We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Of A Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Papaleo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Papaleo to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Rondachi 1, 73028 Otranto, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Otranto
south
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived by train on a drizzly afternoon in Otranto without reservations, managed to find our way into the old walled part of the city, on foot, pulling our suitcases behind. The town seemed deserted, but we then realized that it was "siesta time". Afger stumbling around for about an hour, we happened across Hotel Palazzo Palaleo. How lucky we were! What a find! We had indended to stay only a night or two, stayed 5 and only left because they were closing for the season. Wonderful/helpful english speaking staff. Way over the top breakfasts. Perfectly located.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    64
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
194
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A wonderful hotel in the old centre of the town, with views to the harbour. Most helpful staff who spoke good English. We had some difficulty finding the hotel, and couldn’t follow the directions Patricia was giving us on the phone. We told them where we were and they sent a small runabout taxi to lead us into the correct street. They then collected our substantial luggage and parked our vehicle in a parking lot they use for guests. No parking was available on the streets outside the old town because of a religious festival happening. Dinner was served on a terrace with great views to the harbour, and breakfast which was adequate rather than extraordinary, was also served outside with views across rooftops to the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If this is the best hotel in otranto, I'd avoid the others. Perhaps the renovation of the well located old palazzo just a little much, as our room was badly designed w a stairway to a low ceilingened sitting area and the only window on that level. Staff was helpful, though. At season's end, the old town was dead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall U.K.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Third time I have stayed here
Welcome and comfort better than being at home
Quality with passion best staff I have ever met!
Ticks all my boxes
I would love to stay again soon
Marco what a star!
Really don't want to tell anyone about the area and particularly this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the charming Palazzo Papaleo. The hotel is situated in beautiful Otranto where you have " peace and quiet" or "hustle and bustle". There are many shops and restaurants close to the hotel. The streets becoming very busy early morning into the quiet afternoon then all comes to life again early evening. There are some wonderful beaches close by.... Our favourite about a 20 minute walk away.
The hotel and staff are most welcoming and they will go out of their way to help you. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, with the wonderful view of Otranto also your evening meal with the lights of Otranto sparkling on the sea, what a pleasure .... Thank you Marco, Patrizia,and all the staff for another memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel in Otranto in a superb location. Staff super friendly and helpful. We promise to return! We didnt eat in the hotel for dinner but the food looking lovely but we did have breakfast which was very nice indeed. The fact we could just wake up put on her swimming costumes and our flip flops and step outside the door for a morning swim was just heavenly

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the palazzo papaleo and it was as terrific as the first perhaps even better. First of all the staff from the reception team to the chambermaids to the waitstaff are great. They are friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to do anything you ask of them. The rooms are fine, nice bathrooms and all spotless. The town was exceptionally busy as it was the town feast as well as vacation time but sitting on the roof deck of the hotel in the heart of all the action was lovely. My husband and I enjoyed dinner there twice and each time was superb. We cannot say enough about this hotel and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Papaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Papaleo

Address: Via Rondachi 1, 73028 Otranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#5 Family Hotel in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palazzo Papaleo 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, unique 5 stars luxury Hotel in Otranto; between the enchantment of the frescoed ceilings and the pristine beauty of the sea of Otranto, you will enjoy excellent services and an exclusive relax. Equipped with modern facilities and panoramic terraces on three floors with a 360 ° view over the city, Hotel Palazzo Papaleo offers his amazing roof garden with Jacuzzi, sunbathing and reading area. Breakfast is served in the lounge room on the first floor, in your bedroom or on the roof garden; the bar is in service on the main floor of the palace or on the terrace on the top floor, to enjoy an aperitif or a drink watching the sunset.Hotel Palazzo Papaleo,unico albergo 5 stelle di lusso di Otranto;tra l'incanto dei soffitti affrescati e l'incontaminata bellezza del mare di Otranto godrete di eccellenti servizi e di un esclusivo relax.Dotato di moderni confort e di terrazze panoramiche su tre piani con vista a 360° sulla città,l'Hotel Palazzo Papaleo offre lo spettacolare roof garden con vasca idromassaggio Jacuzzi,solarium e angolo lettura.La prima colazione viene servita nel salone al primo piano,in camera o nel roof garden;il bar è in servizio al piano nobile del palazzo o sulla terrazza dell'ultimo piano,per un aperitivo o un drink da consumare ammirando il tramonto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Papaleo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Palazzo Papaleo
Palazzo Papaleo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Papaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.