We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in Acireale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'oste scuro

L'oste scuro
Piazza Lionardo Vigo, 5/6, 95024 Acireale, Sicily, Italy
0957634001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 156 Restaurants in Acireale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $36
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Acireale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This proved to be our best meal in Acireale. We arrive a bit early and were the first to be seated at about 7:30, but the place soon filled with both tourists and locals. The antipasti was great and our fish course was wonderful. We were coaxed into desert by the locals at the next table; we are glad we gave in to there coaxing. A complimentary digestive and some cookies ended a fine meal. We will go back when in Acireale.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    187
    67
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
“I really don’t get it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went here based on the ratings and reviews offered by previous visitors and I cannot comprehend what has happened here.
Maybe there’s been a change in ownership? Maybe they changed their chef? I really don’t know, but it was the quintessential “tourist trap”.

I’m not a foodie, nor am I a snob, but I can tell you however that this was the worst sit-down meal I’ve ever paid for.
I can’t even blame a language barrier or a misunderstanding as I speak fluent Italian.

The Antipasti di mare (seafood platter) that everyone raves about was an embarrassment. Considering their proximity to the sea not one item on the platter was fresh, it was all from frozen, most of it was deep fried in batter and the sardines were clearly plopped on the plate straight out of a can.
When the waiter came to retrieve our plates and asked why we did not finish it, he did not seem surprised when I told him it wasn’t very good.
The same was true for our main courses: just an utter disappointment.

If you consider that we only had the seafood platter, two mains, bread and a half-liter of wine (no desserts or anything else) and it still cost us 47€, this was a total rip-off.
We had much better meals in Acireale, with much more food, for the same price.

As if that weren’t enough, the restaurant itself is dingy, dirty and has cobwebs everywhere. The owner is very kind, but he can’t make up for all of this restaurant’s failings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very personal service by Signor Vincenzo. The food was exquisite, the house wine excellent. Antipasti di mare (sea food starter), a must. Order one for two people: there are about 10/12 small portions of the most delicate seafood and fish. Then follow Vincenzo's suggestions, you will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deceiving...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Food average, service super slow... 45 mn to serve a pasta dish to kids
Certainly not the best address in Acireale

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went there today. Got the antipasto dish, it was mediocre, some dishes were really good and some felt like they had been sitting out there. We ordered the linguine con mare and the grilled swordfish, both were excellent. The complimentary lemonade is amazing, just the right amount of sugar and fizziness. We got the house white wine, great. We had Sicilian cassata and it was delicious.they gave us free liquor and biscotti. It was so tasty that I asked if I could take the few that were left on our plate, they were kind enough to wrap some for me. best caffe so far, it's coffee borbone, will be buying it to take home.
Ambiance, Not the best, the place is old but the view of the church if you're sitting facing it, makes up for the bland inside. Overall, a good experience with good food. Recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'oste scuro also viewed

Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 
Acireale, Province of Catania
Acireale, Province of Catania
 

Been to L'oste scuro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'oste scuro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.