We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Easter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Blunsdon
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Great Easter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted to combine an easter break with our wedding anniversary, and chose the Blunsdon House Hotel. We stayed 5 nights.We were allocated an executive room in the main building, this was quite a spacious room on the 3rd floor and had a large king size bed.The room was quiet, warm, and clean. We had chosen this hotel for it's facilities and location. A leisure centre which we used the pool and sauna and found the changing facilities were very good.The weekend was very busy and I think they were fully booked with a plethora of families with children. But even so we always managed to find a quiet spot somewhere within one of the bars. The buffet breakfast was always very busy around 9oclock in the morning, but adequately topped up when necessary.There was only two disappointments, First the Spa was closed for the Easter break?? I am sure it would have been very busy if they had kept it open, The second was the need of a wider selection of vegetarian food choice for lunch and evening meals, The menus became boring after the 3rd night, so we ventured out into Swindon. We also found the local pub up the road nothing special but a change of scenery.
The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. A good all round hotel on the edge of beautiful countryside, If you enjoy walking, or visiting local historical sites,with quaint villages on your doorstep, then this is a very good base to explore. Plus there's also plenty of retail shopping areas. We will not hesitate to go back and then perhaps if it is a litle warmer we will venture out onto the Golf course that overlooks the southern cotswolds. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    95
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
65
94
9
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for my parents to stay overnight for their Golden Wedding Anniversary and then had Sunday lunch in Tawny's restaurant the day after. The staff when booking and on the day could not have been more helpful. The service was great and the food really lovely. Big portions. We had children in the party and they were catered for too. My parents said their room had spectacular views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a vast place with well equipped leisure facilities, bars and restaurants to suit most tastes. the room I had was a budget offering and adequate but my travel companion flashed his Rewards card and got a much better room. Other colleagues tried the food and had no complaints, the spa facilities are good and the bars comfortable. There is plenty of parking and the corporate facilities are good. Our buffet lunch was above average and breakfast was a good buffet style offering also. However, the whole place has a bit of a tired feel, but we had no real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my Husband love Best Western's for their breakfasts alone and this did not disapoint. Full English cooked fresh rather than cold buffet style.
Bed was uncomfortable though and the decor was dross. Friendly staff though and the bar prices were cheaper than the pub down the road.

Did not go in the pool although wish I did take my costume.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family have a reunion here once a year and we have just had this year's.
Every year they look after us really well. Their events organiser, Gerrie is a lovely lady who does a brilliant job. We have Zen's lounge for the day which is a beautiful room with a bar and is just the right size because there are between 20 and 25 of us each year. We then have a meal in the restaurant, exclusively to ourselves. The chef does an excellent job, our meals are pre-ordered and he gets everything spot on, very well presented and service is just right. We also stay the night and the rooms are very comfortable. We will be back same time next year!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in the main hotel. There are other rooms that you have to get to by a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days in March. Loads of facilities most of which I didn't get time to use.
There are 3 different places to eat within the hotel with a couple of bars for chilling out. The internet is quick wherever you use it, my favourite area was in the bar.
The pool looked inviting as did the hot tub, you can sit in the bar and look over the pool.
I will be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On arrival the hotel looked stunning and I was not disappointed in side either. Reception staff very welcoming. It's was very easy to check in even though re had arrived early. Our room was stunning the view over looking the golf course was outstanding beautiful to sit on the balcony and just let the world go by. The restaurant was carvery so much to choose from, very clean and the staff very friendly. We had drinks in carries bar before over looking the pool. Very relaxing. We got chatting to one of the owners Carrie what a loverly women made us feel very welcome how nice to actually speak to an owner who interacts with there customers not really seen I think. Overall our short break stay was outstanding would nightly recommend this hotel and in an area of such beauty.

Room Tip: Highly recommend thinking a Christmas break
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel

Address: Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.