We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotes Ross Marktbergel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rotes Ross Marktbergel to your Saves list
Rotes Ross Marktbergel
Wurzburger Strasse 1, 91613 Marktbergel, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marktbergel
Tønsberg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A very nice place run by very nice people!!!
We arrived a bit late in the evening, but the resaurant kept open just for us and served us a hot, tasty meal. Nice surprice!
Spacious rooms and bathrooms were well furnitured with an elegant touch!
For breakfast we were offered different sort of rolls and bread, all freshly baked. Good selection of spread, juice etc.
The hostess/landlord was very welcoming and offered us excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sunny california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this small family run hotel. Our room was a good size room and very clean. We enjoyed the patio area behind the hotel for relaxing and having dinner. The food was great. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The location is great for being close to some major tourist areas. It was nice to visit the tourist sights and then come back to our quiet hotel in the small little town in the country. Location and price makes this a .......great find!

FYI~ No lift so you will have to haul your luggage up the stairs to your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Me and my husband stay 3 nights in this nice hotel. The owner and all the family was really friendly. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is good. Try the home made marmellades, they are so good! We also had dinner in the restaurant with some friends from Marktbergel. The food was also great. There is a sweet dog that will welcome you once you arrive there.
From this place is easy to get around to the most famous places in the north of Bavaria.
Thank you again for nice hospitality.
Claudia e Domenico from Italy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Christmas markets in Bavaria was to focus a our Thanksgiving trip this year. We decided to try a country inn rather than a hotel in one of the cities. The Rote Ross had good reviews and was suppose to be near Rothenburg o d Tauber. Near is a relative term. It turned out to be 26km. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. Staff couldn't have been better. The hotel is the cleanest that I have ever stayed in. We came back from day trips to Nuremburg, Wurzburg, and Rothenburg to enjoy the gourmet meals served in the hotel restaurant. Menus get decided by what happens to be available. Offerings included local beef. (As good as we've ever eaten.) Rabbit, deer, fish. FRA was 130 min. on a Sunday morning. Britta left us breakfast "to go" at the back door since we departed at 6am.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We found the 'Rotes Ross' (i.e. 'Red Horse') just by chance when looking for an overnight stay on a trip through Germany. And - unfortunately - we only had one night to spend. The hotel is located in a tiny village, so there is not much to see. It's close to Rothenburg/Tauber, though, which is THE romantic town in Germany. Anyway, we just needed a nice place to sleep and found it to be so comfortable, clean and cozy that we decided to definitely come here again. The hosts take care of you personally and also run the hotel's restaurant which deserves another 5 stars. The breakfast is great, homemade and local food (sausage) is served here.

The hotel building is a very historic one (read it on the homepage); it has been renovated with great care.

Many thanks to Family Bogner for this pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rotes Ross Marktbergel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotes Ross Marktbergel

Address: Wurzburger Strasse 1, 91613 Marktbergel, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Marktbergel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marktbergel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotes Ross Marktbergel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotes Ross Marktbergel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.