We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay - won't be back!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Magic Achill

Save Saved
You added Pure Magic Achill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pure Magic Achill
Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dugort B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay - won't be back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only stay here if you are planning on staying out drinking most of the night and are not concerned about sleep. The walls are paper thin so expect to be woken up everytime someone returns from a night out or uses the communal bathroom in the hallway.
After looking at the lovely photos of bedrooms on the internet I had great expectations but really it is just an overpriced hostel.
The website suggested a full range of breakfast options would be available but on the bank holiday weekend there was only full Irish. So much for the pancakes and fresh fruit that was promised!! Couldn't wait to get out of here..thankfully we only booked one night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My second long weekend spent at Pure Magic lodge and again a warm and good energy vibe when you enter. I'm not a water-baby but I spent my days hiking or reading
at the lodge. There's a very cool deserted village 10mins walk away which offers stunning views of the Atlantic ocean and plenty of friendly sheep to keep you
company along the trail. The social at the lodge was awesome, there was no need to go anywhere else! But there are other restaurants, pubs and a club to check out
if you feel the need. The bedrooms and en suites are clean and comfy with hot showers to feel cleansed. I love the close up view of the Slievemore mountain where overhangs
a constant cloud so I'm waiting on the day I can actually see the highest point! Staff are super friendly and musically talented (it seems) and the food is moreish...
2 dishes come to mind, french onion soup and strawberry cheesecake...Yum!! Breakfast is a winner in a beautifully tasteful room that makes You want to get out in
the open air with the stunning views on offer. My only advice bring warm clothing. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Brought a group of 25 staff to Pure Magic Achill for a two night team build and I am delighted to say that it was a great success. From the moment we arrived to when we said our goodbyes we had the best of service, food and atmosphere. All the staff are wonderful and helpful, our activities (surfing, SUPing, hiking, fishing & even rounders) were well organised, safe and enjoyable & the evening entertainment, local pub crawl, was a real hit!

I have no hesitation in recommending Pure Magic Achill for any sort of trip whether a romantic trip for two or a fun filled team build for 25 crazy staff!

Room Tip: Room 9 is lovely, and the new dorm is cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a great stay in Pure Magic for my friend's stag trip. The staff were very helpful, the food was top notch, especially the desserts and the breakfast. It is a fantastic guesthouse/hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Pure Magic Hostel on the Slievemore Road in Achill is located in a former hotel/guesthouse with some of the most spectacular views of the sea and the mountains on the Island. The building has had lots of previous owners who have tried their hand at the hospitality business, but none as successfully as the young French team led by Francois who are currently in charge and who seem to have the magic touch this very special place desperately needed. Its a hostel, but with the charm of a small hotel, and while everything is basic, it is spotlessly clean, comfortable and hugely hospitable. Breakfasts are remarkable, with the usual Irish fry up on offer, but better still, delicious crepes freshly made, with lashings of lemon and sugar, and a definite reason to return, plus proper freshly baked crusty bread, and the best coffee on the west coast of Ireland. There is a 'special' on the menu board for dinner each evening in the bar/restaurant and a wide selection of excellent pizza's which again are freshly made in house, with baked cheese cake, or brownies for dessert. You can bring your own wine for €3.50 or go with the house selection, and the atmosphere is warm and friendly with a big log fire in the grate and a piano in the corner if anyone wants to play. Its a hugely friendly laid back and utterly charming place to either stay for a few nights and explore the Island, or drop in for a meal. Perfect for a large family group or for friends thinking of a get together for a walking/cycling/surfing/kite surfing holiday, it has free wii fi for guests, and guitars that can be borrowed if a sing song starts. We stayed 3 nights during the October Bank Holiday weekend in a very clean warm comfortable room with a good en suite bathroom and lots of hot water, and we visited again during Easter for coffee once or twice and for a few evening meals, all of which were excellent value and delicious. As I said earlier it is a hostel, so don't expect a hotel, but it is by far one of the best places to stay in Achill, and I've stayed almost everywhere for the last 30 years or more so I feel I can honestly recommend this as something new to celebrate and a wonderful addition to Achill. Our family group ranged in age from mid 50's to 2, and it's become everybody's favourite place. I think that speaks for itself! It deserves to be a huge success. Well done to all the team there for starting something new and taking the risk during these difficult times, you are on to a winner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our third time to spend a few days at Pure Magic and as usual we had a combination of activities, great craic and relaxation! This is the type of place that you can take all of the family no matter what age. The staff will not only organise your activities and transport(you can hire bikes too)but it seems they all have the ability to either sing or play a musical instrument or both!
If water sports or hiking aren't your thing there is also horse riding close by where you can ride on the beach.
The rooms are spotless and very comfortable at a very good rate which includes a great breakfast to keep you going for the day. Highly recommended for groups of friends too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Great weekend in Achill, Ireland may have lost the rugby but Pure Magic weekend more than made up for it!
Food was fantastic, accommodation warm and spotless. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lots to do, great kiting and SUP fantastic alternative for less windy days! Super biking routes for those not into water sports! Will definitely be back, Go raibh mile maith agat!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pure Magic Achill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Magic Achill

Address: Slievemore Road, Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Dugort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dugort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique views from a traditional, charming and just refurbished stone building. 10 rooms en-suite, wine bar, pool area, restaurant. Just a Magical Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pure Magic Achill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pure Magic Achill Achill Island/Dugort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Magic Achill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.