We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Peccato di Vino

Ristorante Peccato di Vino
Via Rondachi, 7/9 | Centro Storico, 73028 Otranto, Italy
0836801488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Otranto
Price range: $25 - $127
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Skanor, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A big disappointment. Really bad food. We were four people. Had different dishes. All had the same experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25Symo, Proprietario at Ristorante Peccato di Vino, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Sorry, but as a review, yours looks too generalyzed. What have you eaten? There's no reference to this, and we don't have any memory about a group of four people who have eaten in our place and went away not satisfyed.
It would've been easy, as we were in low season and there are not many people, to remember this event.
Anyway, if it is true, we apologyze if we didn't satisfy your tastes, we hope in another chance!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    216
    55
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant serves excellent modern Italian food. The style is moderately inventive, precise and with a focus on seafood. The wines are excellent with a strong array of local offerings. The owner is enthusiastic and informative. We enjoyed a mixed antipasto of the house which would be quite adequte on its own as a light lunch. Spigola and orata were both very fresh and accurately prepared. Service is friendly and efficient. The location is right at the back of the cathedral down a narrow street so there is no view. Prices are reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Everything's perfect to enjoy one of the best restaurant in Otranto: from the service to the food, everything is excellent...don't miss it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Truly Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

It is by far the best restaurant in Otranto hence reservations are a must. Although busy, clients are never rushed and each table received an impeccable and attentive service. The menu is varied and superbly prepared and the wine list is researched and valuable. The owner is a lovely person who will be only too pleased to make recommendations on food and wine choices. Located right on the side of the Cathedral a stroll away from the seafront.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darien ct.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good choice for an elegant meal away from the crowds but by the castle wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stooped by here yesterday while Otranto was unbearably crowded and muggy.
I had quickly looked up recommendations on trip advisor and this was rated number 1 and we really didn't feel like reading through reviews so we went straight there and they gave us a reservation for lunch.
I had a good feeling about the place right a away,the owner came out,showed us where we would be sitting,there was a cool breeze,simple linen tablecloths,refreshing to be one street away from the maddening crowds but in total peace.
The food was wonderful.one orechiette with sausage,the other ,spagettoni with lava puree and lemon with seafood( very good,my favorite of the 4 dishes we tried ).
We each had a pasta primo mentioned above and then as secondi the octopus and the swordfish,everything was wonderful,possibly we could have split either the starter or the entree as the portions were generous and it was only lunch( we ended up skipping dinner!)...the lemon sorbet to was one of the best I have tasted.
Great service and knowledgable about wines,very pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Peccato di Vino also viewed

Otranto, Province of Lecce
 
Otranto, Province of Lecce
Otranto, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Ristorante Peccato di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Peccato di Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.