We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Bois to your Saves list
Hotel du Bois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here with a large group of family an friends several years running. We used a mix of hotel rooms and the chalets as a group. All were fantastic. Clean, warm, easy walking distance to nice restaurants and bars, pool was good with saunas. Hotel bar is reasonably priced and wifi was good strength. Would definetely recommend. Great base for skiing, with shuttle bus being run by the hotel, and good parking facilities if you wish to drive. (Stayed in February)

Room Tip: Chalets are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I only booked last minute with average expectations of 3 star French fare but was delighted to find this gem of an English/American family run hotel offering 5 star levels of service. Breakfasts are all you can eat, cereals / toast with eggs, cheese and ham washed down with plenty of delicious coffee. The perfect fuel for a long days skiing. The hotel restaurant offers great value plats du jour in the evenings as well as the best burgers in the valley. The bar is cosy and atmospheric with its log burner, Belgian beers, live sport, friendly service and complimentary peanuts! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Du Bois to anyone going to Chamonix and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

What a great place this is for a ski stay. I came with my pal for a weekends skiing - the owner is a top guy..... He is all about the customer service!. He made sure we were well looked after, got us to the slopes on time every morning and even made sure that the 6nations rugby was set up on the TV in the bar when we got back. The bar lady was simply fantastic and made for a tip top atmosphere come drinks time. Every hour is happy hour at Le Bois - will definitely be back!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Stayed here 11th to 17th March - the hotel was really well placed to Ski the les Houches Area of Chamonix where we had the chance to ski the Men's Downhill Piste. Had a lot of fun in the Bar watching both Chelsea and the Rugby. Breakfast was fabulous and filled us up for a great days Skiing, and the Menu for the Evening Meal was very varied with both Local French Style, a 3 Course Menu of the day or A La Carte. The views of Mont Blanc from the Bedroom Window rounded off for a superb Holiday. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and am already looking forward to my next Visit.

Room Tip: Book a roon facing Mont Blanc for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford, surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Family run business with the owners on hand 7 days a week, this hotel is 1st class. The apartment we had Mazot Mont Blanc, was well furnished, spotless and suited our fmaily of 6 perfectly.
The restaurant serves excellent cuisine. The reception staff are no end of gracious helpfulness and the free shuttle to the ski lift worth its weight in gold.
I cannot recommend it highly enough. We will be back again next year for our 3rd successive stay.

Room Tip: both the Mazot Mont blanc and grand prairion apartments are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Booked this hotel for a long weekends skiing in Chamonix with my brother. There wasn’t much choice for our dates but found this hotel which turned out to be allot better than many ski hotels I have stayed at in France. Staff are very friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast offers lots of choice and restaurant offers a well priced and tasty set menu as well as ala carte. For France rooms are a reasonable size, comfy beds and TV has main UK channels. Hotel is on the edge of Les Houches with free shuttle bus to the main lifts there, 3min walk away are bus stops for the free Chamonix ski bus and 10min walk to the Les Houches train station.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights for a skiing break in half term week during February 2015. The hotel is comfortable and whilst the rooms and decor are a bit dated they do have a certain charm. There is a lovely pool and we thought the food was excellent. The staff were also excellent throughout, really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The owner, David, in particular was never too busy to offer lifts into town or indeed to collect after skiing.

The nursery slope in the town is just down the road from this hotel and we thought was one of the best we have seen. Our ten year old had a great time learning on this slope which was generally very quiet.

Overall I think this hotel is good value for money and I'd recommend it to anyone using it as a base for skiing in the area.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a Mont Blanc room which had a view of the mountains. Whilst the view is impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Address: 475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.