We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday but would do it a bit differently next time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cephalonia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandy Beach | X Katogis, Lixouri 28200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Lixouri
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice holiday but would do it a bit differently next time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

just spent 2 weeks on half board basis. Staff were lovely and our room (although a bit tired looking) was cleaned well everyday with bedding and towels changed every 2nd day. We probably would have chosen the excellent score but we both found the food pretty poor. We eventually started eating out at night at a local tavern even though we'd paid for evening meals as we couldn't face eating another meal in the restaurant in the hotel. It wasn't terrible but we didn't enjoy it either. We'd go back to the hotel but only if we could go on a bed and breakfast basis. A few other people we spoke to agreed with our views on the food but then again others seemed to enjoy it so maybe it's just personal taste? Overall the holiday was lovely but they need to sort out the issue with letting people get away with putting towels on the limited sunbeds around the pool when they're not there,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    44
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Booked through Thomson at a relatively late (last minute) date for a stay in early September and upgraded to an all inclusive package. This is a 3 star hotel, no more but no less. Accomadation and food although unspectacular was more than adequate. Pleasant location with the benefit of being only a two minute stroll from the pleasant (red sand) beach. We found this preferable to the pool area, which, although perfectly pleasant with a good sized pool, we found the curious pods not to our liking. The location on the south side of the Lixouri peninsular is pleasant and involves approximatley a 35 to 45 minute bus journey from the airport to Argostoli and then a 20 minute ferry ride to Lixouri followed by a 15 minute bus ride to the resort. Sounds a hassle but it actually was not and broke the transfer up nicely.

One thing that the European version of 'all inclusive' is that they do not seem to have fully understood the concept. Here, virtually all alcohol was unlimited and yet bottled water was chargeable. Also the beach area was chargeable 5 euro a day yet bizzarley you were issued a receipt with a 'Cephalonia Palace Hotel' title. Probably something to take up with the operator as they indicated that the beach was included.

Prior to leaving UK I e mailed the hotel directly requesting a top floor, quiet room which they duly complied with. I paid the operator £35 to keep the room on for the final day and then found that the hotel would have done it for 13 euro (a third of the price) I guess a symptom of revenue grabbing tour operators. The bar service was excellent and hardly ever had to wait to be served. Entertainment a bit dismal but they did their best. Reception fine although there was one who felt that it was clearly our priviledge to consult with her.

In summary though I would say that you may get better value in other parts of the med but for Kefalonia I felt that this was decent value and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

ARC - Stockport, Cheshire, UK

Room Tip: From talking to other guests the room view upgrades were a waste of money, all rooms seemed OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and our first impression was that the hotel was very quiet and felt as though it was in a remote location.

In reality, the hotel was not at full capacity which meant that we never had a problem finding a seat at the bar or sun loungers underneath a 'pod' which are in place instead of parasols.

Due to the time of year there were very few children which suited us fine!

The rooms are a little dated but are clean and have daily maid service.

The food is limited in choice but not bad for all inclusive. I have had worse in Greece.

Drinks come in large measures and we were never limited in how many we asked for unlike other hotels we have been to.

We didn't watch much of evening entertainment as we preferred to sit in the inside quieter bar and watch a film on the iPad. However it did seem to be on a 1 week rotation and largely provided by the Animation team.

We experienced a couple of earthquakes during our 2 weeks which was a first for both of us.

Xi beach is just outside the hotel with a selection of bars and taverna's. You have to go to Antonello's just outside the rear gate of the hotel. Amazing! Just check out the separate reviews on here!

The location of the hotel does mean that without a hire car for 2 weeks you could feel a bit isolated. There is a bus down to Lixouri but only goes at 9.30am returning at 2.30pm. Taxi is €10 each way.

We hired a car for 3 days in the middle of our stay to explore the island.

We booked with Thomson and also went on the Sun Cruise excursion which was very good. 7.30am pick up from the hotel mind! The captain and his staff were great. Lunch and wine were plentiful. Drinks prices on board at the bar were also fairly reasonable.

