We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Campsite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan & Camping Park

Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan & Camping Park
Golden Strand | Dugort, Achill Island, Ireland
876165840
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Camping. Beach setting. Pets allowed.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Campsite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a week in august. We had no car, no bike and were in a small 2 person tent. We really enjoyed ourselves. For getting there a bus stops outside the campsite which made it easy for us. Since we were in a small tent we had nowhere to put our food which was a worry until we were told that there is a big fridge for everyone to use in the kitchen area. We were right beside a beautiful heavenly beach and even though the weather was not perfect for the duration of our trip we were still able to enjoy a refreshing swim and lots of walks on the beach. The man who ran the camp site was a legend. He recommended a perfect spot for our tent, sheltered from the rain and wind. He was very helpful and twice gave us a lift to Achill Sound so that we could get food. There was a pub just down the road which served decent food at a reasonable prices. The free sowers were clean and functional with hot water and the other facilites were also clean. The campsite was very family friendly but it was quiet at night. I would recommend this campsite to everybody.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Camp site, feels like you have your own private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were a family of 4 mums with 8 kids who decided to take a caming trip with the kids and picked this site. The place is really great and I would have no hesitation recommending it. The showers are free, spotless clean with plenty of hot water. There is a little kitchen area, separate laundry and wash up area. The camp site is small and even though there are some mobile homes they are not intrusive. A new play ground for the kids near the sand dunes was a fantasic bonus. Joe the owner couldn't do enough for us. We had the sandy beach to ourselves each day and the kids had great fun. It felt safe and secure with no noise at night. There is a pub/restaurant across the road and when we were there they had family quiz nights. There is also a really great cafe about half a mile up the road which does great food and sells Avoca bits and pieces. Can't remember the name but try the cakes! If you want an holiday thats not going to break the bank, will give you lots of fresh air and feel like you have your own private beach then try this site. One of the final highlights of our trip was watching a family of dolphins playing in the water near Achill sound, who needs TV when we had our own show.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As friendly as they come”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I'd spent the previous night at Keel campsite, which was very, very busy, this lovely little campsite on the opposite side of the island was a welcome relief. I turned up without a reservation, which thankfully wasn't a problem. The welcome I received was exceptional, friendly and informative. I was allowed to park wherever i wanted and got the tour of the facilities, which included free showers and an excellent campers kitchen. The site is well maintained and clean. Just along the road is a good hotel with great views of the stunning beach. The beach is beautiful and is truly the attraction of the area. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

After spending 13 days at this site we can highly recommend it. If you are looking for a site which is child friendly...this is it. Close to the beach...this is it. Spacious pitches...this is it. Good, clean facilities...this is it. Friendly manager... this is it. Quiet at night...this is it. There is no playground at present but the kids have great fun on the sand-dunes located within the site boundary. Great Laundry facilities and free showers are also a bonus. We will definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing well run seaside campsite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We travel a lot in our motorhome around Ireland and abroad and have seldom been made more welcome than in Lavelle's Caravan park on Achill Island. Joe Lavelle who manages the site was constantly on hand to offer assistance when required and was meticulous about its appearance and couldn't have been more friendly during our six night stay. The showers may be a little tired but are spotless and I am told by Joe are due to be upgraded for next year. The site is quiet and ideal for families who want to be close to the beach. There is an excellent pub called Mastersons within walking distance offering great food at very reasonable prices. We will definitely return next year and once again enjoy the genuine relaxing atmosphere of Lavelle's Caravan Park and the beauty of Achill Island. Should anyone wish to hear more please contact me at psmlamb@gmail.com or 086 6014555 Peter & Barbara Lamb

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan & Camping Park also viewed

Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavelle's Golden Strand Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.