We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exterior of chalet in the snow
Exterior of chalet in the snow
Exterior of chalet in the snow
Side view of chalet showing hot tub
Italian leather sofa's, very comfy!
Spacious and beautiful living area
A winter's evening at Eco Farm
Les Houches
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cynthia L
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“The BEST place to stay in the Chamonix Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have been to Chamonix so many times, and this was by far our favorite place to stay. The location was great. Not in downtown Chamonix (this is a PLUS!), but so convenient to the patisserie, gourmet market, groceries & lovely restaurants-all within walking distance. The owners of the Eco Farm could not have been more lovely. Not only was the property beautiful, but the services were great. Gaby arranged for breakfast to be brought in, a fantastic chef to cook us dinner and a massage therapist to come to the house. A true vacation!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The property is just lovely.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NNM_12
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A magical alpine escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

EcoFarm is a beautiful chalet. From the moment we walked through the door we were blown away by how magical it was. Gaby and Tim have gone to a lot of effort to make the chalet feel luxurious yet like home. The space worked perfectly for our group of 11. The large dining table and open plan (very modern and well equipped kitchen) provided a great communal area. The chalet has everything you would expect - from fur throws all over to a hot tub and jazzy flat screen TV that can be hidden. We really enjoyed the log fire - logs were kept stocked by the chalet staff. The chalet is a 2 minute walk from the Bellevue lift and local amenities. Although the ski bus was good, a car is advisable. Gaby and Tim (and the chalet staff) are super and very helpful - both in advance of the holiday (giving advice on ski hire and where to go out), during (making sure we were comfortable) and afterwards (returning lost property!). Les Houches is great for people learning to skiers, or people who ski at an intermediate level, but some members of our group preferred to go to Chamonix - this can end up being expensive without a car and so it is advisable to think about what kind of resort you want before you book.

I have also stayed in the EcoJardin apartment with my parents and also loved it. I would certainly go back here - and if you are considering it, book! You will not be disappointed.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hotelsfor...
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hot-tub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed as part of a group, there were thirteen 25 - 30 year olds which filled the Eco Farm nicely. We decided to do a short trip (four days) without catering as this worked out cheaper. There was plenty of space and seating all round, except the main table which can only really sit twelve as advertised. It is located 150 metres from one of the main Les Houches ski lifts - Bellevue, and easy walking distance from a few local restaurants, bars and shops. The main supermarket is about 1.5 km away though. Taxis/minibuses into Chamonix can be arranged directly with the owner (Gabi) which cost about 40 - 70 euros depending on time of day (late nights being expensive obviously).

The whole feel of the chalet is luxurious without a doubt, every room had warm rugs, en-suite bathrooms with either a double bath, or a large walk-in shower and windows that open fully. The master bedroom is large, and a little step up from the rest, but it's nothing major. It was clean throughout, especially the kitchen which was a pleasant surprise. There were a few highlights for us as a group of people… the lovely fireplace which everyone could sit round after skiing and till late at night drinking, the incredibly warm hot tub that was almost too hot - lovely to be in when snowing. They advertise the tub as only being able to fit four… we had 13 people squashed in, so it fits 8 comfortably. The proximity to the lift is also lovely if you want to simply get up and ski. There is free wi-fi and free-view throughout the chalet.

If I was returning to Les Houches I would definitely stay in one of the Eco Chalets (they have smaller ones too), however the skiing is a little limited, so if that's the only reason why you go then I would look to book in Chamonix if you can afford to. We had our full deposit returned within a few days of departure which was nice.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Colm N
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home in a Fabulous Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Gabby and her family couldnt have been nicer. The property was so well equiped it was incredable. We didnt have to buy any of the usual bits that you need but would not use them all such as the coffee filters, they were already all provided as well as all the basics to get you started such as coffee, sugar,milk, biscutes, etc. not to mention the bottle of champaigne! The property itself was incredable, comfortable, immacualtely clean, loads of cups, saucers and utensils! The beds were probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in!! The kids loved the huge Jacuzzi!! Location couldn't have been better with several really family friendly restaurants within 5 min walk in the village. Activities abound locally.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beds were really comfortable
Liked least: building work next door but is probably finished now.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,010
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Gaby N
33 6 07949434
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 30 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 31 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing