We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" The " place to have coffee and ice cream in Acireale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caffe' Eldorado

Gran Caffe' Eldorado
Corso Umberto, 3-5, 95024 Acireale, Sicily, Italy
+39 095 601464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 140 Restaurants in Acireale
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream, Bar, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Eldorado is tradition. Situated in the centre of Acireale, next to Piazza Duomo, Eldorado always offers typical Sicilian sweets. You can sit comfortably in the tea room upstairs or outside, where you can admire Piazza Duomo and Corso Umberto and taste a delicious Granita almond&coffee or an Arancino Ragu, our specialities! Your experience will be even more special thanks to the cordiality of our staff than will advise you what to eat: welcome to Eldorado!
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“" The " place to have coffee and ice cream in Acireale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a particularly pleasant place to have coffee, breakfast or an afternoon ice cream in Acireale : the atmosphere is so Italian, you're sitting next to the main square with a view on a magnificent 18th century church, friendly locals sit at the tables observing life going by, with not the slightest hint of hurry ( their lesson to us is that you can ignore your Ipad forever and nothing happens, actually life is better ), the service is quite fast and, as is usual in Italy, it is performed with a smile and a joke, you return for the second time and you are automatically catalogued among the circle of friends with whom to share details of your life : do not go anywhere else to have breakfast, the " Granitas " with brioches are really good for your soul, less so for what concerns calories intake, but who cares, the locals demonstrate that this is how life is enjoyed without the Calvinistic sense of guilt that America tries to impose on the whole world for whatever is enjoyable, and in particular you must try their ice creams : they are really excellent, so incredibly good ( and to hell with the calories also in this case ).
This place is highly recommended

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Speechless thanks to the incredible Ice Cream.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently spent a week in and around Acireale and we found ourselves here just by chance and what a chance it was. From the second we took a seat it just got better, the staff were amazing, going all out to tell us what each treat had, what it was made of etc, along with a little humour as well we ended up visiting a couple more times with our last visit on the last day simply because I had to have some more of there home made Chocolate and Pistacio Ice Cream, I have never tasted anything so good in my life. Plus to be able to sit outside just watching the world go by was a welcome break. Cannot recommend this place enough, if anything just to meet the staff all of who and including the owner are genuine and nice people that care for what they do. The pricing was more than good in fact dirt cheap compared to a lot of other places and the food, well, one word for it...incredible. Go there, you will regret it if you don't. :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little lunch location and very-friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in Acireale, Sicily for a total of four days. Two of those days included having lunch at Gran Caffe Eldorado. :-) The food was great and the staff were exceptional! We had our (almost) 2-year old toddler with us, and he was easily entertained by the servers and the owner himself. Also loved the ambience, with a great view of the Duomo Piazza. I would definitely recommend the place to families looking for a kid-friendly lunch spot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed in Acireale for 3 days in June during a tour of Sicily. Popped into the café one afternoon for a cool drink and enjoyed the place so much went back with some friends a few more times and enjoyed a lovely lunch on the last day. Food very good and reasonably priced. Staff very helpful and service was very quick. Although there was a language problem we managed to communicate with lots of pointing and arm movements. Location very central as opposite the cathedral.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brava!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My friends and I just needed a place to sit, sip wine, eat pizza, and talk ... and we walked by this perfect little place and loved it. Even though I only knew a few words of Italian and the hosts knew very little English, they gave great customer service. Prices are reasonable and staff are very likable. I definitely recommend this place! :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Caffe' Eldorado also viewed

Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Been to Gran Caffe' Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caffe' Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.