We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great family holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village to your Saves list
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis, Lixouri 28200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Lixouri
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we had a great family holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just got home from a weeks holiday at the Kefalonia Garden Village, and were pleasantly surprised! We had read both good and bad reviews so were arriving with an open mind.. We hadn't paid a massive price for the holiday, so didn't really expect the hotel to be a top 4 star hotel, which it isn't. but definitely good value for money...What it is is a 'new' hotel where the staff are friendly and open to suggestions, where within the week we were there we saw positive changes being made.

On a positive note the hotel is set in an absolutely stunning location, views are beautiful, hotel is clean, rooms basic but spacious with good air conditioning, food freshly cooked, yummy Greek salads and tzatziki , good mix of nationalities of guests, staff are friendly and helpful ( especially the bar maid and life guard in the activity/slide pool at the top of the steep hill!!- worth the walk each day), they speak good English, small beach is pretty and overlooked by the pool, hotel felt safe, kids were happy to wander around, go to games room etc, there wasn't any problem with sunbeds, there was always room ! towels can be hired for the pool and could be replaced whenever you wanted.

Yes there are some apartments which need renovating still, but these were at the top of the hotel so not really a problem, the soft drinks and coffee weren't very nice, quite watered down although this did start to get better over the week ( slides/activity/pool bar has bottled soft drinks and lovely iced coffee), the entertainment staff try really hard but the hotel could do with getting some outside entertainment in on certain nights, not really a problem though as we tended to play cards with the kids, they were quite funny really! Some families did take the all inclusive part a bit far, with plates of untouched food being left on tables and wasted, which was a bit annoying as sometimes the food did take a while to be replenished. Also a few guests could do with being reminded to have a wash and change their clothes for dinner! if you really like a cup of tea or coffee it may be worth taking your own !!

The hotel is in quite an isolated location so if we had stayed longer we would have definitely hired a car.

We walked along a few times to Lepeda beach which is pretty with a friendly family run cafe, and free WiFi
.
Taxis are relatively cheap, we got a ferry from Lixori to the capital which is a good day out, we even saw turtles swimming in the sea..

We found this to be a safe, friendly good value holiday on a beautiful island. yes there are some things that need improving, but there are more positive points. We had a fun family holiday, and wished we had stayed there for two weeks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Imagine how great is it waking up in the morning and the first thing you can see are the mountains surrounding the sea and you cannot do anything rather than looking at scenery and relax. This is what you will experience in this hotel. I nearly spent all my holidays in Kefalonia in the hotel since the service was exceptional together with the great variety and quality of the food it served! The rooms were very spacious and clean. It is definitely make it worth staying in this hotel in the future. If you would like to have an absolute relaxing holiday this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We left the hotel on Saturday 24th August 2013 at 3:30pm after 14 nights at this hotel. I was very worried after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Please do not take on board the bad reviews about this place. It's been a fantastic holiday and I feel the bad reviews were unfounded and unfair. We were two families of 4 and 3 with children aged 12. There was lots to do and the hotel location is ideal for sight seeing on the island. The animation team are excellent and good fun. My friend and I participated in stretching with Oscar every morning. The water exercises were fun as is the water polo, table tennis, tennis and relaxation. I have to say I plan to continue with the stretching now we are back in the UK after seeing and feeling the benefits. We had a great time with the evening entertainment; especially Greek dancing. Food choice is good but at one point during our holiday the bar ran out of Rum, Ouzo, Lemonade and Fanta orange. Tea made from local branded tea bags taste terrible. If you are a tea drinker please take some with you. The hotel do have PG tips; but it depends on the hotel supplier. However, you can always nip to Luxuri harbour and purchase some if necessary.

Becky the hotel rep is great and always on hand and she is fantastic a resolving problems quickly. All of the hotel staff are really lovely and friendly. I can not fault our time at Village Garden and I would love to go back. Our last holiday was a Riu Vistema in Puerto Rico and this holiday overall comes a close second best. You can hire towels for sun loungers from the hotel reception at a cost of 20 euro's. Water is not inclusive and has to be purchased for 1 euro.

All in all we have had a really great time here and I would definitely not worry about heading to this hotel for your holiday. The bad publicity is not representative of what this hotel is really like and my points about the tea bags and local drinks are not enough of a problem to spoil a holiday in any way.

Thanks to the hotel staff and animation team for making our holiday so wonderful; big applause! x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ignore the previous bad reviews, they worried us a great deal, and for nothing. The hotel has spectacular views, the staff are extremely kind, friendly and helpful. There was a wide range of good quality food, maybe not as amazing as if you went all inclusive in the Caribbean, but this isn't long haul. The pool is very good and the beach is a lovely cove. We were surprised how unsteep the walk was from reading the other reviews. If you have mobility problems or are pushing buggies then it will be different, but the brochure guidance explains clearly that this hotel is not for you if you have problems with hills etc. It's in a steep position - hence the brilliant panoramic views. The Animation team were really good and didn't involve you if you didn't want to be. They also weren't too loud by the pool. What's wrong with them being Polish? They spoke perfect English and involved all nationalities. I had a massage at the Spa and it was very good. The rooms were spacious and clean, as was the whole hotel. Lixouri itself is very pretty and we also caught the ferry to Argostoli which was a great day out. You can't expect everything to be on your doorstep - it was only ten minutes in a taxi! We got to know several of the staff who took the trouble to shake your hand and wave you off when you left. I can't really find anything to complain about. Myself, husband and two sons aged 15 and 12 had a really great holiday. So please don't worry reading the old reviews, you should have a really good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.
Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts
E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday here. Views lovely, rooms spacious and pleasant (free air condition worked well - shutters and thick curtains meant good night sleeps).
Hotel staff friendly and helpful.
Food very varied and good quality...although there were some problems with the soft drinks on occasions.
Other guests mainly British and Polish - English spoken by all. Entertainment team worked hard to make sure all included put not in a pushy way. Having said that although we don't normally partake of these type of activities they were enjoyable to watch and we soon decided to join in - the aqua gym and aqua splash especially good. ( music turned up slightly louder for this but volume never a problem). Kamil and his team helped make the holiday special.

Only downside was the fact that the peaceful location of the hotel meant travel outside of it was difficult (see other comments on this) Hotel bus into Lixouri only runs if a minimum of 10 people want it and this isn't often the case. Lixouri itself very small and not really worth visiting. Ferry across to capital very good and well worthwhile. If you want to see the island - hire a car they're very reasonable.
If you want a good safe peaceful pool holiday for the family with food, drink and some entertainment provided this is great!!
Much work has been done by all the staff and they deserve credit for there hard work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.
Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts
E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading previous reviews of this hotel, we were rather apprehensive about our 7 day holiday earlier this month. There were 2 of us; one adult and one teenager. When we arrived at the hotel, we were instantly very pleasantly surprised.

The views were even more stunning than we expected, and we don't feel photos can do them justice. Absolutely gorgeous views over the sea and towards the mountains, and we got up early enough to see the sunrise several times - breathtaking.

The staff were kind, welcoming and very accomodating; we found this throughout our stay, with everyone from reception staff to bar staff being pleasant and helpful.

A special meal had been prepared for us when we arrived, as it was outside of normal meal times. We found the food on that night and throughout the rest of the holiday nice and varied, and there was always something available for everyone.

Our room was much better than we had expected; one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in. It was clean (in keeping with the high level of cleanliness to be found throughout the hotel) and spacious, with air conditioning and a balcony with a spectacular view - although we had requested this we were still amazed by just how stunning it was.

We spent most of our time around the pool. Again, we had been apprehensve about the animation team, who we were expecting to be quite pushy and in your face. We actually found the entertainment to be quite enjoyable overall; both to watch and partake in. The music wasn't so loud that people couldn't read, relax, or in fact listen to their own music through headphones, but loud enough to keep those interested entertained.They catered for all ages, and after all this is a family hotel, so some entertainment is to be expected, and it certainly didn't bother us. If you're coming to a family hotel and expecting no entertainment then yes, this will perhaps bother you, but frankly its to be expected for the entertainment to cater for all ages! We were never pestered by the team, they merely offered for us to join in, and when we declined they left us in peace.

We visited the hotels private beach several times. I would like to say that the reviews of this, much like many of the reviews of the hotel on the whole, are unfair and somewhat misleading. Although a bit of a bank which older people may struggle with, it was nowhere near as steep as we had been expecting given previous reviews. In the height of the day, it may be a struggle in the heat, but certainly not as bad as we had been led to believe. The beach itself was fairly pleasant; sunloungers were readily available and the views were, again, stunning, despite some areas not looking too well upkept.

So, overall; a picturesque setting, a clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms, a lovely pool with not too much disturbance, and a pleasantly surprising private beach. We most certainly wish to return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to request a room which isn't too high up - some of the banks to access rooms were quite ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos M, E-Marketing Team at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

Thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just come back from very enjoyable 2 weeks stay with family and friends at this hotel. mostly good things to say but a few gripes that if the hotel management addressed would make this hotel very nice.
Good points:
We a had a great room, modern with the most fantastic views, kept clean daily by the hardworking maid. Plenty of fresh towels. We had a problem with bath/shower taps the handyman came and fixed first thing. Air conditioning worked brilliantly.

Food at dinner, lunch and breakfast was nice, I thought plenty of variety and freshly replenished even late in the sittings. Restaurant manager was good and waitresses and waiters continually working hard and friendly. Little inconsistent at breakfast sometimes bacon only served one morning out of the 7 days.

Animation team all Polish but all spoke execellent English, led by Kamil who was great fun and very good at his job, Oscar and Patrick very friendly and none of the animation team were pushy if you wanted to join in they were happy if not still very friendly. And not just interested in entertaining and showing off, for instance one evening not enough chairs on the very top terrace bar Kamil and Oscar went and collected 11 chairs for our party downstairs.


Bar staff all nice, mikilias in top bar making our pre dinner G&T's, Patrick, Sergio, George all friendly barman.

Now for the little problems that if the management addressed would make for a better holiday.

1/ Soft drinks sometimes they serve you Coca cola from a bottle then they run out and serve awful coke from a machine and the mixture at times made it undrinkable. As a result had to buy cans of drink from the shop.

2/ Ice or lack of it at time, they seem to run out of it very quickly. Not the fault of the bar staff but they need to invest in ice machines.

3/ Hotel states that snacks like pizza, burgers will be served but were not. Unlike restaurant food which were good snacks very poor.

4/ No snack bar or drinks available at the beach, it would be great if there was a least a small bar at beach, as hard to spend more than a hour there without coming back to hotel.

5/ Sometimes it was questioned if we ordered more than 4 drinks at the bar even though our party was 2 families totalling 11 people.

These are just suggestions to the hotel management, in all a very nice holiday, with nice staff. Would be nice to hear hotels comments on the negatives I have stated And would recommend as fairly good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village

Address: Agios Ioannis, Lixouri 28200, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build on a hill with view to Ionian Sea our 4-star hotel has one of the most beautiful views in the island. Next to the sea, recently built (2008) and close to famous beaches of Myrtos and Xi, we offer you a great place to relax and enjoy Greek sea, sun and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonia Garden Village Hotel Lixouri
Kefalonia Garden Village Lixouri
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village Cephalonia/Lixouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.