We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollonion Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apollonion Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Apollonion Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xi Beach, Lixouri 28200, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lixouri
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Beautiful, clean, spacious hotel. Buffet style breakfast and dinner was to a high standard. Really enjoyed this hotel. We didn't hire a car but would do if we revisited. We did the trips through our travel provider and they were great. Must do the trip to Fiscardo as it is really nice there. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden view ground floor apartment. We did a cheap last minute deal so were ok with this bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-apollonion, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
The feedback we receive is very important source of reliable information motivating us to improve our services and facilities.
We are glad, we were able to make you holiday, an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    88
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
165
195
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fantastic hotel with a very luxurious environment. The service and the food were amazing! I stayed with my girlfriend on a suite with private Jacuzzi for a weekend and we loved it. I didn't stay long but it was a great experience. I will be back for sure! :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with private Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-apollonion, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
The feedback we receive is very important source of reliable information motivating us to improve our services and facilities.
We are glad, we were able to make you holiday, an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My partner and I had the most amazing 10 days at the Apollonion Resort and Spa.

This hotel is well deserving of its 5 stars.

The choice of food is excellent, there was a buffet for all three courses, and so much variety, in fact so much variety that my partner and I put on half a stone EACH over the 10 days we stayed!

The staff could not be more attentive.

The rooms are spacious and very clean.

The pool area is beautiful, and there was always plenty of sun loungers available.

We made use of the spa and particularly enjoyed the spa pool.

The island itself is very quiet, there is nothing at all to do in the evening so don't come here if you like night life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-apollonion, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
The feedback we receive is very important source of reliable information motivating us to improve our services and facilities.
We are glad, we were able to make you holiday, an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our summer holiday for 2 weeks this year and had a great time. The room was modern, clean and well decorated. The pool and grounds were perfect and the general atmosphere was relaxing and calm.

The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because the dining experience could be better. On busy nights the queues tended to get a bit long and the variety of food could have been better. I would have liked to have seen more prepared fresh fruit available for breakfast. They also have a peculiar way of seating people/reserving tables which we didn't like. The staff were always very courteous and pleasant though.

The location is wonderful as there are no high rise buildings to be seen and you are pretty much surrounded by countryside. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and if you turn left when you get to the beach from the hotel and keep walking you will find the rest of the beach is deserted and the water gets clearer and clearer the further you go ( as no one has kicked up the natural clay and clouded it up)!

We had a lovely holiday though and had no issues. The price we got with booking through Thomson was very good and what made it even better is that the hotel doesn't charge you for things like a safe/fridge/air conditioning/towels e.t.c. Everything that you would expect to be included is included ( unlike some of the cheaper hotels you can go to!)

I would recommend that you rent a car though for a few days like we did( fairly inexpensive) to see the whole island as it has some stunning locations/beaches.

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alblasserdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel was the ultimate relaxing hotel. We had a suite maisonette syandard and that was a very luxe type of room with your own swimmig bath and whirlpool. Good beds, cleaning every day, big bath room with seperate toilet. The restaurant was very good (breakfast and dinner) and the service of the staff was very fast and good. Only thing is that is not situated near a village. You must take the bus (twice a day), a taxi ot hire a car for the village. Beach is on a three minuts walk. Nice small beach with chairs and umbrella for hire.
The whole location is very clean.

Room Tip: suite maisonette standard is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS GREECE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed there last july.When we arrived nobody helped us to move our baggage to our room.The rooms are well decorated(the beds should be more comfortable), very clean and their size is good enough.But there is no view at the sea at all.The food at the buffet is very good and there is great variety.The personel at the rastaurant (especially Gerasimos)is very well trained and willing to help you.The pool is quite small for such a big hotel.The location of the hotel is a negative because if you don't have a car there is Nothing you can do around.In the evening there is live music every second night and every night you can watch movies in the cinema inside the hotel!!Moreover during our stay there was an exhibition inside the hotel that was really great.But during the day there was none activity for the children...I think Apollonion resort is a 4star hotel, certainly not 5 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here August/September. This is certainly not a 5 star resort and spa hotel and certainly not a couples retreat. On writing this review I am going to be totally honest. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff work really hard. The breakfast was the best meal here there was plenty to choose from and you won't be disappointed however, the evening meals were not on the same par. The hotel does not offer B&B only which is a pity as although we stayed half board we ended up eating out most evenings as after a couple of nights eating at the restaurant I personally struggled to choose from what was on offer (I also felt like I had gone back in time to the school canteen!)
The hotel rooms are clean but noisy, you could hear your neighbours on either side and upstairs too. The beds were not as comfy as one would like on a 2 week holiday. The hotel gym is really small and dated so if you like to keep fit this is not the gym for you. The pool area is clean and smart with plenty of sunbeds - during our first week the pool area was really noisy with children running around and jumping/bombing in the pool even though notices were up saying it wasn't allowed but nobody stopped them. The staff are really friendly however, if you're not spending money here they don't want to know you.
I have noticed on some of the reviews when a nice review has been written the hotel don't comment however, when a negative review is posted they post a response, instead of taking on board constructive criticism needless to say this is a clear indication of the managements attitude towards paying customers.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so unless you are happy to stay in one place which is a little isolated for the duration of your holiday then a car is a must. The house wine on offer was disgusting and very expensive.

All in all we made our holiday our own, we hired a car as we always do when visiting Kefalonia (an Island we love), the hotel is very clean and smart - would we stay again ? Only if we got a bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa

Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 28200, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa Cephalonia/Lixouri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollonion Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.