We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, peaceful setting. I was in the annex and had a great room. Breakfast was great too.
I enjoyed my stay and would return. The location is tucked away from main route which makes it quiet. I had a view out over the golf course.

Room Tip: Go for annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    110
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
116
9
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Exceptional customer service dealing with an incident that occurred through no fault of the hotel. Absolutely above and beyond anything I've experienced even having stayed at some very expensive 5* hotels.
Hotel wasn't noisy and the atmosphere in the bar relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but the bathroom had a noisy and irritating plumbing system which reception promised to correct but had failed to do so before we left. The shower guard did not create an adequate enough seal with the bath to prevent water from running down and flooding the floor.

The wide screen TV was welcome but there were two remote controllers neither of which worked adequately for switching on or for changing channels. The lead on the telephone hand set kept detaching itself. Calls to reception were not answered on at least three occasions.

The evening meal on the Friday was quite acceptable. Breakfast on Saturday morning was poor. My wife had to ask several times for a cup of tea, the choice of cereal did not include muesli, and I did not discover the fresh fruit salad items on offer till the Sunday, since they were some way distant from the cereal section.

The lunch on Saturday was a buffet and the cold buffet was quite acceptable. The stew was mediocre according to several guests I spoke to. The jacket potatoes were almost cold but the response from the restaurant manager was that they had been put out half an hour earlier implying that it was our fault that they were cold. The starter and main courses of the evening meal were very good but the dessert of bread and butter pudding, was clearly not made on the premises and of very poor quality. The house wine (Shiraz) was good.

The breakfast on Sunday was much better although we and other guests had difficulty in obtaining tea and coffee. When asked why we could not have a pot of tea, we were told that there were not enough pots to go round.

The first course and dessert of the lunch on Sunday were acceptable but the main course (turkey in bacon wrap) was poor. The meat was overdone and the potatoes tasted strongly of oil.

At 7.30am on Sunday, the fire alarm went off. When I phoned reception, the lead to the handset came off. When I subsequently managed to contact the receptionist, I was told that it had been a check. When asked why 7.30am had been chosen, she admitted that the alarm had gone off in the kitchens.

The public areas were, on the whole, comfortable and warm. The large screen TV projection in the bar overlooking the swimming pool was of such low quality that it was not worth watching. We were hoping to watch international rugby but Sky sports was not available anywhere in the hotel.

The staff were friendly and courteous and created a ‘warm and friendly atmosphere’. However, the hotel is not, in our eyes, a place where ‘high standards come as standard’.
John Chater

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear John C,

Thank you for providing feedback. It is disappointing that you felt the need to specifically create an account here at Trip advisor to share your concerns, particularly when we have extended a goodwill gesture in extensive previous correspondence prior to this.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance caused by the fire alarm on Sunday morning - which seems to be the root cause of your complaint - we can confirm that it was indeed a false activation. The message that was being distributed by our reception team at the time of the alarm was that we were checking the source of the problem, not the alarm itself. Please accept our assurances that this was not a routine check which are conducted weekly on Monday mid-mornings. False alarms, whilst thankfully rare are an inevitability part of having an safe and effective fire alarm system.

We would also like to apologise for the inconsistent service you account during your stay. Such incidents are very hard to investigate after the event and we would always encourage our guests to raise their concerns at the time of stay. Having now received feedback from your entire bridge group we are pleased to say that in general it was resoundingly positive (including another review on here!). We are sorry that you did not enjoy the catering.

The facilities department have investigated the issues you raise in your bedroom and as of yet have been unsuccessful in replicating them. We can confirm that the shower seal is intact and functioning correctly as are both bedroom telephones (they can be prone to the small plastic lugs snapping). Historically the plumbing at Blunsdon has never had a noise issue, intermittent faults however can be notoriously hard to pin down and so we will continue to monitor the situation.

The projector screen in Carries bar is in standard definition and is working correctly, in addition to this we also provide a wall mounted high definition plasma screen in the same facility. We do in fact have a limited range of Sky Sports channels, the content of which is decided by the overriding majority of our customers. Given that we do not advertise this facilities, nor did we ever purport to be showing the rugby we feel it somewhat unfair that you criticise us for this.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ideal getaway plenty of local attractions, Hotel rooms and staff great, rooms a little pricey but still very enjoyable and a fab help yourself brekkie. I would recommend this hotel nothing bad to say only little moan was price but still would return another day :)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here on business for two nights. Customer service poor, staff moral at its lowest. Hotel and reception area very good. Breakfast was very poor. Room in desperate need of refurbishment. The hotel needs a lot of tlc to bring up to 21st century. Room 271 is not up to standard of hotels I am used to staying in. Would I return. NO

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear pippadoodle,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with others here at Trip advisor. It is with regret that we read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is however very difficult to accept retrospective, anonymous criticism particularly when we have no record of dissatisfaction during your time with us. Your critique of staff morale is completely unqualified and wildly inaccurate. We go to great lengths to look after our team, something well reflected in our staff retention rate and general customer satisfaction.

We simply do not agree with your comments relating to bedroom 271. In instances like this a picture speaks a thousand words - so we have posted some here at Trip advisor, taken this morning. We would encourage any third party reading this review to make an on balance judgment, using all of the information available, about the opinions expressed within. We are sorry that you feel that you will not be returning to Blunsdon.

Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived with a coach party after visiting the Christmas market in Bath. Lovely reception area that was clean and welcoming. The coach party was booked in for the restaurant at 7.30pm and while the service was a little slow (quite a wait between starter and main) the food was very good. There was alot of us and there was also alot of Christmas parties in. The waiter did forget myself and my mum's glass of wine but he apologised and sorted it straight away. We would have liked some Christmas decorations on the table and maybe a cracker as we were on a Christmas shopping trip, maybe something to consider? The bedroom was wonderful! Nice comfy bed and the room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was also great. Waitress asked if we wanted tea, coffee and toast. Lovely cooked breakfast which was freshly cooked and hot. Great selection to choose from which filled us up for another day of shopping. Would recommend this hotel if any friends or family where looking for somewhere in the Swindon area.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Rebecca H,

Thank you for sharing you experience of Blunsdon House with others here at Trip advisor. We were delighted to read your account. Please accept our apologies for the small service hiccup at dinner, we are glad to see that it did not detract from your overall experience and we hope to see you at Blunsdon again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have stayed at the Blunsdon House a couple of times and dined there on more than a number of occasions. I do like this hotel and it does have a quaint charm about it, but it does have a feel of needing a bit of sprucing up a bit, which to be fair I think they are doing, with the opening of their new Flame restaurant, which has replaced the old carvery, but overall, the hotel is well kept, clean and has a charm about it. It has a nice large bar area, which has a nice ambiance about it, also it sports a large screen for football and rugby matches. The rooms are nice, perhaps a bit dated, but they do feel cosey and they are nice and clean. We stayed on a Saturday and a Sunday night, with the Saturday night being a bit on the noisy side, with some over zealous guests, but I think that's the sign of the times and no respect for others when entering the guest room areas. We used the swimming pool, which was a lovely temperature,but alas the jacuzzi was a bit of a feeble affair and the sauna and steam rooms are in the changing areas, so separate, sauna a steam rooms where mixed couples are concerned. All in all a good weekend and highly recommend using the Flame restaurant. We will definitely stay at the Blunsdon again.

Room Tip: If its a Saturday night, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for posting your review here at Trip advisor, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are constantly re-investing in the property, after all it is also our home - we are sure that you can appreciate that with a property like Blunsdon investment is an perpetual affair. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the new restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Address: The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.