We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what to say....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ochsen to your Saves list
Hotel Ochsen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktstrasse 4, 89143 Blaubeuren, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blaubeuren
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not sure what to say....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Full disclosure, I have family in Blaubeuren, but this time (first time ever) we stayed in a hotel due to a family gathering and there was no room in the family home. Usually I rate a hotel based on value for money, not on the supposed star system that big name hotels thrive on. I have stayed in many european hotels, both large and small, and I must say I was a tad disappointed with this hotel.
We stayed in room 22, and I must say this room was not particulary large...nor was it small. Average. The bathroom was quite tiny however. One noticeable difference I noticed in this hotel was that no face cloths were provided.
Our room had a balcony (not used in December with snow outside), that worked well to cool the white wine we had purchased. There were however no extra glasses, so we used the glass and the plastic one provided in the bathroom. The beds were a little soft, but I realize this is personal taste. The linens were crips and clean as shown in the photos provided by the hotel. The TV carried BBC and CNN, so that was a plus. The WIFI is free as mentioned by previous reviews.
They provided extra pillows without any fuss when requested.
I think what bothered me was a small thing that wouldn't bother most people. Since we were visiting family, we went to their house for breakfast the first day. The second day, we had to leave to catch a train at 7:30 am. Unfortunately breakfast is only served starting at 8 am on Sundays. The price quoted to us when booking was EUR95/night including breakfast. When I paid my bill, I only noticed later that the price of the room was EUR85/night and that breakfast was an extra EUR5/person per day. Clearly we had never eaten breakfast at the hotel, but that didn't seem to matter when it came to the accounting side of things. A small annoyance, that kind of makes me feel like I got ripped off in a beautiful little town in Germany.
The hotel was very clean, and quiet. Izzy the dog makes you feel welcome!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't directly face Marktstrasse because you hear all the late night re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights with family and friends in June and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

The rooms are large and comfortable and very clean. I wouldn't call that luxury but it is more than adequate and comfortable. There was free wifi throughout the hotel, including in the rooms, and limited parking on the grounds.

Breakfast was a large delicious spread, and dinner was delicious. Unlike most German establishments we encountered, this one accepted credit cards at its restaurant.

There was an open area by the side of the hotel which was nice to sit and have a drink in the evening. They even set up a large tv outside.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Our friend booked the last room available on the Internet, which turned out to be a family room for 5 or 6. When he told them he didn't need such a large room, they charged him the cost of the room for 1 person, which was a very nice gesture.

Would stay again if I'm ever back in Blaubeuren.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This little hotel is nicely located int the charming Blaubeuren old town. Only a few minute walk to beautiful Blautopf spring. Our room was very spacious and spotless clean with free wi-fi and the window looks out to the red roofs of the old town. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Breakfast buffet was big with lots of varieties compared to many of the other hotel breakfasts we had during the 2 weeks trip in Germany . We specially love the many different types of fresh bread served there.

The hotel parking is free but have limited spaces.

There is a little traditional village right by Blautopf spring which totally worth a stroll after visiting the spring.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were looking for a hotel during a recent visit to Legoland in Günzburg, and this hotel is about forty minutes drive away (I was put off by some of the mixed reviews for the Legoland partner hotels). It's located down a quiet street in the town, with ample parking at the side of the hotel (all full, but the owner moved his car to make space for mine). We arrived around 7:30 pm and ate on the terrace outside the restaurant; great food, inexpensive, generous glasses of wine, and a very relaxed atmosphere. Our room (triple-bed) was quiet, clean and modern; free wireless access is also provided. The owner and his wife were very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Blau Beuren was a hidden treasure and the hotel seemed perfect. Our room was spacious and all three beds were comfortable. But there were problems.

When we arrived we asked if we could park in the street in front of the hotel, and were told it would be OK. Coming back from our explorations of the town, we discovered that we were in a zone that required us to purchase a parking ticket. By this time, we were beyond the time when a ticket was required, and fortunately we had not been ticketed by the police. We mentioned this to the staff, and they looked puzzled and said, "Someone should have given you a pass."

The next AM one of our group members inadvertently left her cash and passport under her pillow. She didn't discover her mistake until we arrived at our next hotel that evening. We called immediately and staff said they didn't know anything about it, and they would check on it in the AM. I asked if the room was occupied and they said it was. I said that the maid would have found it when the room was made up. They again said they didn't know anything. I asked for the phone number of the local police so I could make a report. Then they called the owner to the phone. He indicated there was no police station in the town, and asked me to call again in the AM in case it turned up. When I called again, there was still a lack of concern expressed and I was reluctantly given the number of the police in Ulm. Instead of calling that number, we made the report at the police station in the town where we were staying. It was there that we learned that police services were not provided out of another town, not Ulm, and that there was a sattelite station in Blau Beuren. The police investigated but by then there was no sign of the missing items.

At no time did the staff or the owner accept any responsibility for the theft or express any interest in helping to retrieve the stolen items, and seemed to be attempting to sabotage our attempt to make a police report. They also did not even have the courtesy to express sympathy or regrets.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blaubeuren hotels

Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

A pleasant family run hotel in the centre of town, little to find fault with, except some staff have not yet fully embraced no-smoking on the premises. The food in the restaurant was good Swabian fair, meat with caramelised onions, swabian noodles and Maultasche, salads, etc. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet, varied and plentful. The location of the Ochsen is ideally placed for exploring the sights of this ancient town, being centrally placed most things are within walking distance. It is surprisingly quiet at night for a town centre location, probably due to the shared pedestrian/traffic area in the town centre. A good base to explore a great town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

It must be 4 or 5 years since we last stayed here and in that time not much as changed at this traditional family run hotel. The rooms are still clean and spacious but they have updated the tvs to flat screen (not that we watched it as no English channels) and best of all they they have included wifi in the €79 B and B price. Blaubeuren now has a town walking route around the stunningly impressive medieval buildings and we marvelled at the craftmanship durng our pre dinner stroll.
Dinner at the hotel was traditional and pretty heavy! (meat and swabian noodles) but they did give us a plate of salad to start though I must say the lower sterling/ euro exchange rate of the last few months has made it pretty expensive for us Brits. Breakfast was a mix of hardboiled eggs,cheese and cold cuts as well as cereals/bread/jams/fruit and yogurts all served in the white tableclothed restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Address: Marktstrasse 4, 89143 Blaubeuren, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Blaubeuren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blaubeuren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ochsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.