We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a nice little town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valle Dell'Idro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Valle Dell'Idro to your Saves list
Hotel Valle Dell'Idro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Grasso 4, 73088 Otranto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Otranto
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a nice little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Valle dell' Idro for 3 nights in September .
We were very happy with the room: it was not very big but very nice and light and very clean.
The staff were all very nice and courteous.
It was about a ten minute walk into the centre of Otranto and you could always take the Ape taxi if you did not feel like walking.
The breakfast was extremely nice and we enjoyed breakfasting on the terrace.
All in all a very nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    89
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
21
160
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just spent 4 very relaxing days here and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very very accommodating and helpful. Gave lots of info about Otranto and surrounding area. The breakfast every morning went till 11am and was great. (we slept in as we stayed up drinking wine on the roof top terrace till 3am some nights!!)

There are a few things that could have been done to enhanced our stay. The mini bar was very poorly stocked. No diet cola, 1 beer, no wine, and no snacks, they could have made a few extra bucks by filling it up and I would have been more satisfied. The Jacuzzi needs some help! It was kept at 33C and should be around 38C so this was not the best experience. The second pump did not work so only one side of the jets were going, and worst of all it had not been cleaned in a very long time! My shorts smelt so bad after getting out they stunk up our room and I had to double bag them in our luggage. We paid for a double chic plus room to get free use of the tub and did not got back in because of this. This needs some attention.

Other than that everything was perfect they really aim to please there guests and are always trying to improve I really like this trait in a business! I will definitely stay again when I return to Italy from Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Oilworker,
first of all thank You for You kind review!
We are sorry for the Jacuzzi..we had serious problems and everything is fixed now...and about the smell..we really don't know...probably someone caused it...we are sorry!!
Regarding the minibar...we regret if you did not enjoyed the minibar. Having a a mini bar poorly stocked is a decision taken because the most part of people just drink water causing at the end of the season often causing losses.. If You will return here we'll be happy to stock differently Your minibar :-)
See You soon!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puglia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and i stayed at the Hotel Dell'Idro or two nights.The rooms are very pretty, clean and comfortable. The terraces are fantastic, with views looking over to the sea. The breakfast is very good, with a a big selection to choose from. We booked an economy double room for a good price. The room was small but we were on the top floor with views of the sea from our window. The only downside is the prices here can be a little expensive, considering it is not by the sea. The location is good if you have a car, but its only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Otranto and the hotel provides secure parking 5 minutes from the hotel. You do have to pay for the Jacuzzi, which is not kept at a warm temperature so it is not very hot so this was a little disappointing. Overall this is a beautiful, clean and spacious hotel. The staff are very helpful and we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Loren_881,
first of all let me thank You for Your review....We are sorry about the hot-tube but we had a serious problem with the heating element, that's why the water was not very warm. We actually are waiting for a new one, so in few days we will able to have again our fantastic jacuzzi :-)
Thank You from all the staff!
Regards!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A gorgeous hotel about 5 minute walk away from the old town.
Great staff, service, spacious rooms, great breakfast, free wifi....
A lovely sun terrace split across two levels with a jacuzzi and very comfy sun loungers.
Can't fault in any way, and would definitely recommend to all.
Parking was about a 5 minute walk away, but not really an issue as they will drive you up there if your legs can't face the walk!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Turn81,
thank You so much for Your kind review!
Will You come again to stay at relais Valle dell'idro?? We wait for You!
See You soon!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights and did appreciated the helpfulness of the staff, service, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. The best thing about the hotel - is the great breakfast on the prettiest terrace, it makes your day.
The decor of the rooms is near to perfection, chic, this is how a seaside dream hotel should look! Actually the service and the comfort make it approach to a 5 -star hotel level. Otranto is a very nice city, but the beaches in the city itself, although nice, are pretty small. The famous Alimini beach is 7 km. away from the city. It is a very nice beach, but even in july was overcrouded.
As for the location of the hotel is not very convinient, most of the hotels in Otranto are much better situated. Considering their location they'd better provide a shuttle service to the beach. Beach towels are not free, they are cheap, but to make you pay for the beach towels is a nonsense for a seaside hotel! Especially considering their room rates. We booked with a discount, so the price was fare enough, but their official prices are ridiculous, considering it is not a sea view hotel, and away from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Iana 249,
first of all thank You for Your review from Russia!
We will consider with the property to provide in the future a shuttle service to the beach...You know, it isn't so easy to organize everything especially when there is a owner so meticulous as ours. We would like to offer the best !
Thank You again for Your advices, we will do our best to get better!
If You'll come to Puglia...come to visit us!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed a week at the Hotel Valle Dell'Idro. The rooms are very nice, chic, comfortable, and clean. The solarium is on the two top floors which gives ample space to relax, and the terrace on the ground floor is equally very comfortable to relax after a day at the beach or touring the region.

The highlight of the hotel is certainly the service and wonderful staff who will make you feel welcome and extremely well looked after.

The only downside may be all the different home-made cakes cooked by Elena everyday for breakfast because we put on some weight by the end of our stay ;-))) !! We just had a fantastic time there, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear aurelch,
thank you very much for your review!
Elena asked how many kilos did You take! :-)
Come to visit us again!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

we spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. only a 10 minute walk into Otranto. Although the hotel does look over onto a road - which was a shame. The rooms were lovely and clean - although we were on the ground floor and i would ask for a room on a higher floor. There is a free car park (again a 10 minute walk from the hotel). Otranto old town is very pretty. We managed to go to the beach which was a 15 minute drive away. I would recommend the further beach - costs about €15 for 2 beds and umbrella). The beaches in Gallipoli were nicer though. We visited the sister hotel in Gallipoli and that looked lovely and would want to stay there.
This hotel is good value, but a bit basic. The roof terrace is nice BUT you do have to pay to use the jacuzzi. Breakfast was good and they have water available all day long. Reception staff were very helpful and recommended 2 good restaurants. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Camilla88,
thank you for your kind feedback!!
We will see you again in Salento???!! We hope to!
Regards!
Lucilla Cuman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valle Dell'Idro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle Dell'Idro

Address: Via Giovanni Grasso 4, 73088 Otranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle Dell'Idro 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Valle dell’Idro è situato su un lieve altopiano nel cuore della città di Otranto, a pochi passi dalle bellezze turistiche e architettoniche dell’estremo oriente salentino e a pochi passi dal bellissimo Mare Adriatico.La sua particolare posizione sopraelevata, permette di godere di una splendida vista panoramica di tutta Otranto del mare e del suo centro storico dalla splendida terrazza attrezzata.Il Relais Valle dell’Idro è un hotel totalmente ristrutturato ed arredato con gusto ed amore per il dettaglio dalle migliori aziende italiane ed internazionali. La particolarità dell’Hotel che lo rende unico è la luce che lo pervade, una luce bianca che impreziosisce ogni cosa.Le camere sono sobrie ed eleganti in stile minimal chic, complete di ogni confort e molto funzionali e sono presenti in due tipologie, Standard e DeLuxe. Letti con testata in midollino e pelle, porte in cristallo e lino ricamato, tende particolareggiate da coralli stilizzati che richiamano il logo dell’hotel, e ancora lampade in pergamena e intagliate in legno decapato.L’Hotel dispone di sala colazioni interna ed esterna, di terrazzo panoramico per colazioni e aperitivi e di un giardino con divanetti e chaise longues per godere del caldo sole del Salento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Valle Dell'Idro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valle Dell'Idro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.