We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kipoureon Monastery

Kipoureon Monastery
Lixouri to Chavdata Country Road, Lixouri, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Lixouri
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mone Kepouraion (also called kepouria Monastery is an incredibly scenic monastery literally hanging from a cliff in the western shore of the Palliki peninsula. It overlooks the Ionian sea and houses important religious artifacts, icons and a wood carved temple.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The stunning view from this monastery. Maybe there should be some information table, that people can get info about place, building, religion stuffs and so on,...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went to Platia ammos beach which was nearby (gosh so many steps-but worthed it). The monastery is near the beach so we went there to rest and organize our dinned in town. The hermit there seemed he liked that tourists were around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best view of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is extremely beautiful. The hermit was really friendly providing the tourists with water and fruits. The view of the beach under the cliff was stunning I will never forget it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved the view to the sea and mountains.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The monastery was closed when we visited. So we didn't see too much of it. But what a view!!! Stunning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Monastery on the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We got our son christened at this unique monastery that overlooks the Ionian and even the Adriatic Sea. The church is really old with centuries old sacred icons and the Greek Orthodox ritual takes a special meaning in this evocative place. Outside there are extended patios and terraces, where we had a nice reception right after the ceremony. The monastery does not allow weddings which are considered a temptation for people who have taken the monastic oath, but I cannot imagine of a better place for a christening, or for an evening visit to catch the unbelievable sunset. I don't think you can find a sunset like this anywhere. Really.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kipoureon Monastery also viewed

 
Assos, Cephalonia
 

Been to Kipoureon Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kipoureon Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.