We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Comunale di Acaya Km 2 | Acaya, 73029 Vernole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernole
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A nice relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a resort hotel, far and away from it all. It has a conference facility, and that was the reason for being there. I got a very decent rate through the Hilton website, well lower than that offered by the conference company. I arrived to the train staion just before midnight, and retrospectively, the best way to make the 20 minutes’ drive is to arrange transportation through the hotel who can arrange a taxi to pick you. I just got a cab from the train station, and paid little over 50 euros instead of a regular 30! Not sure if that was an inflated meter by taking a longer way, or that was a midnight overcharge.

Staff are always helpful and welcoming whether in reception area or restaurant. I was told upon check-in that the electronic key system is out of order, and given a metal key for the room. Who cares. A minor problem was a malfunction of the air conditioning system in the first night, and had o open the balcony window, getting little chilly before morning. Luckily enough, it was fixed the following morning, but without being to control it from the room. Would call the reception to ask for 2 degrees warmer or colder, and that was answered immediately, not even a nuisance. View from the room was nothing short of serene


Breakfast is in a fantastic setting with a view of the surrounding gardens, not much variety but excellent quality. Your preferred coffee to be especially prepared for you when you decide. Room is really spacious, and nothing small. It is as advertised in the website pictures, well suited for a family with small children with the sofa bed available. House-keeping always neat.

There is a free shuttle bus to the city of Lecce which leaves at 3 times a day, but the first return is really late in the afternoon at 4:30, and had to come back by taxi. Tried the smaller pool and was good, and the bigger pool should be as good or better. It was a pity not to try the spa or gold course because of limited time.

Room Tip: I think the room i got in the floor above ground was a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear EyeCairo,

Thank you for reviewing our lovely Resort on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your comments and details left and we are happy because YOU were happy about your stay.

We thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you again at the DoubleTree by HIlton Acaya Golf Resort. Kind Regards, Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    152
    38
    19
    6
See reviews for
127
232
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

excellent hotel, staff really made an effort, service very good and they genuinely seemed to care, golf great, nice pools, close to sea, very high quality resort experience and would definetely return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Andrew L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for your comments, that have been shared with our colleagues.

We hope to see you soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort. Kind regards, Nicola L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A very relaxing Place, at least at the time I was there, since it was in the mid of June and the hotel did'nt seem so crowded even if it was almost full.
The staff was very service minded and polite. All the way from receptionists to the cleaning workers.
So if you like a relaxing Place, with a Beautiful SPA you should come here.

The hotel staying was'nt expensive keeping in mind that the hotel offers 2 swimming pools and a good standard overall.

But all of the rest was way to expensive and this is my only reason not giving a high vote.
Its ok paying 14euro for an "antipasto" ...But its not ok paying 14 euro for an "antipasto" made of small onions ( lampascioni ) one small Bruschetta and fried cheese.
Wifi its not free.
Sandwiches cost minimum 10 euros.
And 30 euro for the SPA even if it was Beautiful it's a Little bit too much..

I've been in a lot of "finer" hotels and its not the prices that makes the hotel "chic"

But allthough the high prices relating to the services i would say you will not get disappointed staying here.. If the prices weren't so unappropriate to the food/services etc I would come here regularly..

Food was very very expensive relating to other nice restaurants in the Lecce area, but still good ( except the antipasti )
The staff was all helpful and polite.
Overall it was a nice Place .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Adriano T,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and for your constructive feedback,

We already shared your comments with our departments so that we will have the possibility to take the necessary actions to correct what you reported.

As for the Internet, We would like to inform you that Hilton is changing the standards for Internet connection and soon we will be able to provide our guests with free Internet access in the public areas and for HHonors guests.

We hope to see you soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort. Kind regards, Nicola L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 10 days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were initially hesitant in booking with a "big brand" hotel as when in Italy we usually stay in boutique hotels and agriturismi, although once we arrived we were in no doubt that we had made the right decision.
We are Hilton Gold members and therefore got breakfast, water, use of the spa, gym and wi-fi free.
We used the driving range and took a golf lesson (my husband plays and I am still learning), although didn't play a round but the course is beautiful and very well maintained.
The breakfast was abundant and varied, with something for everyone. We ate in the restaurant a few times and enjoyed our food.
I had a massage in the spa which was very good, as well as used the gym on a number of occasions. Equipment and facilities were very modern (the Hilton brand refurbished and extended the hotel when they bought it three years ago).
There are two pools and plenty of sun-loungers. The hotel is near a number of beaches, but I would recommend having a car as neither they nor Lecce are within walking distance, although the hotel does operate a shuttle to both.
Wi-fi was good in the room, although we could only use one device at a time with the password provided - probably a good thing when you are on your holidays though as it helped us to "disconnect" a bit!
The staff were faultlessly friendly and attentive, but also with the polite reserve you expect from a bigger hotel, which completely suited us for this holiday, as we just wanted to switch off and relax. If you are looking for an "Italian experience" then this is perhaps not the hotel for you - stay at a massiera or agriturismo. If you want everything to work, peace and quiet, time to yourself, lots of facilities and great service, head for Doubletree Acaya!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Discerning1980,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for your comments, that have been shared with our colleagues.

