We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets to your Saves list
Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets
Route des Chavants, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The setting is simply breathtaking. I've been to some mountain luxury resorts before, but this one takes the cake. Views from out of this world, excellent rooms, and a dream treatment in the spa. Highly recommended.

The only downside I saw is that the ski list is 500 meters from the rooms. So still close (there's a free shuttle), but not walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful views, great (but relatively small) spa area, with good restaurant. All in all good but it's expensive.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

These luxury chalets are very nice and beautifully equiped. The views are stunning. They offer every service you could need and generally are very responsive. We were with a group sharing a chalet. A couple of major issues: heating didn't work on entire lower level as the central thermostat was upstairs by the fireplace. So, two bedrooms/bathrooms were without heat on cold, cold winter days. Second, there was only one toilet to be shared by two bedrooms and it was in an ensuite bathroom. A little uncomfortable and rather shocking for this price level of accomodation. Spa is nice and the food in the restaurant was really good despite the limited choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We really had a fabulous time there. Chalets are gorgeous, staff very pleasant and service perfect. I'll come back next year for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed here because we were invited on a corparate ski trip. Everything was organised for us so I can't really comment on value for money, reception and check in. Overal we had a really nice stay here. The chalets are lovely. Breakfast was nice, but you have to pay for any hot food. I wouldn't really recommend having dinner in the hotel. It was ok, but I think there are better restaurants around with a bit more atmosphere. The spa is really nice (massage was good!). Please be aware you definitely need a car to get to all the good (higher) ski areas.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

This hotel is really badly managed. Really nice chalets though.
Here is the story - you get a 4 room chalet, with a reasonably big living area and a small kitchen (which may lack some appliance, like frying pans). Do not believe the site which says that breakfast is served in your chalet or the restaurant! It is brought to your chalet at the time convenient to the kitchen, not you! And a big surprise! It does not include eggs, or goodies like cheese, ham or salmon. It is called a French Breakfast. If you need eggs you should pay 5 euroes for a set of five and can cook them in any style you like (I was suggested that by a girl at the reseption!!!). We did not have any room service in our chalet up to the last day when we found out that you can actually order some basic unhealthy things during the day.

The cleaning was really bad, we had to ask them a couple of times to hoover the chalet, basically cleaning includes only beds making up and emptying of tresh, for that kind of money one can expect some effort.

Secondly, this chalet promotes itself as a ski resort chalet destination, which does not even have a skiing coordinator. As a result my family was booked to travel 40 minutes hack knows where while Les Houches skiing facilities are only 4 minutes drive!!! Now, how silly is that???

They say they have a gym, hmmmm, well, i have found two trademills there, nothing else. i would not call this a gym...

Restaurant works only during the evening, it is OK, nothing bad or good about it, a food you would expect to be served in a hotel in France. I had much better, did not have worse.

Overall - think twice before you book this one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian A, Directeur général at Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Feed back is essential to any hotelier, for us it is vital:
We are a new management company who took over Les Granges d'en Haut in December 2011, like you we have been totally seduced by the site, the chalets, the view, the spa. This place is unique and splendid, it just requires a matching quality of service.
With years of international experience in the luxury industry, this is the type of service we bring to Les Granges d'en Haut. Here are some of the new improvements
Full concierge service to help you organise your holiday,
Free shuttle to the closest ski lifts,
Breakfast served at the time of your choice, with many options free of charge
Cleaning organised and supervised by experienced staff with specific training for the Chalets
Our chef has michelin restaurant gourmet cuisine training
And many more attentions..
Once again we want to thank you for taking the time to give your impressions, this is very important to us and with your help we have turned Les Granges d'en Haut into a great place for your next vacation, we hope you come to live this new experience.
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The lounge & restaurant of Les Granges den Haut is worth the short trip from Chamonix.
When entering the Lodge, the bar and lounge act like a magnet. It is by far the most fashionable place of the Chamonix valley at this moment. The interior design is very stylish and the fireplace gives it a cosy atmosphere. The background music was pleasant and not intrusive.
It’s a perfect place to enjoy a drink and chill out with a loved one or friends.
After the aperitif you are guided down the stairs to the restaurant and your table. The menu is not extensive but honest Savoyard cuisine. We liked the risotto and a well-prepared codfish accompanied by an excellent Pouilly Fume. Some of the waiters seemed not very experienced but their enthusiasm and friendliness made up for it!
I can definitely recommend both the lounge and restaurant to anyone looking for a very stylish and cosy place for drinks or dinner! We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets

Address: Route des Chavants, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 10 minutes from the centre of Chamonix, Les Granges d’en Haut offers luxury chalets for up to 8 people with free Wi-Fi, a private sauna and magnificent views of the Aiguilles of Chamonix.Guests have access to an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, a hamman and a hot tub. Situated in a very quiet area of Les Houches, the chalet provides free on-site, underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granges d'en haut - Ski chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.