We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and traditional food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akrogiali

Akrogiali
Andrea Laskaratou 21 | Sea Front Road, Lixouri 28200, Greece
+30 2671 092613
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Lixouri
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service and traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Lovely spot on the seafront with friendly and informative service when we visited both at lunch at during the evening.

Daytime pre-cooked specials are better than this sounds, moussaka, Kefalonian cod fish pie were both good.

In the evening we enjoyed some great Greek appetisers but the 'fresh' tuna tasted far from fresh and contained the black gunk normally reserved for the bin. Anyway the local cats went crazy for our leftovers and the whole thing including wine was about 25 euros.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“On the front in Lixouri.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Probably the most reasonable restaurant on the front in Lixouri. A bit cheaper than the others, especially when the waiter gives you a discount card. Usual standard of food along the front - quite simple, but enjoyable with cheery service. Think I had the lamb kleftiko (the special) and hubbie had the moussaka and both were good enough with a jug of the local red wine.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“OUR VISIT ON 21.09.14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We were staying at Argostoli and took the local ferry to Lixouri which only takes approx 25 mins. We came accross this place which is located on the sea front to the left of the ferry landing. We all had lunch there and washed it down with 1L local red wine. The meals and the wine was very good and was made even better by receiving a discount on the bill without even asking for it. We visited this place again in the evening for dinner which was again very good. It is well worth a visit and with the last ferry back running at 22.00 hours it finishes the evening of with a nice boat ride

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty big Greek dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We love a traditional Greek meal, and here is where the locals go summer and winter. It's waterside location between many others adds to the atmosphere, and the warm welcome from all the staff is lovely.
Local Peloponnese white wine in the carafe was super, and went with all the meals we ate their during our week's stay.
Lamb, sea bass, and moussaka - our favourites!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sent the fish back as not cooked!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Everything was below average except my wife's cod fish which was raw inside and not fresh fish it tasted like it was from a packet/ processed. She Sent it back & replacement cod was poor not what we had expected at all from a fish Restraunt my puff fish pie was rubbish, very disappointed. Avoid there's much better around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akrogiali also viewed

Lixouri, Cephalonia
Lixouri, Cephalonia
 
Lixouri, Cephalonia
Lixouri, Cephalonia
 

Been to Akrogiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akrogiali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.