We hope to see you soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort. Kind regards, Nicola L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our family of 7 (2 adults and 5 kids) enjoyed a 3-night stay at the Doubletree. We loved it! We chose the Doubletree based on brand (Hilton), price (got 33% buy staying 3-nights), and location (we wanted to visited the 'heel of the boot'). We ended up booking two rooms to accommodate the lot of us.

After booking two king-bed rooms, I promptly emailed the hotel and asked for connecting rooms. The hotel emailed back and confirmed our request (note: one of the connecting rooms was a handicap accessible room).

Check-in was rather quick - and the warm cookies were delicious. A big thank you to Sabrina for helping to get us settled.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, we received free wireless internet (which we actually didn't use; we wanted to go 'unplugged' this vacation) and complimentary breakfast (this was not offered at check-in - I had to ask for this).

The rooms were very spacious and clean. We were on the ground floor; close to the cloister pool (which our kids loved). The patio outdoors was nice but we didn't really utilize it (other than to dry our wet swimsuits in the sun). -- Other reviews have commented about the "American-sized rooms"; I will second that comment and say that we felt very much at 'home' (we're American and have traveled throughout Europe and Asia; it's nice to find a room that makes we feel like we're back home). The A/C in one of the rooms was very efficient; the other room's a/c was mediocre (I asked the front desk about it and they told me that i just need to give it time to cool the room off (after three days the temp only dropped half a degree). Nonetheless, we were comfortable. -- Each room has a flat-screen TV with SKY TV (multilingual programming was perfect for our kids (who don't speak Italian)).

Despite being on the ground floor and close to the pool, we were not bothered with noise or foot traffic.

The pools were nice; lifeguards on duty for most of the day. The pool area were clean. Water was warm-ish. We visited in June; the water in August would probably be perfect. They also have a pool bar but we didn't order anything.

The breakfast was good - wide selection of food: cheeses, prosciutto, fruits, veggies, breads, pastries, juices/water, eggs, bacon, etc. We had no problem finding something to satisfy the 5 picky pallets of our kids.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner one evening. The service was very good - but admittedly, the food was just ok: we ordered a Caesar salad (which did not have "American" Caesar dressing), a pizza (which was so-so; we've been spoiled with authentic Napolitano pizza the last year (we live in Naples)), and a local pasta dish (good but nothing to write home about).

We did not use the Spa (although the use thereof was also complimentary to us as Hilton Honors Gold members). We stopped by the "Kinder Place" but didn't use any of the services (apparently, they offer babysitting). We also did not golf.

Parking was free and we felt the car was secure despite the posted signs to remove all valuables and the Doubletree accepts no liability for loss or damage (living in Naples, we feel leery leaving our car parked ANYWHERE; that was NOT the case here, we felt it was safe).

One evening after our return home from an outing, we walked past the front desk; the kids asked if they could have another cookie. We asked the desk clerk (Mauro); he and his associates were so friendly and gladly acquiesced (brought smiles to our kids' faces). -- Thank you!

The customer service here was outstanding! The facilities were top-notch. We loved our visit. I would recommend this place to anyone - singles, couples, families - for leisure or business (they had a business conference there the last day of our stay).

Thank you again to the wonderful staff for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you want to be close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear clovebs,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for your comments, that have been shared with our colleagues.

We hope to see you soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort. Kind regards, Nicola Leva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

After long flight delays arriving at this oasis of calm we were welcomed warmly by attentive staff in the middle of the night. This facility is understated but stylish yet simply furnished. Staff are friendly and attentive. The Spa and Golf course are excellent. The hotel benefits from being off the beaten track and is very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ildiko B,

thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor with the other users! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely Resort!

We hope to see you in the next future and please feel free to contact us should you need to book your next holiday with us. Best regards and see you soon at the DoubleTree by HIlton Acaya Golf Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Calabria, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you have loisure time or business time cut a day to stay in this experience's structure. It's the best way for spend relax&efficient time. Brilliant enviromental, special room, good intercontinental breakfast and an amazing SPA, what else..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce

Address: Strada Comunale di Acaya Km 2 | Acaya, 73029 Vernole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Vernole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An expanse of olive trees and Mediterranean maquis surrounds the elegant Doubletree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort, a prestigious, modern resort that embraces the architectural traditions of the region, reminiscent of ancient monasteries within a charming Mediterranean setting. Taste and elegance, attention to detail, comfort and numerous recreational activities satisfy and surprise even the most demanding of guests. From the suites to the rooms, from the restaurant to the lounge areas, from the elegant SPA to the well-equipped meeting and conference rooms, every detail is designed to offer maximum comfort in a quietly elegant environment for moments of real peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce Hotel Vernole
Acaya Hotel Vernole
DoubleTree By Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce Italy/Province Of Lecce - Vernole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.