We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Double Tree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort has a Beautiful Golf Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Comunale di Acaya Km 2 | Acaya, 73029 Vernole, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernole
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Double Tree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort has a Beautiful Golf Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are just two things that I love doing and they are travelling to beautiful exotic places and playing golf. On my recent trip to Italy I discovered a place that is a combination of both of my favourite things. The name of the place is The Double Tree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort and it is located Lecce in Puglia, Italy. This resort stretches over 300 acres and features a top class 18-hole golf course. This resort offered me all the facilities and amenities that I could ask for including a sparkling outdoor swimming pool. The Double Tree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort is going to be on my frequent travel to list for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Walter S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon!

Andrea Quarta
IT - Marketing and Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    146
    34
    19
    7
See reviews for
124
222
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontresina, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice Rooms in a Covent-like building, big practical Hilton-like infrastructure also for meetings. I would not recommend the place for a honeymoon, however. The golf course is excellent and very well kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear g_stz,

We’re happy you had a great stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

Come see us again soon, we’ve got a delicious chocolate chip cookie waiting for you!
Safe travels...

Kind Regards,

Andrea Quarta
IT-Marketing and Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August with our 2 infants. This hotel is amazing! Great for families very quiet. From the rooms, the food (if there is something you want not on menu they will make it you) amazing prices for that quality, and the wonderful staff! This was truly a stay we will remember. The hotel is located 10 mins aside of Lecce which was perfect for us. We could go into Lecce to shop then come back in the afternoon and let our toddler run around the extensive grounds, while the infant slept in the stroller. If you want a peaceful relaxing first class resort this is it! Being Canadian we have stayed at many 5 star resorts in North America. This is a bargain for the price,and for the food and the wine! You would never find this type of Double Tree resort for the price here. We hope to return to Italy next summer to visit family again, and plan on making this resort one of our stops.
Thanks to the staff at the front desk, breakfast, to the girls at the bar, and Luca for our room service you made us feel more then welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear vitolosito,

We’re happy you had a great stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

Come see us again soon, we’ve got a delicious chocolate chip cookie waiting for you!
Safe travels...

Kind Regards,

Andrea Quarta
Guest Relation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches 92
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i have to say that when in Italy I usually try to discover old charming hotels. This place is not where I'd would usually go in this country but was the obvious choice as I wanted to play golf there.But what an experience: nice welcome (they give you hot cookies when you arrive), room was great, pools were great, breakfast: the american way, location: on the golf course and still 20mns away from this very interesting Baroque town of Lecce...
simply a perfect 10!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear eric92,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon!

Andrea Quarta
Guest Relation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beatiful rooms, nice people, good food, wonderful golf and Salento Masseria feeling. i tried the SPA and some beaches in the Vernole area. Nice. Try also the restaurant at the Masseria in the middle Golf court! Tipical south Puglia food. Family rooms are very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear AlexC0565,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Andrea Quarta
Guest Relation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just spent four nights here with my husband and four year-old. It's very near Acaya which is a wonderful historic village (great restaurant called Acaya). We arrived very late and received a very warm welcome. The room was great, quiet, with all good amenities. Breakfast buffet is very good and as we're veggie they even made us separate eggs (minus the bacon bits). Service very warm and friendly. Internet connectivity wasn't great but this was more about the provider than the hotel but they could probably have handled this a little better. Dinner was very nice with a good Puglian menu. The pools are wonderful and again the staff were great. We asked to move room as we wanted a terrace and this was accommodated the next day. As I said nothing was a bother to the staff and they did their very best. A visit to Lecce is an absolute must and make it an evening one as the atmosphere is wonderful along with the restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear SamBed,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

I’m happy to hear that our services and our staff made your stay more comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon!

Andrea Quarta
Guest Relation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

And that's not necessarily a bad thing. We were there for 8 nights.
I'll start with the most important thing, getting there. If you have a TomTom GPS, she thinks that the hotel is west of Acaya, but it's not. It's east of Acaya on the road from Acaya to San Cataldo.
Our double king room was nice, spacious and clean. Excellent bed with a great mattress. Bathroom appeared to be new, and there is a small in-room refrigerator. The room was very comfortable. My only complaint about the room was that it was very hot and humid during our stay, and the A/C goes off every night from 2330 to 0500, or something like that, and the room gets hot. We paid about 115 Euro per night with breakfast.
The hotel pool is very nice, and I read that the standard Hilton resort phenomena of "reserving" your pool chairs early in the morning occurs, I didn't see any of that, although we were there in July and things could well change in August. There weren't a great number of families with small children there either, but the children that were there pretty much stampeded up and down the hallways throughout the evenings.
I ate at the hotel restaurant one evening, and it was OK. The food was good and at typical hotel prices. One of the hotel brochures said that they had a martini bar, and I intended to order one, but found out that the only martini that the bartender knew about was a Martini Rosso or Bianco. No James Bond style martinis here.
There isn't a great variety of local restaurants. I asked for recommendations at the front dest with mixed results. One receptionist sent us to a great restaurant in Lecce, and another sent us to a dump on the coast. Plan on going to Lecce if you want a good, varied dining experience. You can mix in the hotel restaurant if you don't want to go out, and there's a pizzeria in San Cataldo that's not too bad. Acaya has a couple of restaurants, but don't expect too much.
The hotel breakfast was good, but they were definitely understaffed, and coffee came after we finished eating on a couple of occasions.
Things move a little slower in this area. The reception station is slow and people seem to hang around there with problems that consume the receptionist until you either butt-in or give up.
Poor phone reception there if you have Wind.
Things sounds a little more negative than I intended. I would happily stay at this hotel again and overall had a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acayagolfresort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Ron-CS4,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Andrea Quarta
Guest Relation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce

Address: Strada Comunale di Acaya Km 2 | Acaya, 73029 Vernole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Vernole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vernole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An expanse of olive trees and Mediterranean maquis surrounds the elegant Doubletree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort, a prestigious, modern resort that embraces the architectural traditions of the region, reminiscent of ancient monasteries within a charming Mediterranean setting. Taste and elegance, attention to detail, comfort and numerous recreational activities satisfy and surprise even the most demanding of guests. From the suites to the rooms, from the restaurant to the lounge areas, from the elegant SPA to the well-equipped meeting and conference rooms, every detail is designed to offer maximum comfort in a quietly elegant environment for moments of real peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce Hotel Vernole
Acaya Hotel Vernole
DoubleTree By Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce Italy/Province Of Lecce - Vernole

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Acaya Golf Resort-Lecce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.