We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Bois to your Saves list
Hotel du Bois
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent a week at Hotel du Bois in February and couldn't have asked for a better base for our ski trip to Chamonix. Hotel is minutes from skiing in Les Houches and a free shuttle is provided to get you there or to ski rental shops and a free bus pass is provided to get you to further ski areas or to Chamonix town centre (I don't think anyone ever pays to use the buses there so not sure a pass is necessary). Pool, sauna and bar/lounge with wood fire are perfect for aprés ski. Restaurant had a very good breakfast and dinner buffet but didn't use it much for supper as there are lots of restaurants nearby that are also excellent. Grocery stores within walking distance to stock up on cheese and wine and other necessities. Room had everything we needed including a patio that opened up to spectacular views of Mont Blanc and other mountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful in making arrangements for things to do in and around Chamonix. Hotel was everything we want or needed in one small, comfortable package and would stay there again anytime and hopefully will get to do so again. Thanks and cheers from Canada. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Mont Blanc. Bottom floor is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed a total of four nights at the Du Bois Hotel while skiing in Les Houches in march 2013.

Location:

The hotel is located on the main street of Les Houches. It could not be considered as being within easy walking distance of either the Bellevue or Prarion lifts (not with ski gear anyway). This however is not an issue as the hotel offers an excellent shuttle bus service to both lifts. It is also possible to book a return time slot in the afternoon. In addition, there is a good ski bus service (free with a ticket that can be picked up at reception) that stops approximately 150m beyond the hotel. If you are fit and fond of a stroll, the Bellevue lift can be reached in 20 minutes and sets you up nicely for a couple of good restaurants in the vicinity.

Facilities/Rooms:

Our room was a double with en-suite that had views of the stunning mountain range. The room was 'traditional' which is a way of saying that it was a little tired and in need of refreshing. It was however clean and well serviced each day. Just a personal note, but the pillows were poor and made for a restless nights sleep. Our room had a good TV which allowed access to all UK terrestrial channels as well as a host of European options.

Our deal included breakfast which was continental buffet style and was more than adequate to set you up for the day. Choices included: Fruit, various cheeses and meats, cereals, pastries, fresh bread and the option to make your own boiled eggs and toast. All washed down with coffee and juices.

The hotel is equipped with a small pool and sauna. It also has a lovely and modern bar/lounge area equipped with large comfortable sofas which we made much use of. Free Wi-fi is also available both in the lounge and your room after an initial free sign up.

Staff:

The staff were excellent and all spoke superb English putting our French to shame. They helped to make the stay special dealing with every request and enquiry with a smile. My wife even dropped a small electronic gadget and there it was waiting to be reclaimed on the reception counter later in the day, so trustworthy too.

In summary, the hotel offers a very good base to head off skiing either in Les Houches or in nearby Chamonix. It is clean and roomy with space and facilities to wind down or just chill of an evening.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear offer a superb view of the mountain range and avoid the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekends boarding. The hotel is fine, rooms are basic but that's what you get in a French ski resort. The bar area is quite nice with a roaring log burning stove, all very cosy.

The Les Houches town is very quiet, but lively Chamonix is a free bus ride away, taxi back once full of very expensive booze is around 40euros.

The reception was very helpful in explains the various ski areas and quickly sorting our lift passes really couldn't fault the service.


We had breakfast which was a basic continental affair, but adequate.

Overall a good base for the Chamonix ski area and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is easily accessible from the motorway (i.e. it's within a few hundred yards). There didn't seem to be a lot of parking spaces, but luckily we always found one. The hotel was clean. Staff were always very helpful and friendly and spoke English. Our room was a decent size. The bathroom was fine, but seemed a little tired. Unfortunately, a screaming child next door awoke us in the early hours, but that's not the hotel's fault. The bar was an area that people could easily relax in. We didn't try the restaurant, but the pizza place (right out of the hotel door and c.100 yards along on the opposite side of the road) was very good. Chamonix is only c.3 miles down that same road (it's less hassle than the motorway) and the restaurants there cater for all tastes and budgets. The ski rental place almost opposite the hotel offered competitive rates and the guy there was top class - he spoke English and was very friendly and helpful. The hotel's shuttle service to the slopes was a little disappointing. It runs regularly, and although you can indicate when you want to depart, there is no way of assessing how many people will be wanting a lift at that time. Be prepared to wait. Also, don't think being picked up from the nearer Bellvue area will give a quicker return trip - the minibus drives from the hotel past there and picks up residents from the further stop first and, if it's then full, you can expect a further 30 minute wait. It's a bit of a lottery. Having said that, the free buses in the valley are fairly frequent and drop off 100 yards past the hotel. All in all, this is a good hotel and pretty good value for money. If you hire a car from Geneva, I recommend that you obtain the sat nav coordinates for the return - our hirer threatened a 120 euro fine if we dropped the car off on the Swiss side; they provided an inadequate map and there was an element of luck in finding our way back in time for the flight. Hope that helps.

Room Tip: The cheaper room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A perfect stay at a perfect location already planning on staying next year. We were a group on 8 lads on holiday all with differing ability in terms of skiing, this resort was perfect to cater for all. The shuttle bus to the slopes was great and the staff superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Loved staying here due to the easy access to the ski lifts thanks to the free shuttle service including taking you to hire your skis with a generous discount from the ski shop thrown in. The people are very warm and friendly, really helpful and the service is fab. There's a comfy bar with a huge fireplace and views into the heated pool. This capped off an already fab stay, much needed soaks after strenuous days on the pistes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really liked this hotel, it was better than the three stars suggest. The room was comfortable and a good size for an economy room. The bed was comfortable with a furry bed spread, extra pillows and blankets available. I loved that there was a fridge, hair dryer and flat screen TV with UK channels. Also really convenient having free WiFi which worked in my room. The pool area and Sauna were lovely too. Although there wasn't a hot tub, the pool was pretty warm and they had nice music playing. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the courtesy bus to Les Houches ski lift worked well.

On the down side the only thing I can say is the room was a little bit dark.
The Location, getting the bus into Chamonix was a pain as they were not very often and were very busy. I would drive next time as there was parking at all the ski areas in Chamonix and the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The economy twin room was a good size. The balcony with mountain view was quiet and pleasant. I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Address: 475 Ave des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.