We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All things considered OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village to your Saves list
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis, Lixouri 28200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Lixouri
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All things considered OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived for a ten days stay on July 8 late in the evening and were welcomed with å late supper made up especially for us, even though the kitchen was closed for the evening. It gave a nice first impression of servicemindeness. This service minded attitude was by and large representative for the establishment's greek staff, with one exception, of the gratest importance for our daily comfort and relaxation. Unfortunately, the Polish animation team did not share the idea that the guest comes first and it seemed as if the hotel management had no control over these four exhibitionists, intoxicated by their "fiftheen minutes of fame". Normally, if the guests want to relax, the staff do not disturb. Not so here! Poolside we were exposed to constant nagging from the four Polish "local celebrities". You really had to concentrate to hear yourself think because of the neverending load music of very limited taste, repeating the same playlists every day. At other hotels the entertainment team invites those of the guests who wish to be entertained to come with them elsewhere, in order not to disturbe the majority of the guests. At this place the guests were taken hostages. You damned well had to listen and watch or else go to your room. After a couple of days I took initiative to hear with the other guest if they really enjoyed the music and the different gigs poolside. Most of them wanted to read, chat, or listen to their own mp3s, but found it impossible. So I took effort to inform the animation team that their "services" were really not so needed. Three times I asked them to turn down the volume a bit so that those who wanted to read or chat could do so. They ignored it. Then I went inside the poolbar and turned it down my self. when I came out again the guest poolside applauded. But not for long. The polish exhibitionist twisting her body poolside in her effort to lead seven guests in water-zumba while the remaining 200 guest patiently waited for it to end, turned the volume up again, and this time to its full limit. I then went to talk with the manager. Explaining to her that the majority of the guest had come there to relax. I told her that I found it unreasonable that those who were payed should have priority to those had payed. But it had no effect. The remains of our stay we just had to find places as far away friom the loadspeakers and "poolside scene" as possible. Apparently, this hotel has a long way to go as far as sensitivity to the guests' preferenced is conscerned. The hotel treated their guest with ignorance as if they were teenagers with teenagers needs. You pay to get a quiet relaxing time in the sun by the pool. You pay to be able to listen to music of your own preference. You pay to be able to read a book, or chat with the guest next to you, or play a game of cards with your children poolside. At this hotel we had to shout to each other just to hear what the other was saying. And all because of four polish exhibitionist with a blanco from the management to expose themselves constantly. Aside from this: The food was all over good, with great variation, but a little heavy diet in the warmth. Rooms were large and comfortable. Good space, nice bathrooms, good beds. Roomcleaning, however, wanted a bit. Small items, such as children's caps and nintendo-games dissappeared from the room. But otherwise the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff seemed reliable. The pool was large (30 meter), clean and very well maintained. The small private hotel beach downside the hill was nice and clean. Super for children scubadiving. Hotel location was OK, easy access to and from airport. On the negative side, the were sometimes a smell from the sewer outside our appartement door. But all together, this nice hotel which actually could be well worth a visit, is troubled by an animationteam from hell totally misunderstanding their own role and that of their paying guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just got back from staying at this hotel the write ups that I read before going seriously concerned me the reviews previous are not what me and my family experienced. We were very impressed with thomas cook rep the logistics of the transfers, the hotel is gorgeous and very clean bedroom's are cleaned everyday, food was great every day lots of variation for all of us. Beach very accessable nice to relax in the quiet. The animation team work incredibly hard to try and entertain everyone. All staff in the hotel couldn't do enough to please you. For us as a family lovely chilled out holiday our teenagers were happy they had the tennis courts and swimming and basket court to entertain them. The wi-fi was expensive and we did have to pay for the safe for the ten days but these were our only complaints

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to this hotel after reading the appalling write ups written just prior to our departure , we had no choice but to travel as we had booked months ago and the tour operator was adamant there were no problems.

Anyone reading the various write ups over the last few weeks must be very confused by the feedback ranging from a 1* to a 5* there are two reasons for this, when the hotel first opened it wasn't ready for guests as building work was on going and there weren't even basics like ice and cold drinks ! I also suspect that the more glowing reports may not be 100% genuine, judge for yourself , one is written in broken English. No-one would ever give this hotel 5 stars.

