We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, fun & foodie-fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pure Magic Achill to your Saves list
Pure Magic Achill
Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful, friendly, fun & foodie-fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

You can expect an amazing welcome from Francois, Denise and the team at Pure Magic... We just spent 2 nights with a large group and the hospitality was second to none. The food and drink was of immense quality, as were the facilities, activities and local knowledge. Whether you're looking for culture, walking, kite surfing or something else, this is a fantastic place to get away from it all; just sitting in front of the open fire and looking out at the view was heaven.

Achill is a very beautiful place and these guys make it Pure Magic :) I will def be back; this time on a kite ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We are very pleased to hear such a good review from you. Next time we will make sure that we go on a little Kitesurfing adventure with you. See you soon and thank you for your post..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The fellow who met bus at the door was lovely and very welcoming. We said we were just after a cup of coffee and he made us some lovely coffees to get us around the rest of the island on a bleak day. We will keep this place in mind should we need accommodation here as the atmosphere is lovely.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your post, we are inviting you to come down again and stay with us sometime..

Thank you,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a real gem. We did not stay here but we ate here on our first night. It's hard to believe up a dark narrow road that such a fantastic meal awaits.
We were greated by a friendly lady who sat us down and made is feel welcome. Lovely munu mostly Italian and a specials board. Good beer and wines.
Pizza is to die for. Really cosy setting and ambience is lovely.
Great night out!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Glad to read that you enjoyed your time at puremagic, hope to see you again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I just got back from a two night stay in Pure Magic. It was great; clean rooms, delicious food, fun activities and really, really great staff. Its a must if you're anywhere in the area. I went for a kite surfing lesson which I really enjoyed, before we borrowed two bikes and cycled out to the edge of the island where you get spectacular views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to share with you our passion for kitesurfing and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will get to see you again..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My mistake was telling the truth.
When my wife and I were planning to cycle the 'Greenway' she insisted on staying somewhere really good. Our first choice was the 4* hotel in Mullaranny, but they were (un)fortunately fully booked. I then went on a solo run and booked Pure Magic, based on reviews in the Irish Times and TA. When my wife enquired about our accommodation for the weekend, I truthfully told her that I had booked a 'surfer's hostel on Achill'. She is a good sport, but It was with some trepidation that we arrived tired and hungry at 8:30 on a Friday night.I started unloading the bikes and she checked us into the Australia room. Five minutes later she was hooked - the welcome we received from the staff was brilliant. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable with no TV (a big plus!!). The relaxed vibe in the whole place is infectious, with a few places where you can really chill out.
The food in the restaurant is absolutely top notch - beautifully prepared using local ingredients, without being over cheffed and pretentious. A €3.50 daily corkage fee is a brilliant idea that really works. I brought along a few choice bottles and this really added to the experience.
We are already planning to bring a group over next summer for walking and cycling.
A real find, and well done to the team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you very much! It will be a great pleasure to welcome you and group..

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stay away. This is a money making business and nothing else, they seem to have contempt for other humans, just want your money, eurgh awful. Rooms contain beds nothing else, no hair dryer, kettle, bath, etc

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, General Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Despite of being extremely disappointed, the whole puremagic team is also very surprised to receive such a bad review about us.
We would have really much appreciated you to come to us and express your disappointment and surely, we would have found a way to make you feel better.
It has been several years now that we're sharing our hospitality and our passions with people and I won't deny that it has been successful.
I am very sorry that you did not feel the spirit and atmosphere of our place..
Best regards,
Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We only stayed one night which was not long enough. The atmosphere at the place was very happy and relaxed. Our room was very small but they had made the best use of space,making the room an Eastern Top of the World room, with a small ladder to climb onto the bed. The continental breakfast was very substancial and I only wished we could have stayed longer to have joined in the music and try all the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois C, Manager at Pure Magic Achill, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
See you another time and thank you for your review..

Best regards,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Magic Achill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.