We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views but disappointing rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Bois to your Saves list
Hotel du Bois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Les Houches
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic views but disappointing rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We travelled from the South of France through Italy and the Mont Blanc Tunnel to Les Houches. The hotel is straightforward to find and about 10 minutes from the tunnel. Coverd car parking is available. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony and fantastic views of Mont Blanc. The rooms have been given a fairly cheap makeover, retaining the original alpine style and mixing this with faux fur bed covers and cheap unlined curtains. The bed headboard has reading lights attached that become so hot that they are impossible to adjust without the risk of burning your fingers. The double bed is the size of two singles put together and has the awkward arrangement of single sized bed covers overlapping to make up the width. The bathroom is functional but fairly dated. We were unable to get the free wifi reception in our third floor room - wifi was only available close to the reception area. Buffet breakfast is good value with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Check a few online search prices before booking a room - they can vary dramatically. At times it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
35
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Fantastic hotel,owner great and very attentive as we're all of the staff,went with Inghams drove down stopped at Reims (Novotel worth staying at) .Hotel du Bois great location 10 mins from Chamonix,no problem as we were given a free bus/train pass,bus 5 min walk train 10min so easy.Food great dinner 3 course waiter service good choice restaurant quality (not Buffet as advertised in Inghams brochure changed 2014) Les Houches quiet great as we have a 6yr old he loved the indoor pool & the garden.Rooms lovely and clean made up daily,we paid for Mont Blanc view...stunning.Only downside the rooms are small,ours was a double with a proper single bed squeezed in so you need to be tidy no space to spread out,only slept
there so not an issue for us.

Room Tip: Choose Mont Blanc view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The service is excellent and the personnel is very professional, kind and always available. The location of the hotel is very good: close to Chamonix, easy to arrive, in a very quite area and private parking place available (looked during the night). The hotel offers a nice bar, swimming pool covered (warm) and one outside. In conclusion, I am very satisfied with my stay and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We spent a great week at this hotel as part of a party of 16 walkers touring Mont Blanc. The accommodation is a little basic but the service was outstanding with David, the owner, leading from the front and nothing was too much trouble. If your French is uncertain then all the staff speak perfect English. The outside pool is like the proverbial ice bath but good for tired legs after a mountain walk. The indoor pool is fine but can get crowded with children. The views from most of the rooms are straight on to Mont Blanc which was a wonderful thing to wake up to each morning. The hotel is near the station and near the bus stop so transport up and down the Chamonix Valley is relatively easy if you do not want to take the car. A good solid hotel that is as stated by others a little tired but that does all it can to please.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms at the back as these have the views and are away from the road to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our family of three, including a toddler, stayed two nights in August 2014. Booked Hotel du Bois after reading the reviews. Overall, its value for money in the pricey Chamonix area.

Hotel deco/furnishing is tired as aptly described by other reviewers. Afterall, it's a well used ski hotel. Room 312 was compact, bed was firm and comfortable. Water pressure in the bath was good and made for a great shower. We didn't spend much time in the room. Access to the hotel on the main street was 10/10 with our own car and GPS. Also, it's a short drive to all rides and with limited free parking in Chamonix.

Two other great things worth mentioning:

(1) Warm and friendly receptionist who gave good recommendations on excursions with a toddler (no-no to Auguille di Midi). Thanks to Nathalie, we skipped the trip to the Tourism Center.

(2) Indoor heated swimming pool and outdoor playground. These were great to keep the toddler occupied for the afternoon that we had to stay in as we were feeling under the weather.

Room Tip: Level 3 is the highest level it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel served as the base for our hiking adventure- Tour Mt.Blanc. It was small but clean, and a little tired... okay maybe more than a little. But it was comfortable and had everything that you could need. David, the owner, was very accommodating and helpful. As was the staff. For those with little, no, or rusty French, all spoke English. The breakfasts were lovely- basic fare but filling. I was on a tour and had the 'tour' dinner menu, so I don't know how good the food was on the 'non-tour' menu. I was less than satisfied with our choices and the preparations, but I am a picky eater. Everyone else in the group was pleased with the dinner offerings. So, I'd follow their lead on that. Les Houches (lay zoosh) is a lovely little town about 3km from Chamonix. The Number 1 bus takes you to Chamonix. Get off at City Center going, and Saint Antoine coming back. There are grocery stores in the area, behind the tourist center, up the stairs, is the closest one. There is a train, as well. Given the price,the accommodations, the staff, and the ease of getting into Town, it is a great place to stay while in Chamonix.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor near the back...room 104, I believe. We had french doors that opened on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Enjoyed our trip to hotel du bois. David the owner was just great as was Nathalie on reception. All the staff in the restaurant were good. We were on a holiday with Inghams and the food was marked as buffet style whine it was not. This did not make a difference to us as the dinners were just great but more care needs to be taken with brochure accuracy. The breakfast offer needs to be looked at as the only hot dish on offer was boiled eggs and these run out for 2 days. Fresh fruit salad was only available if you were down early for breakfast. When staff were asked was told it had run out.
Hotel bedrooms were ok with Superb views from the windows, we were 3rd floor rear. Could do with more drawer space to put clothes for a 11 day holiday. All in all a good hotel with great owner and staff.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Address: 475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.