Here are our findings and feedback

First of all this is NOT a new hotel, it is an abandoned property left empty for 3 years and the new owners have tarted it up as cheaply as possible . It is very basic and could not be described as a 4 Star.

The hotel has an amazing view across the bay at the top of a hill but is so remote you can't walk anywhere as there is nothing to walk to. The 'beach' is a small stretch of sand at the bottom of the hill and goes nowhere. There is a minibus that runs from the hotel into Lixouri twice a day but only if there are 10 people wanting to travel other wise it is cancelled and it costs 3 euros. A return taxi will cost 20 euros.

Guests at this hotel are predominately of other nationalities, the majority of which were Polish and Russian and the entertainment crew are all Polish. English guests make up about 5%.

The facilities still hadn't been finished while we were there, the children's play ground is unusable and the main terrace bar and stage was still being built and there were lots of renovation still on-going on some of the rooms.

There is plenty of choice food wise which is all buffet but unfortunately the quality of the food wasn't great neither was the quality of the drinks, it was all just ok. The Greek salad which was available every day never even had feta cheese on it and when I asked why I was told it was to cut costs ! Tonic water and bottled water had to be paid for.

We have been on many holidays and quite a few All Inclusive holidays and this hotel has to be the worst all inclusive we have been on in terms of the quality of the food, facilities and what was actually 'included' - safe deposit boxes, the Jacuzzi, water all had to be paid for and pool towels weren't included either, they carried a 20 euro deposit each and if you broke your all inclusive wrist band you had to pay 2 euros to replace it !

The sunbeds are made of a solid white plastic and are designed to have a mattress on them but the management have no plans to buy any so they were just too uncomfortable to lie on.

This hotel will have to go a long way to become a 4 Star All Inclusive Hotel , most of the work may be nearing completion but I wouldn't be tempted to return here any time soon even when it is finished.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful holiday, we stayed at Kefalonia Garden village. The hotel is built on a hill panoramically and has amazing views. We sat at the hotel bar on the terrace in the evenings where we could really enjoy the views over a drink (or two). The food was fantastic with a choice for everyone.

The room was huge and very comfortable!! The kids had a separate room with an adjoining door.

We fully recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Only stayed here for three night, thankfully!! The dining room was more akin to a canteen rather than the pleasant stylish restaurants I would usually associate with a 4 star rated hotel.Time and a lot of work needs to be spent to bring this hotel up to a reasonable standard.
Apart from the view this hotel has very little to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Over all I feel the hotel has been given too harsh a reception from its guests, so far. However,this is not to say that some of their comments don't stand true.

Yes, the hotel does seem to have opened prematurely and the food on offer does leave a lot to be desired (2 star quality at best), the location leaves you kilometres away from the nearest amenities and the rooms have very little facilities such as kettles or shower holders.

Fortunately, there are lots of good points about the hotel to balance the negative. The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. The pool area is really pleasant (although the water park area was still not finished) and the bars are reasonable both in choice of drink and décor and the entertainment was simple but fun. The rooms although basic were still very comfy and clean. However, the main attraction of the hotel are its 5 star views, which can be seen from most areas of the hotel, including the dinning area. These are absolutely beautiful and worth every penny.

This hotel as it stands at the moment is little more than a 3 star, unfortunately. But, I feel not all is lost. With a marked improvement in the dinning experience i.e. the food quality, a few additions to the room and a completed water park this hotel could really shine, especially with the views it offers.

P.s, if possible hire a car, as the island does have a lot to offer and the locals are some of the nicest people I have encountered, besides the location of the hotel will leave you isolated without one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The list is too long to describe the shortcomings of this resort. More a holiday camp with good rooms than a hotel. Perhaps another six months preparation wouldn't go amiss.
Not in the star category advertised! but the sea views are outstanding once you get down the winding single track road to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village

Address: Agios Ioannis, Lixouri 28200, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Build on a hill with view to Ionian Sea our 4-star hotel has one of the most beautiful views in the island. Next to the sea, recently built (2008) and close to famous beaches of Myrtos and Xi, we offer you a great place to relax and enjoy Greek sea, sun and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalonia Garden Village Hotel Lixouri
Kefalonia Garden Village Lixouri
Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village Cephalonia/Lixouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprotel Kefalonia Garden Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.