We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herreninsel am Chiemsee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiemsee Schifffahrt

Chiemsee Schifffahrt
Seestrasse 108, 83209 Prien am Chiemsee, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Herreninsel am Chiemsee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Beautiful island with beautiful landscapes. View from the island to the mainland is fabulous. The only problem is during winter season the castle is closed. Took only 15 minutes to reach the island.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was like the icing on the cake for our day trip to Chiemsee! The smell and sounds of the past are a great attraction and can easily be fitted in with a trip over to Herrenchiemsee if you start early enough.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
546 reviews 546 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“Comfortable boat tour of Chiemsee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We found Chiemsee prominently advertised in our tour book and decided to make the trip down after spending 2 years in Germany without having seen it. Our journey began in Prien where we bought our tickets and hopped aboard the ferry just before it left dock to visit our first island. During our two island and one coastal town tour we rode on a variety of boats but they all had food and drink available for purchase. With indoor and outdoor seating available, the views from the boat were soothing and the perfect weather made for a relaxing tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth to see the Island Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Castle Herrenchiemsee is worth a visit and will take your breath with all the decorations and crystal which where only there to look at

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ferry on Chiemsee or travel on the steam train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautiful journey on the lake and to the Fraueninsel where a closter is, or the castle on the Herreninsel. Does not operate in winter, so go before October.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiemsee Schifffahrt also viewed

Herreninsel, Upper Bavaria
 
Prien am Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
Fraueninsel im Chiemsee, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Chiemsee Schifffahrt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiemsee Schifffahrt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.