We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant ( Flame )” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New restaurant ( Flame )”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Simply amazing !
I am a little late doing my review as we visited I late September , well worth a visit service excellent
Food excellent only criticism portion size too big !!

Well done Blunsdon. House Hotel

Jane

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    111
    44
    12
    7
See reviews for
76
118
9
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have visited this hotel many times, notably for both our Ruby and Golden Wedding celebrations, and also for New Years Eve packages and various family reunions, so our choice for a "night away on our own" was probably a first! We had not visited at all for the past 18 months due to family ties.
We really wanted to try out the completely remodelled main dining restaurant, complete with the new Josper cooking oven/grill. The new décor is stunning and beautifully executed, and a real change from the previous "up market buffet" arrangements. The majority of staff in the renamed Flame restaurant were familiar faces, and the personal waiter/waitress service was a very welcome improvement to the dining experience. We were one of only two "couples", the balance clients being in large "parties", so the atmosphere was vibrant. The personal service to our table was excellent, and the food from the new grill superb - venison steak for my wife, porterhouse steak for me, cooked to perfection as ordered. We barely managed the dessert, but managed . . .
The room in the Pavilion building was the normal high standard, with personal balcony overlooking the golf course and the surrounding countryside - all presented in immaculate order as we have come to expect.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet with freshly cooked quality traditional fare; enhancements to include such as smoked salmon were available for a small premium.
We will return, hopefully with our extended family as circumstances permit - but definitely on our own anyway.

Room Tip: The small premium for the Executive Pavilion building is good value, but all room s are to a very hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. The rooms were clean, pleasant and comfortable and of a good size. We booked at the last minute so got a very good bed and breakfast deal on two rooms. We also booked in for dinner which was delicious and of good quality and served by efficient staff in a spacious and pleasant restaurant. As it was so near Christmas the whole hotel was decked out with Christmas decorations (including a lovely little fibre optic tree in the bedroom) so it was all very festive and welcoming. My son and husband were also delighted to find 5 real ales available which is unusual in a hotel. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and leisure centre and there are tennis courts and a golf course next door with lovely views. Breakfast was good and plentiful with a variety of hot and cold breakfast items available. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff and good spacious rooms. I stayed in one of the exec rooms and had a really good stay. The room was warm and the bed was very good and it was very quiet so had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very polite. One downside was the shower did need attention as there was mould on the mastic.

Overall I will return

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel, peaceful setting. I was in the annex and had a great room. Breakfast was great too.
I enjoyed my stay and would return. The location is tucked away from main route which makes it quiet. I had a view out over the golf course.

Room Tip: Go for annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceptional customer service dealing with an incident that occurred through no fault of the hotel. Absolutely above and beyond anything I've experienced even having stayed at some very expensive 5* hotels.
Hotel wasn't noisy and the atmosphere in the bar relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but the bathroom had a noisy and irritating plumbing system which reception promised to correct but had failed to do so before we left. The shower guard did not create an adequate enough seal with the bath to prevent water from running down and flooding the floor.

The wide screen TV was welcome but there were two remote controllers neither of which worked adequately for switching on or for changing channels. The lead on the telephone hand set kept detaching itself. Calls to reception were not answered on at least three occasions.

The evening meal on the Friday was quite acceptable. Breakfast on Saturday morning was poor. My wife had to ask several times for a cup of tea, the choice of cereal did not include muesli, and I did not discover the fresh fruit salad items on offer till the Sunday, since they were some way distant from the cereal section.

The lunch on Saturday was a buffet and the cold buffet was quite acceptable. The stew was mediocre according to several guests I spoke to. The jacket potatoes were almost cold but the response from the restaurant manager was that they had been put out half an hour earlier implying that it was our fault that they were cold. The starter and main courses of the evening meal were very good but the dessert of bread and butter pudding, was clearly not made on the premises and of very poor quality. The house wine (Shiraz) was good.

The breakfast on Sunday was much better although we and other guests had difficulty in obtaining tea and coffee. When asked why we could not have a pot of tea, we were told that there were not enough pots to go round.

The first course and dessert of the lunch on Sunday were acceptable but the main course (turkey in bacon wrap) was poor. The meat was overdone and the potatoes tasted strongly of oil.

At 7.30am on Sunday, the fire alarm went off. When I phoned reception, the lead to the handset came off. When I subsequently managed to contact the receptionist, I was told that it had been a check. When asked why 7.30am had been chosen, she admitted that the alarm had gone off in the kitchens.

The public areas were, on the whole, comfortable and warm. The large screen TV projection in the bar overlooking the swimming pool was of such low quality that it was not worth watching. We were hoping to watch international rugby but Sky sports was not available anywhere in the hotel.

The staff were friendly and courteous and created a ‘warm and friendly atmosphere’. However, the hotel is not, in our eyes, a place where ‘high standards come as standard’.
John Chater

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear John C,

Thank you for providing feedback. It is disappointing that you felt the need to specifically create an account here at Trip advisor to share your concerns, particularly when we have extended a goodwill gesture in extensive previous correspondence prior to this.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the fire alarm on Sunday morning - which seems to be the root cause of your complaint - we can confirm that it was indeed a false activation. The message that was being distributed by our reception team at the time of the alarm was that we were checking the source of the problem, not the alarm itself. Please accept our assurances that this was not a routine check which are conducted weekly on Monday mid-mornings. False alarms, whilst thankfully rare are an inevitability part of having an safe and effective fire alarm system.

We would also like to apologise for the inconsistent service you account during your stay. Such incidents are very hard to investigate after the event and we would always encourage our guests to raise their concerns at the time of stay. Having now received feedback from your entire bridge group we are pleased to say that in general it was resoundingly positive (including another review on here!). We are sorry that you did not enjoy the catering.

The facilities department have investigated the issues you raise in your bedroom and as of yet have been unsuccessful in replicating them. We can confirm that the shower seal is intact and functioning correctly as are both bedroom telephones (they can be prone to the small plastic lugs snapping). Historically the plumbing at Blunsdon has never had a noise issue, intermittent faults however can be notoriously hard to pin down and so we will continue to monitor the situation.

The projector screen in Carries bar is in standard definition and is working correctly, in addition to this we also provide a wall mounted high definition plasma screen in the same facility. We do in fact have a limited range of Sky Sports channels, the content of which is decided by the overriding majority of our customers. Given that we do not advertise this facilities, nor did we ever purport to be showing the rugby we feel it somewhat unfair that you criticise us for this.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Address: The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.