We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable budget hotel near Munich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn

Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Michael-Haslbeck Strasse 20, 85640 Putzbrunn, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Etap Muenchen Sued Ost Putzbrunn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Putzbrunn
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Serviceable budget hotel near Munich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were traveling to Munich during Oktoberfest and this was by far the cheapest option. Without a car or taxi, it would be very challenging to find this place. The reception was helpful with directions. The nearest U-Bahn or S-Bahn station is Neuperlach Sud station and it is about 10-15 minutes drive away. Fortunately, there is a Park and Ride carpark there which costs 1 euro per day. From there, it is an easy ride using the U5 line to Marienplatz in Munich.

If you try to operate the air-conditioning in the room, you may find it not working. When I asked reception, he explained condescendingly that in cool weather the air-conditioning in the room will of course not function and every hotel operates that way. Not very friendly!

There is wifi in the room but no shampoo! The shower and sink are right beside the bed which was a bit odd. The shower door is somewhat see-through which may make things awkward if there are friends traveling together! The beds were alright, thin but serviceable. It's a budget hotel after all.

In Putzbrunn there is not much to do but there is an excellent Italian restaurant very nearby called St Daniele which serves affordable food in satisfying portions. We went there twice and were very pleased with the food and service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    116
    49
    8
    9
See reviews for
81
64
28
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinkovci, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent two nights with my friend in this hotel during our visit to Oktoberfest, this is not ideal place for sleepover if you visiting oktoberfest because you will drink and you can not go with car and Puztbrunn is not connected with Munich with U-ban or S-ban, you only have one Bus line operating every full hour and the last bus comes to Putzbrunn at 8pm so you must return with Taxi and that will cost you 35-50 euro... Hotel is simple but is fresh renovated and everything is new, rooms are small but they have everything you need, parking is nice and safe, staff is friendly (but they dont speak english?!)

Cons: Our room was at the end of the hall and we did not have wi-fi signal, beds are too small, In our two days We have not ben visited by cleaners, no free shampoo...

I understand that this is budget hotel but 90 euros for night (and this is no-cancellation and no-breakfast price) is not budget price and i expect more for that money...

Room Tip: Ask room in middle of the hallway if you want solid wi-fi internet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here a few times always clean, great bakery down the road for breakfast along with a Italian and a traditional German restaurant with very large portions. Also the car park is quiet big just make sure you book early as if there is a show on at munich messe then it tends to fill up as it is only a short drive from there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in Aug 2013 having stayed at 3 other IBIS Budget Hotels in the 3 days prior to coming here (Salzburg, Muenchen Sued and Ulm) which are all nearby. This was by far the cheapest of the lot. Car parking is free at this hotel.

IBIS Budget Putzbrunn is not too bad a place to stopover if you're driving by car through Munich but if you're expecting to go to the centre of Munich you should better choose Muenchen Sued instead. Hotel is generally fine but owners here might show a bit more professionalism I believe.

Sadly there is nothing much to do in Putzbrunn but there is a nice Italian Ristorante nearby in walking distance and if you want to give your kids some playtime you could use the climbing frames and sandpit behind the nearby shops on a residential estate - 5 minutes walk from the hotel on Michael-Haselbeck Strasse outside, along from the hotel.

A few issues at IBIS Budget Putzbrunn: Firstly, a pungent shower. Secondly, wifi didn't work to start with but a few hours later it worked fine. Also, RCA inputs (AV input) didn't work with TV and I had to use my own SCART adapter in the tiny space behind the TV to get my media player working. Admittedly, not everyone needs this but in the other 3 hotels above with the same TV unit and setup both wifi and AV input all worked fine.

Overall the hotel is fine, including a decent breakfast.

My major problem with this hotel is the fact the owners and their pals like to smoke & drink alcohol on the tables in front of the hotel. This doesn't seem particularly professional to me and I am certain that this is not the image that IBIS wishes to portray to potential customers. That said, this place is far better than the 'Motel One' that lies directly opposite it.

This is the sad thing about IBIS Budget Hotels - the hotel fixtures are actually fine, fairly priced and generally clean - just let down by some (but not all) German staff and their lacklustre attitude to hotel customer service.

I have reviewed all of the other IBIS Budget Hotels in this area and for me Salzburg comes out on top for value, quality and service, followed closely by Ulm City. However ,Putzbrunn is by far the cheapest.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn

Address: Michael-Haslbeck Strasse 20, 85640 Putzbrunn, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Etap Muenchen Sued Ost Putzbrunn)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Putzbrunn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Putzbrunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn 1*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Muenchen Putzbrunn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.