We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly and great food at this lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Schwarzenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haus Schwarzenberg to your Saves list
Haus Schwarzenberg
Moselstrasse 24, 56814 Ernst, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 7 Ernst B&B and Inns
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and great food at this lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights with our two Golden Retrievers who were also made most welcome. Michael and Marta are very good hosts and the food is fantastic. The village of Ernst is a 5 minute bus journey from Cochem with free travel tickets kindly provided by Michael along with a wealth of good advice on where to visit. We walked the wine route to Cochem which takes about an hour and is a nice way to see the river and meet the locals. All the bars and restaurants in the area are very dog friendly which was great for us and the castle at Cochem even allowed them to join the tour - amazing - and well recommended at just 5 Euros each. Visit the Italian in Cochem at the top of the high street (Michael's suggestion) as it's wonderful food and excellent value. We spent the day in Trier but found it to be just a large modern city and a bit disappointing. We were on our way to Strasbourg and glad we had not made a special journey to see it. The next village to Ernst going south and across the bridge is a lovely 25 minute walk and well worth seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip along the Moselle Valley. Ernst is a lovely place to stay and very close to Cochem which is beautiful. The couple who run it are very nice positive people. It's a nice building, our room overlooked the moselle and was very light and airy and spotlessly clean. The dining room is very pleasant, breakfast plentiful. We had our evening meal here which was also very good. It is easy parking too, just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Made a booking via email after checking Tripadvisor and was NOT DISAPPOINTED - what a gem and the proprietariers as special down to earth people who care about the guest.

I arrived late Friday evening and before i could get my bags out of the car Michael was there to greet me, carry my bags and show me to my room. His funloving wife Martha stayed on to cook me the special of the day, which was huge and as hard as I tried couldn't finish. Michael then asked what i wanted to do the next day and within an hour had my weekend planned. After getting the free tourist bus ticket I was on my way ......

Sterling people who care about your wellbeing at all times and I thing we are now friends for life!

Definitely highly recommended, friendly, clean, comfortablem, good food and very reasonably priced - WHO COULD ASK FOR ANYTHING MORE !

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had planned to stay for 3 nights but had to cut our trip short after just one night due to illness. (Not related to where we were staying!)
We saw enough in one day and night to know that we want to visit again. The owners are one of the friendliest couples you could ever wish to meet and were extremely flexible when we left at short notice, leaving them with little chance of renting out our room.
Despite running the entire hotel on their own, the host carried our heavy suitcase upstairs to our room, had a high chair aready set up for us at breakfast for our young son, and made themselves available with local knowledge or to answer any questions. (All in perfect english!)
The hotel itself is charming, with well sized clean rooms and a beautiful large breakfast/ dining area. The location is very scenic, right on the river, ideal as a base for exploring the mosel.
Will definitely visit again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked by email, very straight forward and stayed a single night at the begining of May. We were emailed a week before we arrived and asked to choose our evening meal as all food is bought fresh. On arrival parking was easy opposite the guesthouse and we were greated by the host who had spotted us trying the front door, the guesthouse entrance is up the side. He was very helpful and friendly and spoke good English, embarrasingly I don't speak any German. Ernst is a small village overlooking the Mosel and seems to have lots of guesthouses but all was very quiet at this time of the season when we went for a walk along the river pre dinner. Dinner was tastey and huge, I don't think I've eaten as much for a long time. My only criticism of the dining room would be the Europop background music but our host was so helpful I'm sure he would have changed it had we asked but we enjoyed trying to remember the names of the performers. Our room was lovely, overlooked the river, and was clean and well equiped.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This B&B wasn't luxuriously appointed, in fact it was rather spartan,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The host and family were very friendly and helpful. He carried our luggage up the stairs to our room. Free and easy parking right outside the front door. We had a room that over looked the river and, of course, the road. We were concerned about road noise, but it proved to not be a problem even with our window open. Amazing view of the Moselle out the window. Fun to watch the river traffic. Great location for touring the area. Breakfast was very good. Probably the best value for our money that we have had in some time

Room Tip: We loved the room with the river view, but light sleepers might want to consider the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We travelled to the Mösel River valley for a short trip with my wife and her mother. We found Haus Schwarzenberg on TA and decided to give it a shot. Very good decision! The B&B was well maintained, clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had booked a three-person room, but the staff allowed us to change to a 1 and 2-person room to make us more comfortable at no extra cost! Rooms were clean and bed had a nice firm mattress. Free parking and Wifi definitely increased the value. The restaurant had good traditional German food and good local wine. Finally, the location is the best part. We were just 5 minutes from Cochem and right along the Mösel for easy access to everything. Definitely recommend if you need a good place along the Mösel River!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus Schwarzenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Schwarzenberg

Address: Moselstrasse 24, 56814 Ernst, Cochem, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Cochem > Ernst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ernst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haus Schwarzenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Schwarzenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.