We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Bois to your Saves list
Hotel du Bois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Les Houches
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A group of 7 of us stayed for a long weekend in one of the hotel chalets, the chalet was ideal in size for the group, well presented, clean and functional. The chalets give you the option of being self catered or you can have breakfast in the main hotel, needless to say we took breakfast in the hotel each morning to make life easier. The staff were excellent and extremely friendly and were always willing, as a result we took advantage of the mini bus everyday for runs to the lifts and ski shops. We felt we got extremely good value for money at the hotel for the level of accommodation and a number of our group will return with families. All in all an excellent stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
35
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before my Mont Blanc trek. The room was clean and comfortable with a stunning view of Mont Blanc. I enjoyed watching the sunset out on the lawn watching the mountains fade into purples and pinks after a long day of hiking in Chamonix. The staff was friendly and bared with me as I practiced my French, explained the bus schedule well to me, and answered all my "where's this, where's that" questions. The buffet breakfast had lots of choices...I would hands down stay here again, and I am a picky hotel person!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We use the Hotel du Bois for our clients who book on our trekking holidays in particular on the Tour du Mont Blanc. The feedback we have received from our clients has been great with good facilities and friendly helpful service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We tried looking for hotels close to Chamonix but the prices were way out there.. this place is a 5-10 minute drive out of Chamonix but still close, (Definitely need a car) But this was good the people were great they let us use their printer and email, we used the pool and it was awesome plus great views of mont blanc and augu du midi....

Plus the town is great because there are not many people driving around, straight across the road is the travel company that will take you on a bus tour. The laundry mat is down the street a few mins walk...

They have a great indoor pool and outdoor pool.. dinner and breakfast is served in the hotel

The only complaint was that wifi was having issues and was not in the rooms ....(Only used in reception area) hopefully this is fixed....

Room Tip: stay on 1st floor and get the mountain side because then you get great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here after finishibg tour of mont blanc. Location is a bit away from the centre of town, though it is very near the bus stop to geneva.

Facilities were very good with both indoor and outdoor pool (extra towels provided). Staff helpful and polite and the breakfast was very high quality (proper orange juice inclusive!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks with Inghams.
This is not a 4 star hotel. It is however, very friendly and informal; too informal for some guests who prefer to sit at set tables and have food brought to them. Yes, mealtimes can be a bit chaotic as you choose whichever table is free and everyone wanders round the serving area selecting their food. The upside is that you can choose exactly what you want to eat and drink as it is an 'eat as much as you like' buffet for breakfast and evening dinner. Breakfast from 7:30am until 10am; dinner from 7:15 pm until last sitting 9:15pm.
You can substitute anything from the a la carte menu at dinner time instead of the buffet but there is always plenty of choice on the buffet and the puddings were fantastic.
Drinks are not included at dinner but water is free.
We had free packed lunches but they were basic so we added cake and extra fruit from breakfast as did other guests. No one minded. If anything runs out at mealtimes the staff are quick to replenish it. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
There is also a pleasant bar which has patio area.
The free wifi connection was easy to set up but very weak signal.There is a computer available in the lobby but I didn't try it.
Reception closes at 9pm but there's an emergency number and a code for the front door. Also a vending machine in the lobby should you feel peckish!
On to the rooms:- get a Mont Blanc view -stunning! Ground floor MBlanc rooms open on to the large lawned garden with sun loungers, kids slides and swings, decking and outdoor pool. Fantastic and convenient in hot weather but you may feel overlooked by others in the garden.
Upper MB rooms have balcony overlooking garden and mountains. Watch out for 3rd floor rooms as the roof slopes and its difficult to stand up in the shower. Rooms 308 and 309 are fine as they are in the centre so no slope but beware rooms 307 and 310.
Rooms themselves are fairly small by English standards but still good. We had enough room for our 2 week stay. Furnishings are basic. Our shower was held together by elastoplast but worked very well. (See what I mean about informal).
Facilities: Towels are provided for swimming and sauna; just help yourself from the pile at reception. Ask 15 mins in advance if you'd like the sauna turned on. Changing rooms are basic but clean. I've experienced far worse in 4 star English hotels. Indoor pool is quite large about 12m by 8m and nice and warm. Outdoor pool is heated but is cooler than indoor pool and shallower and smaller but still a decent size. Both pools are popular with adults and children. Indoor pool open from 8am until 9pm; outdoor pool available at all times.
To sum up: Many guests, including ourselves, love this hotel and would happily stay again but for those used to a more formal atmosphere this may not be the best choice. Then again I did not see any hotel in the area (including Chamonix itself) to match the views offered by this hotel. I think the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were excellent as were the pools. It is worth pointing out that Les Houches is a small town, far quieter than Chamonix and with no nightlife. Transport is regular from 7am until 9pm; after that you will need taxis. I'd recommend both the hotel and the town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My second visit to this hotel and just as nice.
the hotel offers a good level of accomodation whith helpful friendly staff. The room was not huge but a good size for this type of accomodation in the Alps, beds were very comfy and the room was clean and well equiped. Breakfast was of a buffet style with plenty of choice and the evening buffets were excellent and catered for a wide range of tastes.
We didnt use the sauna this time as the weather was so hot but both the warm indoor pool and the outdoor pool were a great addition to the stay.
The staff were lovely and happy and very helpful.
The hotel was showing small signs of ware in places but not enough to interfere with the enjoyment.
As a keen skier I would happily stay in this hotel should I come to Les Houches during the winter season.
Anyone looking for a great base for a winter or summer holiday but wanting a bit quieter than near by Chamonix should take a good look at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mont Blanc facing room for fabulous veiws and sun sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Address: 475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.