We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas market on the Ladies Ile and Versailles of Baviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiemsee Schifffahrt

Chiemsee Schifffahrt
Seestrasse 108, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Xmas market on the Ladies Ile and Versailles of Baviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Take a trtip over the Chiemsee to visit the Xmas markets on weekends during december. Very nice Island, lot's of handicrafts and lovely diner (game) at the Nuns convent

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Enjoyable few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My friend and I took the ferry boat over to Herrenchiemsee which was fairly empty going over. The autumn colours were wonderful for photos. We wandered around the outside of the buildings, saw the horses in the stable, had coffee overlooking the lake and generally enjoyed our time there. Then the weather changed and a storm came over which was actually good for photo shots but I think every visitor to the island wanted to get back to the mainland on the same boat! We packed in like sardines for the ride back. Still well worth doing though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“completely overrated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I read all the recommendations before going to Germany and got the idea that this is a must. To my disappointment I found out that the palace is not that impressive and the tour is too fast and too expensive! The fraueninsel is very tiny and boring and it took forever for the boat to come to take us back to Prien.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
224 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Very Nice But Can Get Overcrowded To Say The Least”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent three days on these boats visiting the various islands and villages. The boats are all one class and can get rather overcrowded. Most people however seem to disembark at Herreninsel to visit the palace or Fraueninsel, when the seasting is far more comfortable. You can buy a Large Chiemsee Tour for 11.70 Euros that is a tour of the whole lake with hop on and hop offs. Well worth the trip, even just to stay on board with a drink enjoying the 2 hour 40 minute voyage.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volketswil, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“once ships - easy to use”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

ok, we stayed here in highseason, we did not take care about any timetables - and there was no reason to do so. directions clearly signed, frequent pace

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiemsee Schifffahrt also viewed

Herreninsel, Upper Bavaria
 
Prien am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
Fraueninsel im Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Chiemsee Schifffahrt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiemsee Schifffahrt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.