We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni to your Saves list
Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni
Via Frodolfo, 3, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A perfect experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I spent a few days here with friends last week. Baita Fiorita is a beautiful small, hotel and restaurant run by the family of the three time Olympic gold medalist Italian skier Deborah Compagnoni. It's situated at the base of a mountain in a picturesque Alpine setting with all the ski attractions. It's beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable and cozy. It has a small spa with steam room, sauna, hot tub, and a masseuse. The restaurant serves superb regional specialties including a polenta like Ive never experienced before. I ate there three nights and any one of the dishes I had could easily have justified the trip. I very highly recommend Baita Fiorita and will stay there again whenever I can.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
88
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed at the beginning of the summer season for six nights and could not fault the room with balcony and mountain views. The meals by the 'mother' and 'son' could not be faulted. The breakfasts set you up nicely for the day and after a day's walking the dinners were spot on (5 or 6 courses if I remember correctly) with seconds available too sometimes! The waiting staff were friendly and brought the courses in a timely manner. Included in the deal were two daily walks escorted by a guide. These were fantastic especially with the 'father' Giorgio.
The only down side I can mention is not to do with the hotel but the town. As you drive into Santa Caterina after seeing the concrete monstrocity of the new ski lift/car park being built you wonder what you're up for, but the hotel is a welcome site by the river. Not a lot of interest in town but maybe its different in winter, and after all you're here to get out into the mountains!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

we were met at the road side by all the staff. we had fabulous rooms. Gourmet meals and great wine. Restaurant staff particularly accomodating. When we left the entire staff came out to say goodbye.Five star quality in no uncertain terms and it was the cheapest hotel on our trip with the best quality therefore equating to the best value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spent two nights at this family run hotel - comfortable rooms, good food and above all, extremely friendly and attentive management- they not only came out to to the street when we arrived, they also did so when we left! Staff were very professional and helpful and most spoke good English, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We enjoyed our overnight stop at this hotel. The room was excellent with a balcony overlooking the river. The staff were especially friendly and the food excellent. Our only complaint was that the dinner courses arrived too fast - no sooner had we finished one course the next was in front of us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed three nights in this excellent hotel. It was a true delight. The food is excellent with a 5 course dinner composed of local specialties. The service is impeccable, a reason for this is that the hotel is family run and you can see this in the way they threat their guests : nothing is too much asked for. (e.g. due to bad weather in the mountains we had to change the reservations and this was no problem). The rooms are nicely decorated and there is a sense for detail (sweets on the bed,...).
A big plus for the hotel is that Jacopo Compagnoni (the son of the owners) is a mountain guide with a great knowledge of the beautiful Ortles-Cevedale mountainrange. We made some alpine trips that were memorable and Jacopo was the perfect guide : funny, english speaking, motivating in the more difficult passages (and we had them ...) and he knows all the routes like the back of his pocket.
We will certainly go back. Tom and Ingrid

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This summer we made a detour to stay in this hotel for a second time. Last year was our first, and is was a very pleasent surprise. Excellent food, veryhelpfull, friendly owners and staff, and the rooms are very plesant (much better beds than at home!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni

Address: Via Frodolfo, 3, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Santa Caterina Valfurva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Santa Caterina Valfurva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition, treats and hidden treasuresIn the picturesque village of S. Caterina Valfurva, in the middle of Stelvio National Park, the popular ski-champion Deborah Compagnoni and her family is waiting for you at the Romantik Hotel Baita Fiorita. In winter you can enjoy cross-country and down-hill skiing and in summer hiking in the foothills of the prettiest mountains in the Ortler Alps. The excellent cuisine, the warm service of the Compagnoni family and a great wellness centre ensure an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baita Fiorita di Deborah Compagnoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.