We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American size rooms, less than one year old since redone and the best location in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schwan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wertheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schwan
Mainplatz 8, 97877 Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Wertheim
Branchburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American size rooms, less than one year old since redone and the best location in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times and between the junior suites and executive suites (not much price difference from regular rooms) it's one of the few hotels that have nice size rooms, big bathrooms and a good selection of TV's stations. The restaurant is fabulous with a wide variety of inexpensive and huge value for price meals. Basic German and fancy cooking on one menu. The staff is great and always someone here that speak great English. I have been to four other hotels and in my 4 visits a year hear for business, this has become my home!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    14
    1
    8
See reviews for
7
14
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great hotel. It has been refurbished since my last stay and it has made a big difference. The room I had was modern, stylish and very comfortable. The restaurant serves fantastic food all cooked to order and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice well decorated and clean hotel with helpful staff. Food in restaurant is amazing (especially the duck) full of seasonal gourmet dishes. Great location and views!
The restaurant and hotel rooms look super new and the "smokers Lounge" was awesome!
We´ll def. come again soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room are very modern and more importantly impeccably clean and tidy! Beds and sheets super comfortable and bathroom was very nice. However, the best thing of the hotel is their restaurant! Food was just incredibly good! Even is you don't spend the night you must go to the restaurant if you are in the Wertheim area!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The rooms were a good size and the beds very comfortable. Bathrooms lovely and spacious with a good powerful shower and also a bath.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was was good and the food served in the evening was delicious.

Great location and reasonable price. The room we stayed in looked brand new and it appeared that refurbishments were going on however we weren't disturbed by these at all.

The only thing that would help to improve it would be air con, it was very hot while we were in Germany and even with all the windows open the room was still a little hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, nice hotel and room nothing special but very comfortable, the weather was extremely hot when here the room could have done with some AC, but other than that no complaints. Good breakfast and very pleasant sitting outside with a beer in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I would agree with the other reviewers who rate this as average but with good overall value.
Lovely people, good breakfast, excellent location, and reasonable price (the value side), but I don't get the impression they have a love of the hotel business (the average side).
The rooms I've stayed in are large but starvingly minimalistic. I felt like I was in an institution. There was no instruction on the phone as to how to do anything such as call the front desk/bar. No heat control in the room. Standard comforter on the bed without sheets. Nothing on the walls to break the monotone white (which had not seemingly been painted in a while). It would not take much to improve the hotel - a discerning eye and a desire - and since repairs are being done due to natural calamity when would now be a good time to take care of it?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Schwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwan

Address: Mainplatz 8, 97877 Wertheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Wertheim
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Wertheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Schwan to your Saves list