We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“US (as in USA) cyclists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria Montelauro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Masseria Montelauro to your Saves list
Masseria Montelauro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uggiano Localita Montelauro, 73028 Otranto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Otranto
aberdeen, scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“US (as in USA) cyclists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We became familiar with Otranto in our attempts to find this place, a converted monestary about 2 ks from the town. We had been scheduled to have a room opening on to the courtyard but these had all been taken by a rather loud crowd of ancient cyclists, individually excellent but collectively -----.( Aye tae see oorsels as others see us) Our room was upstairs from reception and functional. The courtyard was great for relaxing and people watching. Food was good and reasonably priced (3 btls of wine and dinner for 2 =74 euro)just as well since we didnt fancy driving into a quiet town - this being the end of the season with many restaurants closed. We drove around the coast of the "Heel" all the way to Gallipoli and back, the first part of which would rival the Amalfi coastline tho not perhaps the colourful towns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Imagine a serene country retreat, with lovely food, a beautiful pool and gentle breezes, you have found it here. The decor is stark white with rustic accents.
The amenities are a little sparse, ie. no drinking glasses in the room, intermittent wifi and no real bar, but a great place for r and r. Please note there are many cats around the Masseria so if that is a problem for you find another place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had our annual holiday here in July. After a very fraught journey from Bari we arrived extremely frazzled on a very hot afternoon. We found Montelauro very hard to find (a combination of satnav an my directions not good!) Maybe a hotel from both approaches to the hotel instead of the one from Otranto would assist. However, our welcome was very warm and friendly and our room excellent. We were on the first floor and were somewhat relieved as we would not have enjoyed the ground floor rooms where people are constantly coming past your door and as the door is the only light coming into the room they have to remain open.

Like previous reviewers, we enjoyed the grounds and the donkey/pony and dogs and cats. Not for everyone though.

The only gripe we had was the food! We were so disappointed on our first night - just a watery stew on offer! We decided to take a trip into Otranto on subsequent nights but did eat two more meals at the hotel which again were extremely disappointing - possibly the food of the regions not to our taste?

We would certainly go back, the staff were particularly helpful and the pool are particularly was a very high standard. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eisenstadt, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed for 4 nights in september. dinner and breakfast!! was great, nice rooms, excellent pool, nice staff - a very stylishly decorated and relaxing masseria. our stay was perfect! Thanks - love to come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just loved this place! The setting was charming - I love walking around the grounds looking at all the fruit trees and flowers. I also enjoyed hearing the donkeys "call" for their dinner, fortunately they were quiet at breakfast... My room was spacious and clean, with unfussy decor. It was bright and airy, with a pretty view of the grounds. The bed was big and comfortable. I really like the bathroom light fixtures, they cast a pretty pattern on the walls. The breakfasts were very good, but the group dinner they prepared for us was a feast for the eyes and palate!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights at this masseria. We had such a lovely time - the masseria was beautiful, the pool was so relaxing, and everyone we met was very friendly. Other than the air-con not working at first, our rooms were perfect and very pretty. Breakfast was nice, and dinner was very good (we ordered way too much and they are massive portion sizes) but the food itself was really good quality. We loved our stay at this masseria, and will hopefully be returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Masseria Montelauro in July 2013. It's a beautiful place in a very nice and relaxing setting. The pool is very pretty and the garden around too. We had a junior suite which was very spacious but with a very small bathroom and a tiny shower that leaked every time we took a shower and the water would come inside the room. The breakfast was very poor and the dinner was nothing special with limited choice. The hotel clearly had a major lack in service and was missing this extra small but important thing: warmth and generosity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masseria Montelauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Montelauro

Address: Uggiano Localita Montelauro, 73028 Otranto, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Otranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Otranto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Otranto
#17 Family Hotel in Otranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Montelauro 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Masseria Montelauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Montelauro Otranto
Masseria Montelauro Hotel Otranto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria Montelauro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.