We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back! Perfection in Puglia.... highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Masseria Bandino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Masseria Bandino to your Saves list
Hotel Masseria Bandino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S.P. 358 Otranto-Uggiano, 73028 Otranto, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Otranto
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We'll be back! Perfection in Puglia.... highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This masseria has it all.
we stayed in one of the rooms in the building opposite the reception. The room was big, clean, nicely decorated in natural colours. The beds are firm and comfortable. The bathroom has a large shower with ample hot water. Just the way it should be. The swimming pool is beautiful large and clean, the pool area has many comfortable sun beds, and shade from big olive trees as well as parasols. There is a beautiful courtyard in between the old farm building and the newly built hotel rooms, which is a great place for lounging in the evening with a drink from the bar. The restaurant serves great food. The dishes are prepared with local ingredients which are in season, which means those ingredients are at their best. Superb food, many dishes are typical for the area. The chef makes a tour around the tables every now and then, to gather feedback. Breakfast is plentiful and there is a choice of sweet cakes, fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats, eggs and much more. The staff are very friendly and professional. The owner/manager is there when meals are served and keeps an eye on things. He is always interested in guests' feedback.
The whole masseria is well layed out, everythins is where you expect fo find it. The place has been desinged and built with a vision. It is well managed and maintained, with great attention to detail. Hard as I tried to find things that need improvement, I couldn't think of any.
On this trip to Italy, we stayed at 10 different accomodations. This was the best by far! we only stayed for 3 nights, so next time we have to spend a week here.

If you stay here, make sure you book half board. Dinner is fab.

If you travel with kids: there is no kids pool, but there is a beautiful playground.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    84
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
126
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We are back again! Absolutely adore this hotel. It's peaceful, friendly, food is wonderful. Totally relaxing, even with 2, sometimes challenging sons aged 2 and 5. Our boys love it. It's a little home from home. We have stayed several times now. When travelling with small children, of you ask the kitchen the evening before, they will prepare simple dishes for your children like 'pasta with tomato sauce'. Little playground for kids. Everything super clean. If you need a 24 hour doctor, the surgery is literally a 3 minute drive to the end of the road!! All these things are so important as a parent!!!!! We go to the beach every day 'lido due mori'. Also perfect for children. But any of the 'alimini' beaches are shallow and safe. See you next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

A really good place, in the quite countryside, surrounded by nature, but just a fe minutes away from the shops and restaurants of Otranto and the fantastic beaches of Salento. Very clean rooms, not too small, very nice pool and good levels of courtesy by the staff. The restaurant in the masseria is run by a very charismatic chef, And managed by the owner: both put in it a lot of passion for the great quality of Salento's food, fish and wines. Good value for money in the masseria, the restaurant may be slightly overpriced but the quality is excellent and justifies the cost, in particar if compared with the price of restaurants in Otranto. I would suggest surely to a friend and do not exclude another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We have been at Masseria Bandino before and we decided to come back this summer. The rooms have been refurbished and I really like the fact that the owners do take care of the maintenance of the hotel during the winter season. I do not understand the 3-4 bad reviews on this site. I suppose some people like to pay for a 3 stars but expect a 5 stars hotel. I never had a problem of customer service here and the food is fantastic. Actually this season the hotel has a new head chef who has a michelin star, infact lots of people from outside the hotel come to eat here. The food is more than amazing and we decided to eat in the hotel every night. The beaches at Alimini are fantastic and the owners and the guy at reception are very good to suggest what to do and where to go or to organize anything for you. We will be back again for sure. We love it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We have been here quite a few times now... And will be back. Our stay this time was 3 weeks. We have two you g children aged 2 and 5 and they were well catered for. Staff friendly and happy, kind to our children. The food is amazing. Retired Michelin star chef!!! He has retired from the 'rat race' to take it easier here in the restaurant of the masseria. Breakfast has big selection. We stayed in a room closest to the restaurant. Double bed, sofa bed for 5 year old and cot bed for 2 year old. We are at the beach all day, so use room only for sleeping! Our 2 year old sometimes asked to go to bed during dinner, so we were able to put him to bed totally safe with the baby monitor. Literally 10 metres from door to our table in the courtyard! Next year, we will take a family room as youngest will be in a proper bed. Lovely pool here too, but head to fab local beaches if you can! Relaxing atmosphere. Don't expect bells and whistles! This is rural chic! It's cosy, comfortable, very clean, totally refurbished and relaxing, friendly vibe. Real italy. Home from home. We come every year, and the owners repaint, refurb every winter. They are proud of their establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at Bandino before and decide to come back again because our first stay was wonderful.
This time was wonderful again, we love the place, Otranto and the sea at Alimini (which is 10 minutes in the car). The breakfast and dinner are amazing and we mostly had dinner in the hotel. The hotel has 3 stars but to me it should have 4 (the service is top).
We travelled with our two young children and the place is perfect for families too. The owners are really good with guests and they catered for our children needs perfectly. We felt at home. We are thinking to come back in the summer of 2011. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy a proper holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Sadly we stayed here for only one night/day between booked apartments. This is such a lovely welcoming place. The staff were great, from the reception through to the restaurant. There was a language difficulty with understanding the menu that was overcome with charm and humour and the food was absolutely superb - A la Carte, Antipasta is fantastic (and extensive!). Spacious, comfortable, well equipped and quiet room with terrace. Breakfast among the best we have had in Italy. The pool is very attractive and in lovely surroundings. We really do hope to go back sometime. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Masseria Bandino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Masseria Bandino

Address: S.P. 358 Otranto-Uggiano, 73028 Otranto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Otranto
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Otranto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Masseria Bandino 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Masseria Bandino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Bandino Hotel
Masseria Bandino Otranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Masseria Bandino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.