We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Matteo

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Matteo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Matteo
Via Santa Caterina 15, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The most comfortable hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

San Matteo is an absolutely brilliant hotel. It is not 5* but it is spotlessly clean and the owners and there family make you really welcome. You are able to relax in the large lounge and treat the hotel as your home. This is our second year at the hotel and is an excellent base for the slopes which are only a few minutes walk away, ensure you get the owners to book any trips or entrance to the local spa as they get discounts. We stayed on a half board basis, the food is excellent and quite varied, but all freshly prepared. We did decide to dine out on one evening only to find at the end of our stay the cost of the missed meal deducted from our bill, something I certainly would not have expected or felt was required. Do not expect the ritz just a warm welcome, excellent food and a very homely feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Returned after 6 years for Christmas this year, a lovely great value hotel with superb hosts who really try to ensure you have a excellent holiday.
Stayed half board with a special deal on a lift pass which made a good deal even better, spotlessly clean and with top class food we can not recommend this Hotel more highly.
Good location to ski lifts, ice rink opposite the hotel and the best heated boot locker we have every come across in any ski Hotel.
Lidia, Nicola and daughters Veronica and Cecillia all ensure you have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very lovely hotel with a good location in Santa Caterina, Valfurva. The couple who runs the hotel is very friendly and they advised us on hiking routes. Rooms were tidy and spacious with a nice view.

We had a half board deal, which meant we had a chance to enjoy lovely dinners every evening of our stay. Starters and main courses were tasty and on top of all delicious salad buffet. Selection of desserts were excellent.

Recommend this place very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The San Matteo is centrally located and just a very short walk to the ski lift or take the ski bus outside the hotel to the gondola on the outskirts of the village. The hospitality of Lidia and Nicola is second to none. The food in the restaurant is of a high standard and offers plenty of choice - the cheese board is a great temptation as is the choice of ice cream, in addition to a selection of desserts. Rooms and bathrooms are exceptionally clean. I am a returner guest and would not recommend if I was not certain of the consistency of standards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Matteo

Address: Via Santa Caterina 15, 23030 Santa Caterina Valfurva, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Santa Caterina Valfurva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Caterina Valfurva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Matteo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Matteo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.