We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Shiraz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Shiraz
58, Chemin de Genevray, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chalet Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A group of us stayed at Chalet Shiraz in March 2012. Three of us stayed in one of the large family rooms which had plenty of room to accommodate all our kit. The rooms are nicely decorated and include an ipod doc which was very useful for helping us to get up in the mornings. The lounge is well designed with plenty of seating to accomodate all the guests. The main lounge has sky tv so you'll be able to keep up to date with your favourite programmes. There are another two tv areas on the other floors which include dvd players and playstations.
One of the best things about the chalet is the catering. James, Jean & Ryan were fantastic hosts providing us with amazing breakfasts, afternoon tea and evening meals. I would also like to highlight the quality of the wine with the evening meals. We were treated to a different bottle of red with each meal and all of them were delicious and the staff were on hand to make sure the flow was constant.
This was my first trip to Chamonix. The surrounding landscape is epic. The only slight grumble is the fact that you have to be transported to all the ski areas which is different from most european ski resorts. However, the chalet has a dedicated driver who will take to the various ski areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Chalet Shiraz is a gem of a place. Set in a fabulous ski area based in Chamonix the chalet has some winning points. The location is at the bottom of Mt Blanc near the famous Kandahar run and the Vallee Blanche for an exciting day skiing. The view from the chalet is breathtaking especially at sunset from the comfort of the hot tub! A real bonus is the availability of a driver - the unflappable Ryan - who made getting to and from the slopes completely hassle-free. No hanging around for buses or lugging skis and boards around.
The friendly welcome and service from hostess Jean was great, nothing too much trouble....and the fabulous food delivered with panache from chef James was some of the best we have had and he catered for some specific requirements within our group with great care and Aussie humour!
Lisa sorted out loads of stuff with us before we even arrived so ski hire, lift passes etc was all super speedy and hassle-free. We would recommend the chalet to anyone. It particularly worked for us as we had people in our group arriving and going on different days and the flexibility made that possible. We are keen to return! Annie, Simon and the gang.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Chalet Shiraz was excellent in every way. Accommodation spacious and comfortable, food always good, mini bus service reliable & punctual. Staff friendly, efficient and obliging. We loved the canapes each evening and the hot tub too. Skiing also excellent...what more could you want!
Reg O

Room Tip: Nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A group of 8 of us recently visitied Chamonix for the snowboard trip of a lifetime, Snow was the best in 20 years, on top of that the Chalet Shiraz could not have made our visit any more enjoyable. James and Jean made sure we were well fed - food absolutely fab !! and Ryan the driver was always on hand to take us to the snow park of our choice - we tried them all :) After a fun, but very long day snowboarding, sitting in the Jacuzzi looking up at the mountains was a dream come true. Would definately recommend a visit - Paul and the Gang

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was exceedingly impressed with the ski holiday I spent ay Chalet Shiraz two years ago and wrote accordingly in Trip Advisor. This year I experienced an improvement in that excellence and would recommend a holiday at Chalet Shiraz to anyone. The accommodation is superb (especially when compared with other chalet holidays I have taken), the staff are wonderful and so helpful (nothing is to much trouble), the meals are excellent, well prepared and presented and, for sheer convenience, the transportation service to and from the ski areas makes the ski experience so much more satisfying. Finally, the whole thing could not operate without the excellent service of the owners, Lisa and Jason, who live in the chalet next to Chalet Shiraz.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

lovely chalet. we were very well looked after by the friendly, enthusiastic and very professional staff. better food, hosting and driver service than we've had before

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Chalet Shiraz is one of the best Chalets I've stayed in (been skiing for about 15 years). What makes it so good is standard and size of the rooms is way above the norm and the views from the hot tub are fantastic! The chalet staff were simply excellent and couldn't do enough for you, ensuring our stay was as relaxing and ran as smooth as possible. Food was excellent and presented so well (including the chef personally introducing each course - nice touch) that you thought you were dining in a really good restaurant.
Location wise was also excellent with more areas to ski in than you can fit in a week - so plenty of choice from absolute beginners to black run addicts.
The chalet offers a driver to ferry you around at any time of day so you can ski one area in the morning and another in the afternoon. As well as being dropped off and picked up again if you fancy hitting the town or dining out one evening. (remember to tell the chef if you are dining out, it's just polite to do so)
The social side of the chalet is always a plus point for me, meeting new people and swapping stories at the end of the day over dinner and one or two glasses of wine.....well maybe more! The social side might not be for everyone, so if you prefer to stay in a hotel then that's what you should book, but if you're friendly, into skiing, fine food and having fun then this is the place for you!
You really couldn't ask for more - simply top notch.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Shiraz

Address: 58, Chemin de Genevray, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Les Houches
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent chalet, catering for weekly ski groups in the winter and providing exclusive, self-catering accommodation in the summer. Our winter package includes half-board meals prepared by our professional chef with hot breakfasts, afternoon tea with cake, pre-dinner canapes and 3-course dinners with selected wines. Our resident concierge will ensure you are well-looked after and our full-time, resort driver will drive you to and from the ski slopes. You'll be welcome at Chalet Shiraz! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Shiraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chalet Shiraz to your Saves list