are advised to lock away your valuable but an in room safe costs E4 a day. Meals were served in huge "dining room" and were buffet style with set tables to sit at. Buffet was popular with people queing before it opened but although there was lots of food it was often indistinguishable and unlabelled so it was matter of deduction and guessing what you took, no real quality. There was a dining option in outdoor area which was better than crowded buffet but quality poor again. This hotel is really an all-inclusive one. Rooms were large, mine had a huge king size bed and two singles.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be quiet as located down huge spider leg type corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived in Sicily to be informed that the Hotel "Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach" was closed, due to refurbishment and that we would be relocated in a luxury (newly refurbished) bungalow in the grounds. We would have full use of the facilities (all inclusive) in the adjacent hotel Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace. The two hotels shared the three pools - beach front and beach bars and extensive gardens. - So I will also put this review on the Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace page too.
It took a day to get into the routine in the dining room etc - however once we had figured out how the system worked it surpassed our expectations. The food was excellent - the reception staff were helpful and well mannered - the bungalow as superb - large bed (2M X 2M - kingsize +) - Free mini bar tea and coffee always re-stocked - free safe in room - the bathroom was the best I have come across.
Beach towels were also provided free of charge.
Room service - first class
The location left a bit to be desired - there are no local bars or shops (20 euros each way in a taxi to visit the nearest supermarket - 30 Euros each way to visit the neares town - Cefalu).
There was a gift shop and boutique in the complex.
I was disappointed in the fact that it cost 5 Euros for half an hours use of the hotels (hit & Miss) Wi Fi access.
There was a shuttle bus service into Cefalu - 5 Euros each way - but the last bus back was at 6PM.
The excursions were rather expensive 102 Euros for the Mount Etna Experience (Wich was very enjoyable but dear).
Sam (The Thompsons rep) arranged a shuttle bus special with a walk aroud Cefalu for 3 Euros. The hotel arranged a minibus to a market, on the outsirts of Palermo, for 8 Euros. Both trips were worth going on.
So my opinion (For what it's worth) - Great place to chill out (and to be honest we could have spent the whole week on the complex and not spent a penny).
Not a great place if you like to walk out and explore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Did not get a chance to check reviews of this hotel as like many other reviewers we were booked for the Garden Beach next door. We were told our travel agent should have warned us but nobody in our party had ben told of the change. Strange how Thomsons can use your mobile number for marketing, but fail to do so when it suits them! Transfer time was a shock as we had already been delayed 3 hours at Gatwick. As we could not hire a car we spent many hours on overpriced coach trips which was frustrating. Distance from any town is a problem as there seem to be no local buses so you are reliant on paying 5 euros each for the shuttle bus. A taxi trip to a supermarket cost us 40 euros return! Room was a bit grubby and overlooked the kitchen which could be noisy. We asked to be moved and were shown a worse room closer to the motorway! Even moving to a sea view room or bungalow would have meant an extra 40 euros a night! Food could be good but was samey if you were on all inclusive as we were. Some staff, particularly the waiters were charming but the rest were obviously not bothered as it was the penultimate week of their season. The beach was very pebbly and board walks which would have helped ended several metres before the sand began.We will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room or a bungalow but do not try to upgrade it when you get there, prebooking is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We arrived at the Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace for a week's break on 17th September. We had been expecting to be accommodated at the Fiesta Garden Beach but had no problems with the change to the sister hotel as they were both in the same grounds and shared the same facilities. Our sea view room was spacious, comfortable and kept very clean by friendly staff. In fact we found all the staff at the hotel to be friendly and courteous - it seems to be true that your own attitude can prompt a good response - if you approach people with a smile on your face they will tend to smile back. There were unfortunately one or two people on the same trip as us who appeared to be determined not only to find fault with practically everything but also to try to convince other people that this hotel had severe shortcomings! Fortunately we were able to meet others who also had a much more positive attitude and then avoid those whose main delight seemed to be to complain.
The meals were what one would expect from a buffet service - plenty of variety but not necessarily all dishes to everyone's taste - but there was always something to fancy and plenty of it. The main dining room is of necessity quite large in order to accommodate all guests and therefore seems quite busy around the food areas. However, just outside, there are also plenty of tables laid up which are ideal for those wanting a relaxing chat over a good glass of Sicilian wine.
The grounds of the hotel are well tended and relaxing - there are plenty of shady places to find a sun bed when you need a break from the sun's rays. The hotel is in a quiet location, and the well advertised fact that it is 15mins away from Cefalu springs no surprises that there is not a selection of bars and restaurants close by. However we can recommend Cafe Solaire (10 minutes walk) for a bit of local hospitality!

Room Tip: First or second floor rooms with a sea view would be favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace

Address: Viale Imera SS 113 km 204.3, 90010 Campofelice di Roccella, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Campofelice di Roccella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Campofelice di Roccella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace is the ideal location for a couple or family to spend relaxed holidays in the island of Sicily. The Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace is a newly-constructed hotel which offers guests modern and comfortable facilities. Harmoniously set in a luxuriant garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Cefalu
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace Sicily/Campofelice Di Roccella, Province Of Palermo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;