Lixouri is a very laid back place and perfect for couples looking for a relaxing time in the sun. The ferry crossing over from Argostoli is also part of the whole experience. Don't let that bit put you off booking. Only takes half an hour and a lovely leisurely part of your transfer.

Lastly Diane the Thomson rep was a lovely lady and very helpful. You would never have guessed this was her very first season as a rep!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in June, our first all inclusive holiday. Very apprehensive but pleased to say the vast majority of guests were responsible with their approach to alcohol. The food was beautifully cooked and there was always a good choice of dishes. Rooms were clean and adequate, although the bathroom was a bit poky. However from first arrival all staff were helpful, enthusiastic and cheerful and seemed genuinely keen in making your holiday special. We were always able to find a quiet area to sit in the evening as we didn't bother too much with the entertainment. In fact the entertainment and daytime activities were limited but the team were most endearing in trying to "flog a dead horse." Sunbed reservation was always a problem as the pods were prized possessions. I don’t know how you stop it unless access can be controlled from a central area which here it could not. Not much else to do in the locale although the Apollonia Art Gallery was amazing. If just chilling, reading etc will do then it did the trick for us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 25th July for two weeks with two of our children. As Peter S has said the 34 pods around the pool was a joke. I managed to get one pod (the last one!) at 6.00 am on our last day - I was determined not to be beaten. We had only managed to get by the pool on one other day and went to the beach every other day which we had to pay €10 each day for two umbrellas and four beds. Bit naughty to charge when they haven't provided enough beds with shade around the pool. You could also not go on the grass at all. Staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic (we paid 1p per person per day to upgrade us to all inclusive). The rooms were tired and the beds were the most uncomfortable we had ever slept in and the pillows were like bricks. As there was an earthquake 60 years ago, everything is 'newish' so there's not much to see really. We saw the 'tourist' things and hired a car for a couple of days. The beach at Skala is beautiful with pebbles rather than sand and as such the sea is so clear with hundreds of fish to be seen. It does shelve away really quickly though so watch small children. We were disappointed that there was no air conditioning in the reception/bar area so we could sit inside and cool down. We ended up going to our rooms early, just for the air conditioning! Probably wouldn't visit Kefalonia again as there wasn't much to see and it wasn't the prettiest place. Our teenage boys were quite bored as there wasn't much around in the hotel to do - no sports - the table tennis ball and bats were useless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after a 11 night stay, Kefalonia is a beautiful Island and have stayed there many times but never again in Lixouri. There is the beach, possibly just over a mile of red sand definitely not the best beach I've been on and can be narrow in places.

This hotel in Lixouri is far too remote for my liking with nothing of interest around it, the pool with 34 pods around it to be shared by the possible 400+ guests is a total joke as these beds have towels on them from around 4am in the morning and the hotel does nothing to stop this type of practice, some are left for hours empty (with towels draped over them) while other guest have to pay on the beach.

A day or so before we left more sun chairs arrived for pool use but there is no shade provided the hotel also provided more chairs for pool bar use but only due to guest complaints.
The staff are very pleasant, food was as good as you would expect from a hotel of this size and catering for many nationalities.

I can only comment on my room but I would expect the others to be similar, the beds were very comfortable the tv a waste of time as reception useless, decor very tired and needs revamping.
The entertainments team try very hard to create a good atmosphere for all to enjoy especially the children.

I did not pick this hotel, I had booked the Utopia with a fishing village around it and a harbour but Thomson stopped trading with them and so this was all we could have as Thomson left us with not much time or choice to select alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 159 Garden view with sea view quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It is a very nice location and hotel for families and kids.

Rooms: ok
Food: ok, greek standard
Place: quite, there is nothing, so it is convenient for those who spent evenings in hotel
Beach: wonderful and super for kids, clean water and shallow water, long beach with empty areas without people if you want
Tips for trips: look at beaches by car they are beautiful in Kephalonia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | X Katogis, Lixouri 28200, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cephalonia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.